We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Buzios”
Review of Colonna Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonna Park Hotel
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Location in Buzios”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

More than a hotel is really an Inn, a very cozy, kind of country side meets the beach building.
What makes this place a jewell is the location, as it is located on the top of a small hill, right in the middle and in between Joao Fernandez and Joao Fernandinho Beach. with an exceptional view, the cherry on top is the access you have to both beaches, a 20 steps stairway to each one. If I ever go back, I will definately return to Colonna Park. my parents were so happy as Joao Fernandinho is kind of a hidden private paradise for the hotel, with just 3 bars and a couple of people to offer you drinks and food, in a very polite way and a lot better price than Joao Fernandez Beach, a bigger version paradise, but crouded of bars and people offering you drinks, tatoos, seats, making it less peacefull. Back to the hotel, they offer you cafe de manha, a buffet breakfast with pretty much everything, it is included in the price. The rooms are hugh, kind of retro, but very comfortable, with flet screen tv and frigo bar. closet and an oldstyle safe that coulb be renovated. the bathroom is big, with marble tops and hair dryer. only shower. Back to the hotel, has a lot of gardens, pool, nice living room with proyector and ecran to watch tv. people at front desk is very friendly, ready to help 24/7. they can get you a cab in 15 minutes. Buzios downtown is 30 minutes walk

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ximenahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    230
    115
    40
    23
See reviews for
229
227
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We arrived in the hotel. The wifi was not working the first day. We could have used the desktop, but only if we would have paid extra. The wifi in the room was not working at all. The charged us for the safe in the room???
The attitude of the management in general is very greedy. Take the money but do not provide a good service.
The breakfast was all cheap and lousy. The tables were dirty. There was not enough personel. They were not helpful.
This is not accepable for a hotel of this price!
All in all not recommendable!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erhard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I'll start by saying the beach view is wonderful. The breakfast is good for me as a vegetarian (very little meat). We ate in the restaurant for lunch. We were the only customers, and the service was unreasonably slow. The menu is only in Portuguese, and the waiter didn't speak any English. I had to take the menu to the front desk and ask them to use Google translate. (Wireless internet is also only available in the lobby which has few chairs). My lunch bill totaled 104 reais including service. When we checked out we had an additional 10% tax on it. Out of all the hotels I've stayed in, I've never been charged service on service. The second charge I disagree with (and disputed) was a phone call occuring in the lobby. Supposedly someone is available to assist with booking attractions, but either not when I was there or not in English. We asked the front desk to call one company to inquire about their availability and prices. Imagine my astonishment when afterwards they said they would be charging the call to the room. I don't mind paying for services, but i want to feel like I receive something of value. In my opinion their tactics are rude in dishonest. After my experience here, I can not recommend this hotel because of its unsavory business practices.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haylee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Worth only for the view...if you could have a Joao Fernandinho beach view.
Good for kids, beach away from few (!) steps.
I found it, last time in this hotel and as a repeater, the hotel extremely outdated.
I think for the price you can find other solutions.....but the view.....wake in the morning and look the empty beach....only the giant turtles in the water...is priceless....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

In a quiet and picturesque town like Buzios Colonna Park hotel has chosen the best location possible. It is only 7 minutes drive away from the downtown, yet secluded enough up on the top of its cliff to keep you detached from the touristic crowd. Joao Fernandinho beach is only a few steps down - it is beautiful, quiet and cosy, and the open-air restaurant Lili Bar serves the best seafood grill. If you get there before 9am you will most likely see your lunch being caught:)
But back to the hotel: spacious rooms, wonderful sea view, friendly staff, free wifi in the lobby... Basically Colonna Park turned out to be everything I needed on a relaxing solo vacation.

Room Tip: Take the corner room 214 - it is only 20 bucks more expensive but it has got a panoramic balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

if you are checking out pictures, please note the dates! the hotel is extremely outdated, and overpriced. It's more like a backpacker hotel or hostel, but much much expensive. The beds are a lump of cotton (I didn't sleep the entire night), there is a prominent mildew smell in the room and the chairs in the room/balcony were cracked, broken. The "safe" is a filthy box that you wouldn't want to put even a piece of paper. It is true that the hotel has stairs that access two beaches - however, the beaches (I believe) were used to be clean years ago, and now the water is not clear, everybody just sits on chairs on the beaches, as in a movie theater. The beach facilities are quite poor. In sum, the hotel and the location is not what you are looking for if you are looking for clear waters, a nice room and nice beach service.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devr-iAlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very well located next to a beautiful beach but it is quiet old. We had the sea view suite which had a breathtaking view: a terrace and a jacuzzi with a rain shower and a glass window so you are actually showering and looking at the beach!!! The breakfast is basic and so is the service. Overall: not bad, not good. If it wasn't for the view, our stay would have been very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
#40 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Praia Joao Fernandes
Pousada Praia Joao Fernandes
#56 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ville La Plage
Hotel Ville La Plage
#28 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
469 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Park Hotel

Property: Colonna Park Hotel
Address: Praia de Joao Fernandes | SN, QJ, Lt 02 a 05, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonna Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Colonna Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Park Buzios
Colonna Park Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing