We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Literally the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abracadabra Pousada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abracadabra Pousada
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Literally the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We honeymooned in South America and after a week in rio we went for a week in buzios, we stayed at the abracadabra posada and it was absolutely brilliant. It is very chic and boutique with a lovely little pool and sun terrace it was the perfect way to end our honeymoon and we would love to go back! We stayed in April 2013 weather was lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front more expensive but we had a room at the back for around £80 pound sterling per ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    113
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
73
356
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
490 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay on Buzios and would recommend the Abracadabra for the stunning location, beautiful views, private villa atmosphere, infinity pool, friendly staff and excellent restaurant.

We stayed five nights over New Year before heading to Rio and are really pleased we allowed time to recharge our batteries.

The only thing that was disappointing was Room 1. By any standard the room is small (no floor space for a suitcase) and fairly basic. My wife was quite upset as it was described as having a garden view but in truth the view was of a white painted wall with the odd climbing plant. The lesson: make sure you ask for a room with genuine outlook.

Two other gripes - the wifi is the poorest we encountered on our trip and that smoking is allowed at the poolside.

We enjoyed the classy New Years Eve dinner at the sister hotel Casas Brancas though it didn't have quite the all-out party atmosphere that we were expecting.

This is a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended.


Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We didn't stay here but we went here for dinner on the first night of our honeymoon. It was so amazing! We had a table right by the infinity pool, overlooking the beautiful bay - breathtaking. The meal was the best meal we had throughout our time in Brazil. Really delicious food, and great service. A really special place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RC1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

From the moment that we walked into the lobby, we knew that this place was special. Our room overlooked the bay. It was absolutely breathtaking. Felt like we were in Capri or in the French Riviera. Rooms are small but nicely decorated. Breakfast was great. Offer a wide variety of options and even custom make things to your liking. Don't waste the extra money at their sister hotel Casa Brancas. Abracadabra is more intimate and charming. We would walk over to Casa Brancas to access the main strip where all the restaurants were at.

Would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor with ocean view are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The wi-fi they mention is free... It doesn't work. That's why it's free. We came from Europe so we truly need the wi-fi to be in touch with family and our 2years old baby and at night we always went to have dinner out and our criteria was not the quality of food but the free wi-fi each offered us. Shame for the price you pay for this accommodation. If wi-fi is a requirement for you, don't stay here. Be aware.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sofilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Abracadabra was a great experience. Our room was clean and modern. The complimentary champagne and sparkling wine in the room upon arrival was a great touch. Our room did not have a view but the overall property view is incredible overlooking the bay. The hotel is perfectly located a few minute walk to the town where all the restaurants and bars are located. It is also far enough and high enough above the action where it is peaceful and secluded. The restaurants on the property and sister property were both great. The pizza spot was a perfect low-key date night while the restaurant on the property served a great modern cuisine with a very nice view of the bay below.

After a day of exploring it was great to come back to the hotel and relax by the pool on the lounge chairs and day beds. It never felt crowded while we were there. Breakfast was very good especially compared to other hotels in Brazil as you were able to order eggs, bacon and omelets to your liking. I would highly recommend this hotel for your trip to Buzios.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narcuri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The perfect honeymoon spot!! My husband and I were amazed from the time we checked in. Upon checking in, we were greeted by the bartender and given a glass of wine. We had a beautiful view of the terrace, infinity pool and mountains/shoreline, it was a beautiful!! They paid attention to every detail in their decor. The entire staff, restaurant/bar/housekeeping/reception/gardening was exceptional and made every attempt to make us feel at home and cared for. The breakfast was delicious and one of the best breakfast buffets we've had with fresh fruits/breads/juices/etc. If you have any food allergies or health concerns, they are very attentive to that and make sure to work around it. The housekeeping staff cleaned our room at least twice daily, which was very impressive. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and can't wait to return to Buzios again for another stay at the Abracadabra Pousada!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#2 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila d'este
Vila d'este
#6 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#15 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abracadabra Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abracadabra Pousada

Property: Abracadabra Pousada
Address: Alto do Humaita, 13 | Centro, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abracadabra Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abracadabra is a unique and exclusive spot, set in the charming and sophisticated peninsula of Buzios, 180 km from Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is located only five minutes away from the heart of town and it features wonderful scenery, an idyllic terrace, a true manifestation of charm in a paradisiac setting. Our goal is to provide our guests an aesthetic harmony, casualness and true pleasure with a professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abracadabra Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abracadabra Pousada Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Hotel Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing