We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best asian food in town”
Review of Sawasdee - CLOSED

Sawasdee
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Buzios
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best asian food in town”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you are a visitor from asia,the US or Europe you will be terribly disappointed as the authenticity really ends with the name. But they try hard to produce dishes that will work in Brazil - and for the most part they succeed. Seafood dishes are best and lemon grass and tamarind grow well in this country so most flavors are
passably Thai but missing the target of real Thai cuisine. Last time I looked there wasn't a single Thai in the kitchen which doesn't really help. And even if it is an approximation of true Thai tastes it all tastes very good, is very fresh and well presented.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Buziosbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful but out of an ordinary citizen's budget.”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The ambience is wonderful, nice view of Orla Bardot, beautiful crowd and the food is fantastic! The menu is innovative for those who are used to Thai food restaurants in Brazil. I just think its prices are too high for that kind of food, even considering the high season in Buzios.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BetoChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and I both love Thai food so when we saw this restaurant on the waterfront in Buzios we wanted to go. We asked the customer relations guy at our hotel about it and he said previous guests had told him it wasn’t very good and he could recommend better places (we did wonder if he was on commission from some other restaurants!!)

We walked past a few nights and had a look at the menu and what people were eating and it looked really good. So on our last night we decided to give it a go. The decor
is lovely and Thai inspired. We ordered a mixed starter then curry and rice each. I noticed that a review on Tripadvisor said the food wasn’t the same as in Thailand - and no it wasn’t as good as ‘the real thing’ but we both enjoyed our meal immensely. To be honest is was a pleasant change from the steaks we’d been eating during our holiday.
We did think it was quite expensive compared to other meals we had had but as we enjoyed the meal it was worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is NOT Real Thai Food...”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I spent 2 months living in Thailand recently and visited this Restaurant while in buzios on holiday last week in hopes if finding excellent Thai food. We were VERY disappointed. The pad Thai was nothing at all like real pad Thai, rather a watery rice noodle seafood dish. The spring rolls tasted as if they had been frozen, and the mango salad was equally as non-traditional.

I find it hard to believe they can get way with calling it Thai food at all... And the 100 real price on the pad Thai dish was insult to injury!

Expensive and not authentic. If you are a Thai food lover, steer clear.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank scotland2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice thai restaurant by the beachwalk and Bardot statue.”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We were recommended this restaurant by a hotel as one of the better ones in Buzios.
We tried it and we were quite happy about it. We were a big group and all seemed quite happy about their food. The atmosphere is very nice and the restaurant itself nicely decorated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawasdee also viewed

 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing