We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abracadabra Pousada
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was perfect - amazing views over the bay from the terrace and our room plus really friendly service. The restaurant is lovely too and better than anywhere we found in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very attractive, well maintained hotel in Buzios overlooking the bay with a lovely pool and dining area. Very helpful staff and an excellent restaurant. Breakfast is really good with personally cooked eggs and bacon plus the full range of delicious fruits and breads. So good we didn't even bother to eat in the village.
Some rooms have hammocks and seating areas, others a sea view. Lots of steps so not suitable if you are a bit shaky on your feet. Easy to walk through the sister hotel to the beach and town. The Casabrancas is rated higher due I think to it having a spa but is no way as tastefully decorated and we much preferred the Abracadabra, it might be crowded round the pool in high season. Like most other hotels , they don't have a mirror by a plug point in the living area. In fact they only have a half mirror in the bathroom for some reason. There are the odd cockroaches in this area but not due to uncleanliness.
Many shops for browsing about ten mins walk away. Buzios is three hours from Rio. We would recommend a private transfer as it can take up to five hours on a shared coach. It does rain here too, but its very green. Plenty of coastal walks and many beaches which you can reach by water boat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock if that appeals or otherwise a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here because we couldn't bring our little one to Casas Brancas (where we previously stayed when in Buzios). I was originally dissapointed because I loved our stay at Casas Brancas, but this was just as good and a better deal cost wise. It's cheaper but has a similar character and wonderful breakfast - along with great staff and unique rooms.

Great view, and you can use all of the amenities at Casas Brancas (restaurant, spa) including the stair case that leads down to the sea wall (this is important cause walking around is a pain and time consuming).

They had a crib for my little one and were treated really well. I can't comment on kids activities because she was only 5 months old. But they have a beautiful pool.

I would definately stay here again, most likely before I go back to Casas Brancas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReidBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My boyfriend and I just had a long weekend at abracadabra and really didn't want to leave. The place is really special, we think much nicer than its more expensive sister hotel casa brancas. The staff are super friendly and attentive and the food is delicious- the deal on the first night at mistico is such good value. We had a smaller garden room which suited us perfectly, very clean and comfortable, I can only imagine the more superior rooms are fab. I would also highly recommended having a orange and passion fruit caipirinha- I was addicted. Overall a lovely place to stay- floating in the infinity pool overlooking the bay you wouldn't want to be anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 03tsheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

wow! this is a very nice place. we've been coming to buzios and stayed several places but, this place top it all! customer service along with a beautiful sunset view, priceless. we were in room 9 which is overlooking the pool and the restaurant not to mention, the bay and sunset. spacious and clean. there's a good wifi reception (free), nice amenities in the room. after checking in, we went to the bar area and one of the staff offered us free glass of champagne! what a surprise! bed is sooo comfy (not too hard/soft). i am very particular with beds bcoz, i have a bad back. gourmet breakfast is delicious, all kinds of tropical fruits, breads, and u can order ur omellete or eggs to your liking. we also liked the champagne that u could pour yourself during breakfast. staff are very accommodating with smiles. we have no hot water problem in our room. we always use casas brancas (sister hotel) as a shortcut to go anywhere. we stayed here september 28-30, 2013 and it was really a romantic and relaxing getaway. i highly recommend

Room Tip: rooms facing the bay or rooms with balcony if it's available has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked via Audley Travel based on Tripadvisor as a chill down at the end of a South American holiday. It looks quite unassuming from the road entrance but as soon as you get to reception you know this is going to be a stylish retreat. The décor is white and cream throughout and very stylish. We had room 6 which is above the lounge. It had the wow factor with the wow view down on to the terrace, across the infinity pool and down to the bay. The room had a a very comfy bed and washbasin was separate from toilet and wet room. If I was to be very picky it seems that thermostatic valves are not used in South America (a big business opportunity for someone) which means that the water temperature while showering can be variable but this was the case in Peru and Argentina too. The terrace was quiet as we were pre season but the staff very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast choice was good and drinks and light meals reasonably priced. I recommend this place for couples as a romantic retreat. It is a good location for the town which has many restaurants and shops and nearby beaches in walking distance unless you take a water taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a terrace view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_e_hewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Straight to the point: I have been visiting Buzios for 15 years so believe me when I say that Abracadabra is the best place to stay while visiting this paradise.

Forget about Casas Brancas, Vila D'este, Pedra da Laguna, etc. Abracadabra has everything you need to spend a remarkable time.

This romantic getaway offers well decorated and huge (suite) rooms with breathtaking views of Buzios bay. The pool is to die for and left you speechless at first sight.

The restaurant (Mistico) is also very nice but maybe a little too pricey. Do not miss the discount on the first night stay for a three course menu! An excellent value! Breakfast offers a great variety of fresh food: pastries, juices, fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs, omelets, etc.

The service was impeccable. The staff was always friendly, not just sometimes.

Rua das Pedras is only a short walk away and you will get free access to the neighbor Casas Brancas which you can use as a shortcut.

I would like to point out only one thing: A place like Abracadabra should have a more strict children policy as they do not offer a structure to keep children amused.. I do like children but when you spend a lot of money trying to find peace and a romantic spot to go with your girlfriend a kid can totally ruin your plans. It was not our case but sometimes we got upset with the kids habit of jumping on the pool, screaming and things like that.

Room Tip: Room number 16 (suite) is huge and has an amazing view. Do not miss the three course menu at Mistic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VComper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
961 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Chimere
La Chimere
#3 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abracadabra Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abracadabra Pousada

Address: Alto do Humaita, 13 | Centro, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £154 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abracadabra Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abracadabra is a unique and exclusive spot, set in the charming and sophisticated peninsula of Buzios, 180 km from Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is located only five minutes away from the heart of town and it features wonderful scenery, an idyllic terrace, a true manifestation of charm in a paradisiac setting. Our goal is to provide our guests an aesthetic harmony, casualness and true pleasure with a professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Abracadabra Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abracadabra Pousada Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Hotel Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing