We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay and beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abracadabra Pousada
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay and beautiful view!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The perfect honeymoon spot!! My husband and I were amazed from the time we checked in. Upon checking in, we were greeted by the bartender and given a glass of wine. We had a beautiful view of the terrace, infinity pool and mountains/shoreline, it was a beautiful!! They paid attention to every detail in their decor. The entire staff, restaurant/bar/housekeeping/reception/gardening was exceptional and made every attempt to make us feel at home and cared for. The breakfast was delicious and one of the best breakfast buffets we've had with fresh fruits/breads/juices/etc. If you have any food allergies or health concerns, they are very attentive to that and make sure to work around it. The housekeeping staff cleaned our room at least twice daily, which was very impressive. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and can't wait to return to Buzios again for another stay at the Abracadabra Pousada!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    117
    12
    5
    12
See reviews for
76
371
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I booked this hotel for our honeymoon, and accidentally booked it a month in advance... silly mistake I know, but would expect such a nice (expensive) hotel to show a bit more understanding! But when I realised my mistake, my credit card had already been charged (nearly A$2,000) and they refused to refund any of it. They told me they were unable to resell the room at short notice. (A bit fishy, as I rang back later to ask if they had any availability on those dates and was told they were fully booked). Completely understand the mistake was my fault (as they kept telling me) but a little bit of compassion wouldn't go astray... we're now bypassing Buzios completely on the trip and heading down the Costa Verde instead. With $2,000 less in the honeymoon budget!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hf1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian H, Gerente de relações públicas at Abracadabra Pousada, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Abracadabra Pousada would like to clarify this situation since the description above does not correspond to the facts .
Ms. HF made a reservation for the period of December 3rd, to the 07th, 2013 through Booking.com. The Hotel´s Reservations Department proceeded with the normal booking process and correspondence which clearly states our Cancellation and No-Show Policies.
A room was reserved for this client for the requested period . The client did not show on the date of the reservation and did not write us any correspondence attempting to modify the chosen dates. Abracadabra was unable to sell the room due to the fact that the client simply did not presented herself at the time and did not ask for any changes. We do have a No-Show Policy sent to Ms.HF.
Our reservation manager reported Booking.com the no show next day. The client stated she confused herself with the chosen dates and required a full refund or to change the dates to January 2014. The time required in January is fully booked.
With this situation, Abracadabra wrote an e-mail stating that respecting our policies ( which were sent to the client ) we would not refund this value because we were unable to sell the room. Nonetheless we would be glad to provide her with a significant discount during another time period.
Ms.HF did no reply to this offer and directly posted this unfair review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

When my husband and I were escorted to our room at this pousada, we were absolutely blown away by the view and the stylish decor.
You could easily spend your days at the hotel, lounging on the comfortable day beds and swimming in the immaculate pool however it is an easy and pleasant walk into Buzios town where there are plenty of restaurants and bars to try and beaches to explore. It is a lovely place to spend a few days.
The staff were very helpful and the breakfast plentiful and tasty (although they charge for espressos but have free bubbles at breakfast which is a bit random but fine).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALM_KJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights it was the luxury part of our honeymoon and it did not disappoint. Our room was 16 which was more like a studio and had an amazing view over the bay equipped with a balcony to enjoy drinks from the restaurant on. The staff were so friendly and helpful especially Jo on the front desk who couldn't do enough for us and arranged a number of activities for us including a private boat trip around the peninsular which was wonderful. The buffet breakfast and restaurant food were delicious and the view and comfort and cleanliness that this retreat has to offer was exceptional. I couldn't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Room 16 is a studio room I think it is the best in the hotel. I comes with 2 sofas and if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoriajanemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this location for three (3) nights. The location is atop one of Buzio's many hills and has a spectacular view of the beach and bay below. The service was excellent, the attitude of all was caring, pleasant and relaxing to match the environment.

Room sizes vary. My room was smallish, but more than adequate, for my stay. My colleagues had similar room sizes with some bigger.

The infinity pool and lounge area is very nice with single and double loungers. The view from the pool is the same spectacular view I mention above.

The food was excellent. I had the included breakfast as well as some appetizers in the evening. Service was again first rate, all staff spoke English and were incredibly helpful and welcoming.

The only thing to be aware of, and it is not like Abracadabra can do anything about it, is the night club Privilege is located on the street / beach below. On weekends the sound of the thump, thump of the DJ music can be heard into the morning hours. When I was there the music was still going at 8:30AM.

We will be back to experience the relaxation and excellent service from the rest of the hustle and bustle of Brazil.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was perfect - amazing views over the bay from the terrace and our room plus really friendly service. The restaurant is lovely too and better than anywhere we found in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very attractive, well maintained hotel in Buzios overlooking the bay with a lovely pool and dining area. Very helpful staff and an excellent restaurant. Breakfast is really good with personally cooked eggs and bacon plus the full range of delicious fruits and breads. So good we didn't even bother to eat in the village.
Some rooms have hammocks and seating areas, others a sea view. Lots of steps so not suitable if you are a bit shaky on your feet. Easy to walk through the sister hotel to the beach and town. The Casabrancas is rated higher due I think to it having a spa but is no way as tastefully decorated and we much preferred the Abracadabra, it might be crowded round the pool in high season. Like most other hotels , they don't have a mirror by a plug point in the living area. In fact they only have a half mirror in the bathroom for some reason. There are the odd cockroaches in this area but not due to uncleanliness.
Many shops for browsing about ten mins walk away. Buzios is three hours from Rio. We would recommend a private transfer as it can take up to five hours on a shared coach. It does rain here too, but its very green. Plenty of coastal walks and many beaches which you can reach by water boat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hammock if that appeals or otherwise a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#2 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abracadabra Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abracadabra Pousada

Property: Abracadabra Pousada
Address: Alto do Humaita, 13 | Centro, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abracadabra Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abracadabra is a unique and exclusive spot, set in the charming and sophisticated peninsula of Buzios, 180 km from Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is located only five minutes away from the heart of town and it features wonderful scenery, an idyllic terrace, a true manifestation of charm in a paradisiac setting. Our goal is to provide our guests an aesthetic harmony, casualness and true pleasure with a professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Abracadabra Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abracadabra Pousada Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Hotel Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing