We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pousada La Chimere - Buzios, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil”
Review of La Chimere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chimere
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This beautiful boutique hotel in Buzios, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil is charming. Lovely interior design complements a beautiful setting, just a short walk to a nice little beach. The location is just outside of the central district making it a peaceful place to relax after a day of swimming and exploring.

The staff are attentive and very helpful and most of all patient. When I arrived I was greeted by Mr. Thiago Azeredo who handled all of my checking in and made sure I was comfortable. His mastery of many languages especially English made the experience very pleasant. Thiago also was amazingly helpful with local details, like where the best secluded (nude) beach is, where to go and see beautiful sunsets, and advice on local eateries and local attractions. I really felt as if I had a best friend in Buzious.

The breakfast was filled with local fruits and breads, eggs made to order, and the fresh squeezed fruit juices were exquisite. The coffee in Brazil is excellent rich thick and very special!

On to the rooms, they have many different choices my suite was outfitted with a king and a full bath, very comfortable. The interior design was very simple and pleasant, there is an LCD TV but who has time to watch TV. Electric is compatible with USA (110 – 127 volts) just bring an adapter to go from polarized blades to unpolarized pins. There was not a request that the staff at La Chimere could not accommodate!

There is a great walk that follows the beach then climbs up to a spot just above the hotel where you get a great look at the area I highly recommend this walk in the morning just before breakfast the walk is a loop so at the end you will end up at the front of the hotel.

The common areas are decorated in lush couches and sitting areas with beautiful artifacts very inviting to relax and chill, there is a collection of English paperbacks undoubtedly left behind by other visitors. There is a computer room and they provide wireless access to the internet for all of us iPhone fanatics, the only problem here is the wireless signal did not reach the rooms but no problem in the common areas.

The small pool was always clean and very inviting after a day at the beach. The court yard has many tropical plants and some spectacular orchids. I got totally fooled by the artificial bananas hanging in a tree that does not give bananas this was a very funny item of interest. Every afternoon there was a pump thermos filled with exquisite dark rich coffee perfect for a recharge before heading out for the evening. Housekeeping was very good; the service offered by the staff was also very good.

There is no fitness center you do not need one since you have many outside activities to keep you fit, swimming, running, walking and I felt the area to be safe.

There are a few eateries just across the street and best of all a small grocery store that stocked with an impressive selection of wines and beer and many Brazilian treats. Brazilian beer is really good! I will definitely return to La Chimere on my next visit to Buzios. You will feel like you are at home!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David-Quest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent hotel, with very nice people at the reception (for example, we wanted to see Tv at 530 am for the rugby world cup, they managed it!). Only one thing, no real seeview from the rooms, but the see is 50 meters far! We loved this hotel and its location, near the quite beach of Ossos and within 10 minutes walk from the animation of the center

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snorteep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

La Chimere is one of the best located small pousadas that you can stay in - close to the beach and right in the center of all restaurants, boutiques and an easy walk to the Centro - Service was excellant- rooms were average, but great for your dollars - There are so many beaches that are in walking distance from this place or you can walk to the end of the block and take the water taxi's. Great place to visit and stay. Rose From Texas - Oct 09

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosie1SanAntonio_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We have just come back from that place. I would not recommend to stay there, especially if you just stay in the standard room. The room is small with a loud fridge and loud ventilation system. The bathroom looks terrible with a strange toilet seat.

The superior rooms look much better and are bigger and with modern bathrooms.
Unfortunately, the cleaning service is very poor in all rooms.

The breakfast is also very poor and every day they serve exactly the same things, there is not a slight change.

Also, the staff is very unfriendly. They do not greet you and do not smile to you when you pass them. The female receptionist does not speak a word of English and also she does not understand simple Spanish (or maybe she doesn't want to). The whole week of our stay she made us feeling unwelcome.

There are only two positives:
- the male receptionist who was unlike his female colleague speaking good English and always very cheerful and helpful
- the common area looks nice and cosy

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We stayed at this pousada for 3 nights and had a good experience. The hotel is located next to Praia do Ossos, a nice little beach. The hotel is only a 10/15 min walk away from the center so it is very quiet. The hotel has an inner patio and rooms face either the street or the patio. The rooms are kind of small, and the decoration is minimalistic, but it is clean and confortable.
The breakfast is excellent. The dining room is very clean and confy.
This alternative is very good if you're looking for budget prices (we paid 80 USD/night). But if you are willing to pay more I'd also recommend the pousada corsario which is right next door and has ocean views, and a swimming pool next to the beach.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank zikg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2006

We went there last October and we really liked it. It is a very couzy, Buzio´s style place. It is near Rua das Pedras (downtown) and Orla Bardot. We really liked the breakfast, we could never finish it. It´s a small place, it´s beach, praia dos ossos is not nice, but in Buzios it is worth visiting different beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Eugene34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2005

This hotel was in a great location, near all the good beaches and a short walk into town. However, the rooms were very small, the furnishings were very spartan, and the rooms were not very clean. While they have a very modern website, their computer system is very antiquated, and it took forever to check out, to the point that we almost missed our bus back to Rio! The breakfast was large, but the tables were covered with ants, and when we complained to the server, she merely wiped the ants away with her bare hand and then proceeded to serve the food. Overall, I think this is a good location, and the price is right, but the rooms are very noisy and cramped.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank traveling_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#3 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chimere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chimere

Address: Praca Eugenio Honold, 36 | Ossos, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28925-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#3 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £65 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Chimere 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chimere receives you with a very special architecture, fruit of a delicate equilibrium between an outside buziano style and a sophisticated, modern interior and with clear and broad spaces. In a very beautiful internal tropical courtyard, is located the swimming pool. A true one oasis because in being a matter of an architecture, the external noises don't arrive. The peace and tranquility reign in this courtyard where the swimming pool is transformed in the "beach after the beach". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Chimere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada La Chimere Hotel Buzios
Othon Pousada La Chimere Buzios
La Chimere Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing