We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Hibiscus Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Hibiscus Beach
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Been there with my family and friends during June 2014. The resort is neatly maintained and got good quality rooms, friendly employees and closer to the beach. Great place for staying. Internet and breakfast are good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Binoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    107
    45
    7
    14
See reviews for
75
135
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

With the understanding that Value/money ratio in Brazil is possibly the worst in the western hemisphere, this place offers a great view and spacious rooms with good landscaping. I gave it an overall three stars but within the Brazil lenses I would say a 4 out of 5.

Items to improve:

1) More than five minutes of hot water so two people can take a shower.
2) new bedside lamps that cost more than $2, and can't be knocked over by a 5km/h breeze.
3) decent pillows (problem at most every pousada in the country)
4) the AC unit is sub par and will give you fluid in your lungs. (Again consistent cultural theme to save every penny at expense of customer convenience)

Items of merit

1) Breakfast was fresh and delicious.
2) patio of room has great views and gives you a feeling of privacy due to the dimensions.
3) bathroom is clean and well covered
4) mattress is nice and cozy

Would stay here again and paid roughly $R280/night, 2 people.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2345tman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Recently I visited Buzios again and as usual stayed at Pousada Hibiscus Beach.They recently painted the exterior in vivid pastel stripes that evoke a tropical vibe.The beds have been upgraded and as usual the rooms are bright and airy opening onto your own verandah with lovely sea views.The bungalows are set on a hillside amidst vegetation that beckons the hummingbirds.It is a two minute walk to the beach and room rates compare very favorably to theother hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtartaruga51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

What is unique about Pousada Hibiscus Beach are the "rooms" are all independent little bungalows with private balconies and a decent view of the sea. The staff were very helpful and most all spoke English. The included breakfast was typical Brazilian fare, was fresh every morning and the coffee was great. Buzios is a great get-away from the insanity that is Rio de Janiero. And I look forward to coming here again. A bonus was we were able to bring our very large dog and take her on hikes in the hills. It is also conveniently located to lots of restaurants and shops. October is off season and I recommend it if you don't like crowds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k2dam2dab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding on Ilhabela in 2010 and were delighted. Although quite basic compared to some resorts in Buzios, the facilities, service, location and especially the views were fantastic! I told them in advance that it would be our honeymoon and they kindly booked us into the highest cabin with the best views. It was an effort carrying our luggage up to the top of the hill though! I wouldn't recommend it for young kids or elderly though because of the climb. (Had to select Nov 2012 as travel date as earlier dates unavailable)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonJStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santiago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great place to stay in Buzios, althought we would have liked to stay near downtown because everything happens there but if you want a quiet place to stay and relax, this pousada is your choice. Great bedrooms, bathrooms, nice breakfast service. The wifi doesnt seem to work in the room but in the dining room it works just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Buzios is a busy place so it's good to stay in a hotel that combines comfort and good location with privacy and quiet. The well-provided separate cottages all have balconies looking over the luxurient garden with distant sea views. A good breakfast is included, though it could be varied. It is a short walk to the nearest, attractive beach, though it is busy, and a twenty minute stroll to the town centre, mostly along the lovely waterfront. Staff are friendly and very helpful with information, bookings, flight check ins etc. Good for native English speakers.

Room Tip: The highest rooms are probably the most quiet but none will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian10Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.6 mi away
Armacao dos Buzios Pousada Design
Armacao dos Buzios Pousada Desig...
#35 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#24 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#20 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#9 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Amancay
Pousada Amancay
#45 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azeda Boutique Hotel
Azeda Boutique Hotel
#18 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Hibiscus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Hibiscus Beach

Property: Pousada Hibiscus Beach
Address: Travessa 1 22 | Quadra C - João Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Hibiscus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful small hotel is British owned and managed. Remodeled and upgraded in 2007. The hotel consists of individual bungalows, all having a balcony with spectacular sea view. 100 mts. from the peninsula's most attractive beach. Air-conditioned and fully equipped. Large tropical garden and pool. Transfers available from Rio Airport or hotels. Ideal for English speaking guests, but with an authentic Brazilian atmosphere. Elegance and comfort at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Hibiscus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Buzios
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Hotel Buzios
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing