We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.....didn't meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“.....didn't meet expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Starting with the positives.... breakfast on the terrace is lovely way to start the day and the breakfast selection was small, but excellent.

Service throughout our stay was excellent and friendly.....

Once you get an understanding of the location, it doesn't feel "as far out" as you may believe upon arrival...and after the 1st night we walked down to our chosen restaurant for dinner in the evening. The walk back is not quite so easy, for those who are not quite so energetic ! ....I would suggest you grab a taxi.

The pool was smaller than I expected, approx 8m * 6m (max!), with a good view although the towels have definitely seen better days. The bar was ok and again the service was excellent.

Unfortunately a suite wasn't available (Carnivale) so we stayed in a Garden view Standard room, which at over £200 per night was very small, needed renovating and really not value for money. Although it was clean and always cleaned to a high standard every day.

If the accomodation met the standards that the team that work there meet, I can imagine it being a nice place. But unfortunately for ourselves...... we were left with an overwhelming feeling of poor value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireViking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    107
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
100
264
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel last year and didn't think things could get much better they did. Since last year they have added some new suites one of which we were lucky enough to be given. Luxurious is not the word it was simply breathtaking. Two very minor gripes a lack of hot water in the mornings and the pool towels were a little past their sell by date. Apart from this the hotel lived up to our past experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

From my personal point of view, after having stayed in other pousadas in Buzios, Costa do Sol Boutique Hotel is the best pousada in Buzios. Located on the top of a hill with a wonderful view, they offer a very convenient free commuting system with a van from the same pousada to the best beaches or the city of Buzios itself. The staff is very professional, breakfast is EXCELLENT! The swimming pool is very nice and the caipirinha e "caipifruta de lichees" served in the bar by the swimming are simply perfect! Rooms are spacious (specially the shower and bathroom) and very bright and luminous. About the price, it's not cheap but for the quality of the service, rooms, breakfast and location is not expensive!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lluis_Girona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at Costa do Sol for 5 nights. It was our first stop on a first trip to Brazil.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean, we even had our own balcony. The wifi is great and the breakfast is good. The hotel also give out beach towels which is handy for the pool and going to the beach. We did notice however that the hot water is solar heated so aim to have your showers in the evening!

The hotel itself is located away from the town at the top of hill with great views of the main beach of Buzios. The view from the pool is fabulous and the pool bar is handy. However they don't mind if you take your own drinks and plug in your music to their speakers.
Actually its easier to take your own drinks and snacks as we got the impression one staff member looks after the pool bar and the restaurant which means service is slow.

They also tell you not to drink the tap water however don't leave any water for you to drink. So take your own bottles of water as everything in the mini bar and the hotel bars are expensive and there are no shops nearby.

We took advantage of the location to explore nearby beaches and to get some exercise by walking into town (downhill all the way!). The hotel offers bus rides into town at evening and to & from a different beach each day.
FYI - a taxi ride from town to the hotel ranges from $18-20. There is also lots of parking and they helped us with beach buggy hire for a day.

I would recommend this hotel but I'm not sure its value for money but we did go at high season

Tip - ask the hotel if there's any chance of a pick up and/or drop off from the bus stop if you're coming by bus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and the works they're doing at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMacL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great place! Lovely view, friendly staff (no English), clean and comfy. I would recommend for a few nights stay, highly enjoyed!
Pros: nice staff, great service, clean, amazing views, lovely pool, and lounges, amazing breakfast that's included

Cons: small room, and a little damp

Room Tip: Room with a private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiniMuffin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. Customer service is great. The staff are very helpful. Rooms are clean. Welcomed us at arrival nicely.

Great for a couples break.

Swimming pool is clean.

Very relaxed and quite hotel.

There is a lot to do in buzios. Make sure you go to the crepe's place and pacha night club.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kudosmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I spent three nights in mid-September at Costa do Sol, and it exceeded my expectations in nearly every way.

In general, over more than half a dozen trips to Brazil, I have found it difficult to find accommodation which I would consider "good value". It is an expensive country, and service and infrastructure are often lacking. Costa do Sol was a pleasant surprise.

- The hotel sits high atop a hillside, with a beautiful view of of the bay on which sits Buzios, and there are many places to sit and take in the view. (Given the location away from the centre of town and up a fairly steep hill, a car is recommended.)
- English was spoken by all the staff I encountered, each of whom was helpful and friendly.
- The rooms were very modern, clean and pleasant, each with its own balcony.
- The breakfast was fairly vast, fresh and tasty, with different tropical juices each morning and particularly excellent coffee.
- The pool area was pleasant (if at times the music was a bit too loud), and the caipirinias served there were uniformly delicious.

My only frustrations were (1) that there were none of the old-school Brazilian electrical outlets (U.S. style), so I had brought the wrong plugs, and the hotel had run out of converters, meaning I had to track one down in town, and (2) the wifi (which was otherwise excellent) was down for about 24 hours.

Parking and wifi (barring comment above) were free and easy to access.

All in all, I would recommend it highly, if you are looking for a clean, modern, boutique-y experience, away from the crowds in town.

Room Tip: I think it is worth it pay a bit more for the sea view. In general, I think the rooms as depicted o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoedodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#19 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#14 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#27 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#31 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#13 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#9 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel

Property: Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua 16 Quadra L lotes 13 e 14 | Alto da Brava, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28959000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#6 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing