We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long queue doesn't mean anything”
Review of Da Vinci

Da Vinci
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Long queue doesn't mean anything”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We came to this restaurant in the evening and had a table outside. The prices were very good in comparison to the nearest restaurants.
After we ordered the food we noticed that many people came and there was a long queue. We decided that this was because the restaurant is very good. There were approximately 50 people in a queue, like in the cinema to watch the new film.
The food was good enough. The meat is tasty and the shrimps in oil and garlic are okay. Caipirinha cocktail is almost perfect and costs only 7.50 BRL.
It is not very pleasant to eat outside because of people around you waiting for the table.
Wheh we came for the second time there was a queue again. And we found out that this restaurant serves people from different hotels or something like that - some kind of vaucher system. But if you are not from the list (the manager has a list of people to come) , they provide a table without waiting in a queue.
The food is simple but tasty and it is not overpriced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 507MariaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    156
    146
    75
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What is all the fuss about?!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We walked past here every night and there was literally a queue of no less that 20 people waiting in the street every night for this restaurant. We decided to go for lunch here one day to see what the fuss was about. Inside was fairly rundown and there were lots of flies everywhere! The menu was standard. The service was ok and the food was ok. I don't understand the queues at all?! I would say this place is average at best and due to the flies and slightly dirty feel, even below average!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Confused by the long line....”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This restaurant (which seems to be a franchise of sorts as there is more than one) had a long line in front of it on three evenings throughout the evening. However, the food was awful, service poor and atmosphere was average. The price was low in comparison to other restaurants in the area. I had steak and it was very tough throughout with the exception of about two bites. In looking back, most in the queue seemed to be from Brazil or Argentina. Must have been the price driving the business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venus-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Leonardo in Buzios...............”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Liked the food, especially fish food. Not so brilliant the desserts. Good table service. Price average, not budget. ......

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AVOID - EVITA”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The menu seems excellent and well priced but avoid this place at all costs. We passed by and there was a gigantic queue, leading us to believe that this was a good restaurant.

We went earlier the next night before the queue started, had to wait 10 minutes to be given a menu and wait an hour for rubbish food.

The juices were basically water with hint of juice and the service was terrible.

I realised the queue outside was purely because the service was so slow, with a number of waiters standing around doing nothing. Food took an hour to arrive, not worth it at all.

I just feel sorry for those who actually waited to get in.
---------

Brasileiros evitam esse lugar, parece popular por causa da fila e espera longo, mais o espero eh somente porque o servico demora que soh. Comida nem eh da qualidade boa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stanners10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Vinci also viewed

Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Been to Da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing