We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely up to American Standards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Ranked #40 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Definitely up to American Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Look at my previous reviews and you'll see that I've stayed at places such as; Bellagio to Millennium Hilton to the Sir Francis Drake. Most hotels in Brazil are not to American Standards, but this one was the best we found!
The customer service was excellent, hosts and attendants who speak well English.
The room is not a Ritz Carlton, but it's more of a Wyndam/Hilton quality. It's definitely CLEAN, well kept, with a California King bed and a nice shower (with plenty of pressure on the shower). Stay in Brazil long enough and you'll know what I'm talking about :)
The rest of the hotel was VERY nice, the pool was great and the breakfast had a lot of options from fresh fruits, pastries, an omelet bar/chef, coffee, and 4 different juices.
The only thing that I disliked, is that the pool is right across the street from the restaurants on the beach, there was constant foot traffic and noises from the beach. The other was the so called "spa", not really a spa and that was a bit dirty.
Location is VERY safe and about a 15 minutes walk from the center of Buzios.
It was 2X as much as some of the places down the street, but it was worth the peace of mind for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mr(s).

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in Rio Búzios Boutique Hotel. We are very happy to read your comments. For our team the most important is your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in a next opportunity. Aboult the Spa service, we are not working with it any more. Thats why you could not tast the service

We thank you for your attention and time!

Since you deserve anything else, do not hesitate in contacting us.

Best regards,

Rio Búzios Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    76
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
81
105
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've just returned from a 5-days stay at this hotel, my husband and I were there on a second honeymoon. Buzios is our favorite getaway spot, so we go there twice a year, and going that often, we have never repeated a hotel, so we have stayed at almost every higher scale hotels available in Buzios.
When we check the pictures and the descriptions available, the impressions are the best. Of course I checked the reviews available, so I believed it was worthing.
The location is great, right in front of the beach, but such location doesn't offer the best views from Joao Fernandes, the beach where it is located at, but it was ok for me. I was looking for comfort and luxury, great views was not a first priority.
The hotel is presented as a 4-stars boutique hotel and it looks perfect, but it is far away from perfect. The rate is high, R$670/night, and you expect much more than what you actually get when you pay that rate in Buzios.
The room was big and comfortable, but the decor was not great. The pool is small and the jacuzzi at the sauna area didn't work. The wifi quality is really poor, it is impossible to have a skype video call and it doesn't even work at most of the outside area of the hotel.
The maintenance didn't have all the resources available at the evening, I had two problems with my room - ar conditioning was liking water and the sink "lost" its bottom part - the sink could only be fixed on the following day as the responsible for the maintenance was not at the hotel and not reachable, and we could only go to a different room for one night as the hotel was fully booked. Both problems appeared at the first night we were in, could not have just "happened" at that moment, so we believe the room was not checked as it shold prior to our arrival.
The waiters are very friendly and the staff in general is good, but some of the reception staff is not prepared for such task.
The hotel is not a boutique hotel, and doesn't offer the amenities and services other 4-5 starts hotels in Buzios offers. If it would be lower rated with a more reasonable rate it would be ok, but it is overpriced and your expectations are not met.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pricilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hello Sir

We come across this, first to thank you for your stay with us and commentaries, which we will be looking for an improvement in our services.

Our main goal is to always meet the expectations of our guests, so your comments will be forwarded to the corresponding sections for analysis in search of improvements.

Their situation was an isolated incident, which no longer seek repeat in our hotel because our priority is to satisfy our customers with a highly qualified service.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you on a next stay to be able to prove a pleasant stay 100%.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed in a Superior suite for 2 nights. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is super close to the water and the heated pool is a very nice amenity. Breakfast was great and included custom made to order omelets. The hotel provides a shuttle at night to/from town. We had a slight issue with our room upon arrival (smelled bad) but the staff quickly cleaned the room completely and the situation was remedied.

Would recommend to anyone staying in Buzios looking for a getaway.

Room Tip: we had a superior suite which had a nice covered front door area with chairs overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Please think again if you consider to stay at this hotel.

I stay over in hotels worldwide more than 120 days per year. I review my experience if it suits the price paid for the service and experience delivered.

This hotel was recommended by us by the JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro (where we had a fantastic experience).

The Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel charges about ~ USD 225,- per night including breakfast, this is far too over priced.

- The rooms really stink like insects, almost all guest complain about this. Although this issue is known at the management, they do not do anything about it.
- The service is far below standard what you should expect at a price range of USD 225,- per night.
- Most of the staff is not friendly and helpful, while during our travel across Brazil, we experienced that Brazilians are very friendly and nice people.
- The WiFi internet was poorly working, when I ask to solve this problem, it was just ignored.
- The breakfast is very poor, where hygiene policies are neglected. There are flies and the bread toppings are wet. Staff is lazy; tables are uncleaned and they even don't know how to bake an egg.
- Also the Sauna and swimming pool are very dirty and not cleaned regularly.
- The bathroom smelled like the sewer. And the room smells like insects.
- One time we came back to our room, housekeeping was cleaning the room. We just wanted to take some stuff out of the room to go to the beach, which took 2 min. We got a call from the front desk with the request to leave our room immediately. They do not understand that we pay their salary.
- This is also the kind of hotel when you check-out you need to wait at the front desk, while somebody of the staff is checking the room on any missing items. I felt really insulted and humiliated.
- In the morning the staff turns on the music at the pool wit loud volume, this is not a boutique like hotel!
- This is the kind of hotel where you need a token for getting your towels, which are old and worn out. When you lose your tokens they charge you USD 30,-

Remember the room rate of USD ~ 225,- per night, this is far to high for the experience you receive.

Overall this hotel has a very poor trained staff with a lazy attitude. As we already paid the full amount at check-in for the entire stay, we were not able to cancel anymore.

When I complained and asked for the manager on duty at the front desk, it was simply ignored! By coincident I met the GM and the manager on duty, we got an upgrade. But the experience was still very bad as none of the issues mentioned were solved.


A lot of guest complained about the same problems we had. People from Russia, UK, but also Brazilians. They got the same treatment.

If you want to spend about USD ~ 225,- per night, please save yourself from a lot of trouble and take something else.

I hope this review will help you in your travel. My reviews are objective, independent and unbiased. This reviewer is an experienced international traveler, especially across Europe and South East Asia; check my profile and other reviews! Please do contact me for any additional information or clarification!

--------------------------------------
The reviewer is Air France/KLM Platinum Elite member, SPG Gold member, Marriott Gold Elite and A | Club (Sofitel) Platinum member

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Andres_Boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.0 mi away
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
#19 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#9 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Azeda Boutique Hotel
Azeda Boutique Hotel
#18 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ville La Plage
Hotel Ville La Plage
#32 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
#36 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel

Property: Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Address: Praia Joao Fernandes s/n | Joao Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#16 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#33 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Joao Fernandes beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing