We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A European Gem in Brazil”
Review of Villa Balthazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Balthazar
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A European Gem in Brazil”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We loved our stay at Villa Balthazar. The place is really tastefully decorated in a cool/quirky way - so different so many other places we've stayed in Brazil. The European touch is really evident here (Swedish run) and it really shows - great little touches throughout the stay - amazing breakfast with homemade bread and jams. Amazing little chocolate dessert on our last night was a really nice surprise. The owners have a done a great job - the place is so relaxed and friendly and guests seem more like visitors rather than customers (but not in a hostel type way!) We'd stay there again for sure! Thank you!

Location good - off the main Buzios strip, but only 5 mins walk along a safe road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
162
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful five days at Villa Balthazar in Buzios, where we stayed as part of the area. The pousada is excellently located, a minute from a beautiful and peaceful beach and less than five minutes from the main town (with its many upmarket bars and restaurants). The villa itself is gorgeous and feels like a small and tranquil garden oasis and Petra and Felix have clearly put a lot of thought into its design. This is also evident in the rooms - there were so many little details that came together to make ours such a nice room to stay in, while the breakfast was also lovely. Petra and Felix are also wonderful hosts and did so much to make our stay special (thanks guys :-)).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndySmith38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The pictures are nice, but reality is even better! Outstanding taste, attention to detail and warm hospitality. Petra and Felix are the nicest hosts. They did everything here with love, but also with intelligence! We hope we will soon be back and meet them and little Chloé again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In a nutshell, the difference between Villa Balthazar and many other hotels you could choose in Búzios is that everything here is done with love. There's just a really sweet, genuine, generous vibe in this house. You're made to feel welcome, without it being obtrusive. Petra and Felix (originally from Sweden) are living their dream of running a gorgeous guesthouse in Brazil, and it's nice to step into someone else's joy for a few days and feel a part of that.

In my opinion, what makes a good hotel is the people and the attention to detail. Petra and Felix have left no stone unturned in creating a gorgeous little sanctuary where nothing is too much trouble and guests can feel whisked away from the everyday for a little while.

Every room is individually decorated and has its own personality. The garden is lush and tropical, the pool sunny and serene. Petra and Felix have thought about everything from the guest's perspective - true professionals! I stayed in a number of hotels in Búzios and this guesthouse is one of the best for sure.

My favourite things
- chatting to Petra one night before bed, flipping through her photo albums and hearing her talk about their travels through Brazil and the experience setting up the guesthouse;
- upon leaving, we were not only driven to the rodoviária, but we were given a goodie bag of snacks for the journey;
- breakfast was a masterpiece - served on fine china and silver, beautiful garden setting, homemade preserves, strong coffee - it was just lovely.

Our room was spacious, tranquil, had a gorgeous view. Downtown Búzios is a 5 minute walk down the street, the beach is literally across the road. This is a lot more than just accommodation - it's a beautiful experience in itself. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Felix, Petra and their wonderful daughter Chloe, are simply amazing hosts. Our stay in Villa Balthazar has been absolutely amazing. From all the hotels and B&Bs I have stayed around the word I can say without any doubt that I have never experienced such a warm, elegant and personal hospitality. With a very good taste and attention to the slightest detail, Felix and Petra have created a beautiful guest house with a very relaxing and calming atmosphere. Everything is clean, the rooms are lovely, the bed is so comfortable, everything smells nice.
The breakfast is amazing, again, giving attention to the slightest detail. Home made jams by Felix (with the assistance of Petra of course), delicious bread in special bag to be kept warm, fresh orange juice, delicious coffee & various selections of tea served in elegant teacups, a beautiful plate of a juicy fruit salad.... it is simply amazing. A beautiful breakfast table which I never wanted to leave.
Petra, Felix and Chloe, thank you very much for making us feel like we were your unique guests at your own home. I look forward to visit your place again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirkouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Petra and Feliz understand hospitality like nobody else! Serious attention to detail to make you feel welcome and comfortable, little surprises along the way, and although they are always open for a nice chat, they never impose themselves.
The room was big and comfy, the decoration was stunning, and it was all very clean. Te aircon was unfortunately too old and didn't quite manage to cool us down, but apart from that it was all perfect. Breakfast is a real treat, and they accomodate it around each guest. Somehow we managed to feel like we were the only people there despite the place being fully booked - the upside of a small place with not too many rooms!
Felix even gave us a hand to change a tire before our departure, which was a real bonus that just shows how friendly and helpful they always try to be.
Location is the best you can get because you walk to the restaurants at night, and some of the best beaches during the day. Best to drive to the far away beaches than to have to drive at night, especially when you want to have a couple of caipirinhas.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jopicq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed together with my family (unfortunately) for only three nights in the house of Felix, Petra and her wonderful daughter Chloe. As family we have seen a lot of hotels, hostels and B&B´s around the world and I can say, that our stay in Villa Balthazar has been absolutely the best of all. The garden is well maintained, the pool is very clean and the rooms are absolutely perfect and equipped lovingly. Everything is clean, nothing is missing, there are lots of small details available which are missing in other accomodations: even an electric fly swatter, a mosquito spray, a holder for the toothbrush, a safe and a line for the swimsuits in the shower are part of the standard equipment. During the day you always can find fresh towels at the pool.
Petra and Felix are absolute perfect hosts. Whenever we had a question, they helped us and recommended beaches and restaurants. Even a coffee at the pool in the afternoon has been no problem. The breakfast has been very delicious.
Unfortunately the tripadvisor rating level ends at 5 points (excellent). Normally I never give maximum ratings, but in this case I would give 6 points.
In Villa Balthazar we felt like at home. If we return to Brasil sometime, we will stay here again (for more than 3 nights...)!
Petra, Felix and Chloe, thank you very much for this unbelievable stay. The stay in your Villa Balthazar has a big part that we had our best holiday in our live.

Room Tip: I have seen three rooms, all of these rooms are on the same very high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaraldS644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.7 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
930 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
645 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#2 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#8 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Balthazar

Property: Villa Balthazar
Address: Rua Maria Joaquina 375, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dream of a colorful Brazil brought us here as curious tourists and we fell in love. A love that after a couple of visits became an addiction. We found our heart in wonderful Búzios. The house of our dreams just waited for us, a calm oasis surrounded by nature just a few steps from the ocean and 400 meters from the street life with all the best restaurants and bars that Búzios has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Balthazar Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing