We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed her during the world cup and we had a great time. Hotel in ideal position, the beach across the road and a 15 min stroll into the centre of town. Hotel staff were great and they even changed our flat tyre for us!!! Room was clean and modern with great sea views. Staff were friendly and service was OK. I would say though that we stayed at a quiet time so could not comment on how staff would cope during the busy season. Would def recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr.Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in Hotel Rio Búzios. We are very happy to read your comments. For our team the most important is your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in a next opportunity.

We thank you for your attention and time!

Since you deserve anything else, do not hesitate in contacting us.

Best regards,

Rio Búzios Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We planned to stay in this hotel 4 nights and we paid in advance for the full stay (4 nights with breakfast). Service was awful and breakfast was not served (staff could not be bothered to serve it as we were the only guests in the hotel). Gym included 5 machines but 4 of them had a sign 'broken' on them. Also, the pool was being refurbished while we were sitting by the pool trying to read. Therefore we asked to leave after the second morning and we were told that we will be refunded for the 2 nights during which we did not stay in the hotel. Manager Gustavo Lucas and his director Luciana Paz promised us that we will be refunded and gave us a signed letter which confirms that we are due that refund. We were told that we will receive it within 3 days but a month later we have still not received it. I have emailed Gustavo but received no response. I have also called the hotel a few times from UK asking to speak to either Gustavo or Luciana but they are never available to take my call.
This is criminal!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Maçanovic,

Thank you for your comments, we work hard daily to make our services better.

We would like to tell you that, since May 29th, we have requested the credit card company (CIELO) for the refund.

But, due to Brazilian bureaucracy, it is taking a little more to be accomplished.

By request, all the documentation can be sent to your e-mail, but we are sure that by the end of the month this matter will be solved. It is important to clarify that it is not our obligation to refund you the amount correspondintg to the 2 last days you did not used! we decided to return your money as a form of courtesy

Regarding your complaints, we checked our gym and everything was fine.

In low season, we give the option to serve breakfast in the restaurant or in the room and ask our guests how they want it to be served.

The swimming pool was being refurbished at that time, but you could use all the facilities of our other hotel nearby (only 50 mts) and you could use our golf cart.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused,

Best Regards

Hotel Rio Búzios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We so much looked forward to this holiday coming from UK
Been everywhere stayed at number of different places.
Hoped that if paying £150 per night will get decent service.
On arrival even though there were only one more couple found out that our room has not been paid for. We booked 2 months in advance, Manager did not bother to chaise the payment. So we were told either we pay or sleep in the street. So we paid. It was very late but we managed to speak to hotels.com in UK. Expensive as we had only our mobiles.They were surprised and tried to help. We managed to at least get money refunded from hotel.com, we hope as still had not hit our account. Day 2, discovered we are only guests in a hotel, went for breakfast, what breakfast, they did not bother to make any breakfast.I took pictures have a look. So for £150 a night this is terrible
Avoid this hotel if you can.
Absolute joke
And had no appologies what so ever from anybody
Gustavo manager is no words to describe him

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge082014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. The procedure used was corresponding to the paiment of your reservation, what were not done until the moment of your check-in. All of the services were presented according to what we promisse. This mistake was done from the company that made your reservation, that do not gave us the corresponding payment, each was their responsability. Your comments are extremely valuable and give us the opportunity to address the areas that need more attention. We are really sorry about the inconvenience experienced and would like to receive the opportunity to talk with you more about it. Your review will help us deliver an improved customer service and a superior product.

Best regards,

Rio Búzios Hotéis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

After 6 weeks traveling in Brazil we stayed for 5 days in Buzios. Buzios is very nice place but is very hard to find the same nice location to stay and not to overprice.
Rio Bizios boutige hotel has very nice, simple design. Location is good very close to the beach, but do not expect to much, this beach is so full and lound that you do not want to stay to long there. Better to walk to the other beach, which is about 10 min walk: Ossios, very nice and calm.
The service especialy the young one needs some training how to treat the COSTUMER. The ton and they way how the personal speaks with the costumer do not apply to this price segment.
If we wanted to seat in the tarasse and all 4 chairs are busy, the answer can not be we do not have more chairs you need to wait til they will be free, but should be we will organize more chairs for you so you can seat! Only after we ask to brig us the table out wirh 2 chairs which were 2 maters from os we got the seats.
Glasses in the bar are not clean and personal : 3 people rather to talk than to clean them.
Music: Celine Dion the whole day on the pool or loud Rock musick by the dinner is compleatly not this what we would expect. There is nice chillout brazilian music!
Also lights, there is such a nice design, but much to bright in the dinner.
In general nice stay, but for this price segemnt needs an improvement.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltmeisterschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Mr.,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. Your comments are extremely valuable and give us the opportunity to address the areas that need more attention. We are really sorry about the inconvenience experienced and would like to receive the opportunity to talk with you more about it. Your review will help us deliver an improved customer service and a superior product. We look forward to speaking with you and share how we have been able to resolve your complaints

Best regards,

Rio Búzios Hotéis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Look at my previous reviews and you'll see that I've stayed at places such as; Bellagio to Millennium Hilton to the Sir Francis Drake. Most hotels in Brazil are not to American Standards, but this one was the best we found!
The customer service was excellent, hosts and attendants who speak well English.
The room is not a Ritz Carlton, but it's more of a Wyndam/Hilton quality. It's definitely CLEAN, well kept, with a California King bed and a nice shower (with plenty of pressure on the shower). Stay in Brazil long enough and you'll know what I'm talking about :)
The rest of the hotel was VERY nice, the pool was great and the breakfast had a lot of options from fresh fruits, pastries, an omelet bar/chef, coffee, and 4 different juices.
The only thing that I disliked, is that the pool is right across the street from the restaurants on the beach, there was constant foot traffic and noises from the beach. The other was the so called "spa", not really a spa and that was a bit dirty.
Location is VERY safe and about a 15 minutes walk from the center of Buzios.
It was 2X as much as some of the places down the street, but it was worth the peace of mind for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Mr(s).

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in Rio Búzios Boutique Hotel. We are very happy to read your comments. For our team the most important is your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in a next opportunity. Aboult the Spa service, we are not working with it any more. Thats why you could not tast the service

We thank you for your attention and time!

Since you deserve anything else, do not hesitate in contacting us.

Best regards,

Rio Búzios Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've just returned from a 5-days stay at this hotel, my husband and I were there on a second honeymoon. Buzios is our favorite getaway spot, so we go there twice a year, and going that often, we have never repeated a hotel, so we have stayed at almost every higher scale hotels available in Buzios.
When we check the pictures and the descriptions available, the impressions are the best. Of course I checked the reviews available, so I believed it was worthing.
The location is great, right in front of the beach, but such location doesn't offer the best views from Joao Fernandes, the beach where it is located at, but it was ok for me. I was looking for comfort and luxury, great views was not a first priority.
The hotel is presented as a 4-stars boutique hotel and it looks perfect, but it is far away from perfect. The rate is high, R$670/night, and you expect much more than what you actually get when you pay that rate in Buzios.
The room was big and comfortable, but the decor was not great. The pool is small and the jacuzzi at the sauna area didn't work. The wifi quality is really poor, it is impossible to have a skype video call and it doesn't even work at most of the outside area of the hotel.
The maintenance didn't have all the resources available at the evening, I had two problems with my room - ar conditioning was liking water and the sink "lost" its bottom part - the sink could only be fixed on the following day as the responsible for the maintenance was not at the hotel and not reachable, and we could only go to a different room for one night as the hotel was fully booked. Both problems appeared at the first night we were in, could not have just "happened" at that moment, so we believe the room was not checked as it shold prior to our arrival.
The waiters are very friendly and the staff in general is good, but some of the reception staff is not prepared for such task.
The hotel is not a boutique hotel, and doesn't offer the amenities and services other 4-5 starts hotels in Buzios offers. If it would be lower rated with a more reasonable rate it would be ok, but it is overpriced and your expectations are not met.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pricilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo L, Gerente at Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Hello Sir

We come across this, first to thank you for your stay with us and commentaries, which we will be looking for an improvement in our services.

Our main goal is to always meet the expectations of our guests, so your comments will be forwarded to the corresponding sections for analysis in search of improvements.

Their situation was an isolated incident, which no longer seek repeat in our hotel because our priority is to satisfy our customers with a highly qualified service.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you on a next stay to be able to prove a pleasant stay 100%.

Sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed in a Superior suite for 2 nights. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is super close to the water and the heated pool is a very nice amenity. Breakfast was great and included custom made to order omelets. The hotel provides a shuttle at night to/from town. We had a slight issue with our room upon arrival (smelled bad) but the staff quickly cleaned the room completely and the situation was remedied.

Would recommend to anyone staying in Buzios looking for a getaway.

Room Tip: we had a superior suite which had a nice covered front door area with chairs overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
#18 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#11 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
711 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#32 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel

Address: Praia de Joao Fernandes, s/n | Joao Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#10 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#32 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £122 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Joao Fernandes beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing