We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L'Escale : A call not to be missed while your ship is waiting for you in the Buzios bay !”

L'Escale Tantra Restobar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tantra Restobar brings specialties of contemporary cuisine with wide variations ranging from Moqueca Caribeña to vegetarian foods . The preparation of the dishes will surprise your sight, smell and above all taste .
Biot, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“L'Escale : A call not to be missed while your ship is waiting for you in the Buzios bay !”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

While cruising along the Brasilian shore, you'll probably have a full day call in Buzios. Don't start with the famous and most touristic and most expensive "Rua das Pedras" ! When leaving the pier, turn left and walk about half a mile further than the Brigitte Bardot statue. You'll reach the genuine little fishermen harbour (Ossos Beach), and will hit the cosy terrace of the French restaurant "L'Escale", not very far away from a nice beach (Go up the church, and then down). I spent one week in Buzios, and found out that "L'Escale" was my best restaurant, -quality and price wise. The menu is short, which is always a good sign (Fresh products), and both the fishes+sea foods and meat are very well prepared and good. The wine list is fine, from Argentine and Chile, and they have half bottles. Francis, the French chef, and his wife, Sylvia, will tell you, crowd permiting, how they sailed around the world, and decided to make a call in Buzios. Agùstin, the charming Argentine attendant who helps them, will do anything to please you. (They also have B&B rooms, but I had booked at El Cazar),.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysse24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    140
    26
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet restaurant”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Very tasty and real french galettes like you just dont get anywhere else in Brazil! The menu also includes seafood and other dishes.
Good value for money, friendly staff.
I would go back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philippine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Charming place, great location but food was not great”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Went there in December and had dinner there after reading good review here but didnt find it that great a place to eat

Good points
Great location and view from the terrace across the bay
My wife's fish dish was excellent
Service was good and the waiter very friendly
Reasonable prices for Buzios

Not so good points

Our cheese platter starter we ordered was tasteless and very cheap/low quality selection of cheese
The wine selection is very limited to quite unspectacular wines - we expected better
The toilets were without airconditioing and smelly with dirty toilet paper overflowing from the bin
My spaghetti Bolognese was average

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bc1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just for the pate”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We go here as frequently as we can. Good food, nicely served and attentive staff. Languages are Portuguese, French, English and Spanish so everyone can find a way to talk.
The pate starter is worth the visit in itself and the crepes (galletes and crepes) are great value and the wine nice. Worth the short walk from the main drag of buzios.
We haven't stayed here but may try the next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeloeilSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish soup by the bay”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We enjoyed marvellous fish soup followed by crepes, all lubricated by excellent caiprinhas. Parisian owners Sylvia and Francis made us extremely welcome on both occasions we visited. Between them, they speak an incredible range of languages. Francis emerged from his kitchen to make sure everything was going well and we would recommend Sylvia and Francis's hospitality without hesitation. We had a wonderful panoramic view of the bay

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Escale Tantra Restobar also viewed

Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Been to L'Escale Tantra Restobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing