We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Pousada L'Escale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada L'Escale
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for a few nights. From the 1001 bus station it's about a 10-15 min walk along the beautiful beach path. Location wise, it is perfect - they're a stone's throw away to the best beaches and about a 10 min walk to the "downtown" area. The hosts were incredibly nice and were very helpful in getting us oriented and helping us find out way around town. The pousada itself is very well maintained and we found the rooms to be just fine for 2 people. There's no question about it, when we return we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    66
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
143
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trucstop
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Pousada for 2 nights in Buzios and wished that we could've stayed longer! The location was perfect - a little bit outside the downtown / shopping area but much closer to the best beaches, so we got to experience lots of both on foot. The building and decor was so charming (French beach rustic) and our room was comfortably sized and very clean. The breakfast was simple but delicious and the hosts were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Our only complaint was that were some noisy neighbours in one of the adjacent buildings but once we turned on the AC unit we were able to tuned them out completely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trucstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

For one of the most relaxing stays I have ever made. The small but nice pousada is run by Sylvia and Francis who greats us as friends upon arrival. We had orriginally booked two nights but changed us two four as sooon as we saw the place. The rooms are just and the small balcony with a hamock is just what makes that little extra. The cleaning and upkeep is perfect.

The small restaraunt is very nice. And it is good to get some non-fried food for a change.

Sylvia and Francis is most helpfull and speaks alot of languages. Upon leaving there is a small sting in the heart. If we ever go back to Buzios we know where we whant to go.

Room Tip: There are three rooms with balcony. Get one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndersKarlskrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

L'escale is a cozy pousada right on the water at the marina in Ossos, about a 10 minute stroll from the central area of Buzios, but also close to some of the other fantastic beaches at the tip of the peninsula.
The room was basic and a bit small for three people, but the owners were very helpful and accomodating in rearranging the room for us. They were also great in holding our bags for the day and making sure that we got to the bus station on time.
Breakfast was included and was DELICIOUS...though we were a little upset our second morning that there were no croissants ;)
We ate twice at the restaurant --fantastic food, it was the best we ate in our three week vacation. Try the profiteroles!

Room Tip: Very much worth it to get a sea view room with a hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hosts: very friendly and helpful. They did everything they could to make us feel comfortable. They even saved our personal belongings after checkout so we can enjoy the rest of our day in the city without worring or carrying anything.

The place: location was perfect - by the water, there's action but you have your quiet space. 2 beach options - BUT the food @ Lescale is UNREAL that we ate there the SAME thing 2 days in a row. Breakfast is included and it was delicious!!

Safety: We felt very safe considering we had locks to the room, locks to the building, and andother set of locks for the fence gate (at night).

The room: we were 3 girls travelling with big luggages so room was tight but we managed just fine. The room, bath, and beds were all clean!

Highly recommended place! Will go back there on my next visit to Buzios!

Room Tip: If you are 1-2 travellers, request a balcony room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Great place to stay. Had a homey feel more than hotel. The breakfast was awesome! The French owners seem genuinely friendly and were very helpful. Great view of the water front and location. At night the area is very peaceful with little to no traffic and no noise! However you are still just a 5 -10 min walk from the center of the buzios night life.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bologna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

It's a lovely pousada in Bùzios and Sylvia and Francis are incredibly kind and helpful. Our room had a great view on the sea and we really enjoyed its position as it's not far from Praya Azeda and Azedinha, two very nice beaches!
Unfortunately we had a very strong stomachache because we ate on the beach and it isn't a good idea for Europeans!! Sylvia and Francis were very kind and prepared some rice for us.
They also arranged all the transfers from Rio and to the international airport by bus and they were quite cheap! At night it's a bit noisy but it wasn't annoying!
We really suggest this nice pousada and we regret we didn't eat every day in their delicious restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giulyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
La Chimere
#3 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
690 reviews
City Center
Tao Bar & Pousada
Tao Bar & Pousada
#88 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
103 reviews
Azeda Boutique Hotel
#14 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Foret
#20 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
693 reviews
Hotel Pousada Aguazul
#40 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
315 reviews
Pousada Baia Bonita
#101 of 359 in Armacao dos Buzios
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada L'Escale

Property: Pousada L'Escale
Address: Travessa de Santana 14 | Praia dos Ossos, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#10 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada L'Escale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale is a small 5 rooms hotel, tastefully decorated, enjoying all the amenities. - 3 Rooms with sea view and balcony (double bed, minibar, Air conditioning, TV, WiFi, safetybox) - 1 Standard room (2 single beds or 1 king size,minibar, air conditioning, TV, WiFi). Views of the sea and the sunset close to beaches near the center, without suffering the nuisance Refined and hearty breakfast bedding recent balcony with hammock TV, air conditioning security Supports transfer Recommendations for activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada L'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada L'Escale Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing