We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”
Review of La Chimere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chimere
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We have just come back from that place. I would not recommend to stay there, especially if you just stay in the standard room. The room is small with a loud fridge and loud ventilation system. The bathroom looks terrible with a strange toilet seat.

The superior rooms look much better and are bigger and with modern bathrooms.
Unfortunately, the cleaning service is very poor in all rooms.

The breakfast is also very poor and every day they serve exactly the same things, there is not a slight change.

Also, the staff is very unfriendly. They do not greet you and do not smile to you when you pass them. The female receptionist does not speak a word of English and also she does not understand simple Spanish (or maybe she doesn't want to). The whole week of our stay she made us feeling unwelcome.

There are only two positives:
- the male receptionist who was unlike his female colleague speaking good English and always very cheerful and helpful
- the common area looks nice and cosy

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    196
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
178
374
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We stayed at this pousada for 3 nights and had a good experience. The hotel is located next to Praia do Ossos, a nice little beach. The hotel is only a 10/15 min walk away from the center so it is very quiet. The hotel has an inner patio and rooms face either the street or the patio. The rooms are kind of small, and the decoration is minimalistic, but it is clean and confortable.
The breakfast is excellent. The dining room is very clean and confy.
This alternative is very good if you're looking for budget prices (we paid 80 USD/night). But if you are willing to pay more I'd also recommend the pousada corsario which is right next door and has ocean views, and a swimming pool next to the beach.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank zikg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2006

We went there last October and we really liked it. It is a very couzy, Buzio´s style place. It is near Rua das Pedras (downtown) and Orla Bardot. We really liked the breakfast, we could never finish it. It´s a small place, it´s beach, praia dos ossos is not nice, but in Buzios it is worth visiting different beaches.

  • Liked — The style
  • Disliked — The room, very small
  • Tips/Secrets — No
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2005

This hotel was in a great location, near all the good beaches and a short walk into town. However, the rooms were very small, the furnishings were very spartan, and the rooms were not very clean. While they have a very modern website, their computer system is very antiquated, and it took forever to check out, to the point that we almost missed our bus back to Rio! The breakfast was large, but the tables were covered with ants, and when we complained to the server, she merely wiped the ants away with her bare hand and then proceeded to serve the food. Overall, I think this is a good location, and the price is right, but the rooms are very noisy and cramped.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank traveling_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#2 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#7 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chimere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chimere

Property: La Chimere
Address: Praca Eugenio Honold, 36 | Ossos, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28925-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#6 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#9 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Chimere 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chimere receives you with a very special architecture, fruit of a delicate equilibrium between an outside buziano style and a sophisticated, modern interior and with clear and broad spaces. In a very beautiful internal tropical courtyard, is located the swimming pool. A true one oasis because in being a matter of an architecture, the external noises don't arrive. The peace and tranquility reign in this courtyard where the swimming pool is transformed in the "beach after the beach". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Chimere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada La Chimere Hotel Buzios
Othon Pousada La Chimere Buzios
La Chimere Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing