We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
ashby de la zouch
Level Contributor
208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Boutique ?”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

i am in a quandary whether to give this hotel three or four stars. The hotel is in a lovely setting, has a nice pool and good views, but, the room we were in was extremely small and seemed damp. The size of the room would be ok for a couple of nights but nothing beyond this.
Overall i gave it four stars because of the staff and level of service but would stay there again for any length of time.

Room Tip: Check room size when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    110
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
102
270
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Few facts about this hotel:
* The girls in the front desk doesn't know English. The only sentence she knows is that "my english is bad", not even trying to understand what you have to say. In addition , they don't have an english menu in the restaurant... this hotel doesn't welcome tourists from abroad!!!
* 2 times we didn't have hot water in the shower!!! In other opportunities were asked to turn on the faucet for 15 minutes before we can go in (because the water were terribly cold)
* The hotel is located in the top of the mountain. Great view but bad access to the beach...
* Since it located on the top of the mountain - sometimes it cold at night. There was no heat in the room.
There are nuch better places in much better price...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noa12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Not a terrible place by any means, but doesn't come close to living up to the high expectations that a #1 rating on tripadvisor would lead one to have. There simply must be better places in Buzios, because Costa do Sol was frankly more than a little disappointing.

First, let's start with the positives. The views from this hotel are amazing! We paid a bit more for a sea view and it is absolutely worth it- having wine on our terrace at sunset was a really magical experience. The location is also great if you're looking to get away. It's on a hill, high above town about a 7min drive away. (I would not recommend walking, unless you're really into hiking steep cobblestone streets). It was far enough away that you aren't subjected to the thump-thump of Buzios's bars, yet close enough to easily get to town for dinner or a drink. The hotel has a daily shuttle into town every night at 8pm (you can take a taxi back for about $8) and every day to a different beach at 11am. The breakfast spread is pretty nice, and the waitstaff at breakfast are extraordinarily friendly and helpful.

Then, the negatives. The service here is INCREDIBLY spotty, especially if you've stayed in "boutique" properties elsewhere. You should never have to ask yourself aloud "Does anyone work here?", which we did a dismaying amount here. We arrived at the hotel after a harrowing 5 -hour drive from Rio (which should normally take a bit less than 3 hours) (tip: never try to go to Buzios on a Brazilian holiday weekend, because half of Rio will be on the road with you). We get to the hotel around 8pm and.... no one is there. There was one guy in a little glassed-in office chatting on the phone, but he seemed oblivious to our presence. Having to wait 5-7 minutes to be acknowledged upon arriving at a hotel might not sound like a long time, but after the drive it was really the last thing we needed. We got to the room, and the design was nowhere near boutique. Think Comfort Inn on a turnpike somewhere, just with a balcony. We were hungry so thought maybe we'd get a snack at the pool bar but found that it was closed at 8pm and had been for some time. We went to the restaurant, found no one there, had to ask at reception, finally a waiter appeared. No wine by the glass, or wine list either. Anyone wanting wine is shown two bottles of rather bad red- that's it. At least the bad wine was cheap ($20). The waiter ended up being friendly and accommodating, but first impressions are important, and Costa do Sol failed pretty badly. Not a way for a boutique hotel to operate.

Our impression improved somewhat during our stay, and we thought that our initial judgment was a bit harsh. However, our toilet began making an ungodly screeching sound for about 15 seconds after every flush. It was almost comical during the day, but decidedly not-comical in the middle of the night. We alerted reception to this- and they promptly did absolutely nothing. The problem persisted for the duration of our stay. On a related note, there was a terribly bright fluorescent light on the balcony and no apparent way to turn it off. We asked the maintenance guy and he came to the room and sort of shrugged his shoulders- he also had no idea how to turn it off. We finally wrapped our hand in a towel and unscrewed the light bulb ourselves. Not a way for a boutique hotel to operate.

Finally, our last day we wanted to check out as quickly as possible and get on the road- so I went to the front desk to turn in the keys and towels while my partner finished packing. However, the woman at reception insisted that the maid had to verify the mini-bar before we left. I told her that we hadn't used the mini-bar for the duration of our stay and she curtly replied that it would need to be checked. I understand hotels needing to keep costs under control, but insinuating that guests cannot be trusted not to steal a can of beer was a bit inappropriate- especially at the price we were paying for the room. Not a way for a boutique hotel to operate.

In short, Costa do Sol does benefit from its nice view and location. However, the service was incredibly disappointing. If you're expecting boutique, you'll be disappointed. If you're expecting a Ramada on a hill, then you'll probably be okay. In any case, Costa do Sol does not deserve its #1 ranking on this site. Not a terrible place- just go in with the right expectations.

Room Tip: Definitely spring for a sea-view room. Garden-view rooms are a bit sad, and anyone walking by can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank briguy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
242 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Costa do Sol Boutique Hotel opened in the Fall of 2011. It is a cluster style property located very close to Praia Brava on a hilltop with sweeping views of Praia do Canto, Praia da Armacao and Orla Bardot. Access to the property is via a pretty rough road on the Praia Brava side which we felt was the most convenient access point. Parking is available in a small lot across the street from the hotel with additional spots near the entry way.

The hotel has various types of rooms available, with the largest two suites on the second floor of the main reception building, which also houses the dining and lounge areas. The two suites are very well appointed with comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms as well as having excellent sea views from balconies with outdoor seating. Other rooms, both sea and garden views, are located in separate small buildings accessed by well landscaped pathways lower down the hill.

The property has many modern amenities including a restaurant on property, very nice swimming pool with ample chaise lounges, safe deposit boxes, pressurized showers, satellite television, air conditioning, house computers with internet access as well as wifi, and a bar. The fitness center has brand new quality equipment and is a very welcome inclusion since few properties in Buzios offer this amenity. Beach transfers are available and English is spoken at the front desk.

The one negative is that the rooms (other than the suites) are very, very small. This probably would not be of particular concern for those comfortable with a European standard but Americans may very well find the rooms a tad claustrophobic and not a good value for the money. On the other hand, if your vacation style means you are out and about more often than in the room, you probably won't be bothered by the size.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the two suites in the main building if you can afford them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Costa do Sol Boutique hotel for one night in September 2012 and loved it. It was just what we were looking for. It sits up on the hill, with wonderful views, so is not next to the beach, but that suited us just fine. We enjoyed wandering along the beaches of Buzios and visiting the restaurants but didn't want to be in the middle of a busy area.

The hotel is new and modern, very fresh and clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was lovely, with a nice bar and friendly bar staff, one of whom could speak a little English. The reception and breakfast area were open and light, and the staff were great. The receptionists didn't speak much English but this wasn't a problem.

The room was very nice, quite big, comfortable King bed, nice bathroom, good air conditioning.

Breakfast was great, served buffet style, fresh cheeses and meats, fresh tropical fruits, yoghurts, breads, omelete made to order, scrambled eggs, cereals, fresh squeezed juices, bolos (cakes) and more. Very good breakfast indeed.

We can highly recommend this hotel and would have loved to stay longer. It is only a few minutes drive from the beach and restaurant area, so easy to get to, and taxi rides cost about 15 reais, however we chose to drive and had no problems finding parking near the beach, though we did visit in the low season and not the height of holiday time.

There was a well equipped gym on site as well, though we didn't use it. It is a residential area with a few hotels and poussadas around, so pretty quiet at nights, which we liked as we did not want to be near noisy bars or restaurants. if you are looking for a hotel in a very lively, busy area, then this is not for you, but if you are looking for a little bit of luxury and a good night's sleep, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms were in duplexes (one down and one up) in small blocks of four rooms (I think). We were downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliegray2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Great experience! Spent four nights with my husband and my son (age 14). Excellent service in general. High quality breakfast with fruits, cereals, cakes, omelets, juices, fruit salad, cheeses, ham, and more...
We took the suite which was like a small one bedroom apartment (ideal for couples with one child or teen)
Employees went out of their way to cater for your needs.
We had booked in another hotel which we didn't like and luckily we were able to get to know Costa do Sol Boutique Hotel (not to be confused with Pousada Costa do Sol) Very clean, everything new and well kept!!! Although it was rainy the whole time, we really enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa61_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our stay at Costa do Sol was full of surpises. The staff new our name. We got fresh flowers in our room every day and the hotel food was delicius. The staff allways helped by providing suggestions on places o visit in the area and restaurants to try.

The facilities are good but could be upgraded. We noticed some of the furniture was a bit outdated.

The hotel is close to great restaurants and the art museum. Our son enjoed the facilities and playing with other guests. It was a very family friendly stay.

Thank you for the service.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for help on any questions you have about the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBelleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#30 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#34 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
921 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#25 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel

Property: Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua 16 Quadra L lotes 13 e 14 | Alto da Brava, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#6 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#9 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing