We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abracadabra Pousada
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We can only congratulate anyone who decides to book a stay at this magnifivent hotel. It is very romantic. The service is impeccable at all stages. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are charming. Breakfast with the enchanting view over the ocean is amazing and a very good start of the day. We had a few meals in the hotels restaurant and the food quality and service is of the highest standards. We just loved our stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend.
A beautiful view over the bay, a beautiful hotel, clean , great customer service, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was amazing, including champagne and a variety of fresh fruits and yochurts.
A lovely pool and very relaxed athmosphere . We stayed for two weeks and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
Highly recommended, we go back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa d, Gerente de relações com clientes at Abracadabra Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,
We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Abracadabra Pousada!
We will share your comments with our team, and we are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Abracadabra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The rooms are super nice and the whole place has a very romantic atmosphere. Great service and location. Restaurant was very nice, small and cozy. Remember: it is always better to go to Buzion out of season, otherwise it can get really expensive... Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlaEb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa d, Gerente de relações com clientes at Abracadabra Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Carla, we would like to thank you for your comment on tripadvisor!
Satisfied guests like you, make us increasingly seek for improvements of our services and care.
We hope to receive you again at Abracadabra Pousada – Búzios!
With best regards,

Abracadabra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel possibly has some of the best views in Buzios. The infinity pool overlooking the bay is just stunning at all times of day.

We felt very relaxed here and enjoyed a lot of time by the pool relaxing and playing with our 18 month old son. The staff were lovely and friendly and accommodated every request.

The food is also delicious and we enjoyed the ample breakfast, lunches and a dinner here.

The only negative I'd say is that we booked one of the most basic rooms which was absolutely tiny and could probably do with a bit of a refurb. It was probably the tiniest room we have every stayed in! The location of the room is good as it just leads on to the terrace/ pool area, however, it is really small and we barely had room to fit our sons travel cot. It wasn't so much of an issue as we stayed here for 2 nights but it wouldn't have been very comfortable if we stayed for longer. Therefore, book a better, more expensive room especially with a baby/ toddler!

Otherwise, this hotel is lovely and we wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NML0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We chose to stay at Abracadabra Pousada based on the recommendation of a friend who had previously stayed here. We couldn't be happier with our decision.

The pousada is located on a quiet stretch of road which is very safe. We were greeted by a friendly gentleman and our bags carried to our room. Our room had a fantastic view of the sea and the pool. Unfortunately, our room did not have any outdoor balcony/patio, but there were plenty of other outdoor spaces that we could utilise throughout the complex.

Being a boutique hotel, you really notice the level of service. We ate at the restaurant on the first night and were impressed with the quality of the food. Certainly a nice introduction to Buzios.

Breakfasts were fantastic - fresh juices, meats, cheeses and pastries. Eggs were cooked to order and champagne was also available.

The pool area was brilliant - a fantastic way to relax either at the start or end of the day. The water was also warm, which meant you didn't have to worry if the weather turned. The upstairs roof terrace was also the ideal location for watching the sun set.

The friendly Brazilian lady (sorry, her name escapes me) who takes care of reception during the day was lovely. She had great tips about the beaches to visit, restaurants to dine at and even volunteered to take care of bookings for us. On our last day, we had hoped to dine at one of her recommended restaurants at a nearby beach. We were worried we may not have time to make it there and back before catching the bus back to Rio. However she kindly booked the restaurant and offered us a free late check-out, which meant we were able to shower before making the journey back to Rio and ultimately on to London. This was most appreciated and further enhanced our overall experience. She is a true asset to Abracadabra Pousada!

The pousada is a sister hotel to the neighbouring Casas Brancas. This means that you are able to use some of the facilities at that complex, as well as take a short-cut to get to and fro the coastal path that leads you to the downtown area. While Casas Brancas is more expensive, I certainly didn't regret choosing Abracadabra Pousada.

My only complaint was the terrible wifi. Although the strength of the signal was fine, you had to keep connecting and disconnecting your devices every minute or two to get connectivity - the rest of the time the pages would not load, which was a bit frustrating when trying to plan activities / check-in for flights, etc. But I'm sure that's something that can easily be addressed by management.

Abracadabra Pousada was a top-notch choice and one I would highly recommend to anyone. We opted for a superior room with a sea view and I think it is well worth the extra money. Book this pousada - you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and book a superior room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbloke82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After canceling my reservation within the 15 day requirement (although not by the actual midnight specification) the hotel agreed to refund my 50% of the booking. They confirmed this with booking.com where reservation was processed through & in email to myself. After emailing back in forth on 3 occasions & booking.com speaking with them on 3 different occasions of which we were told credit wouldn't go through until 7-15 days. On the 16 day I checked back only for the hotel to tell me to take it up with my credit card company as they were the party that was holding everything up. American Express confirmed what I assumed which was I was being given the run around. The Hotel had no intention of refunding my 50% & lead me along with charm & beautiful manners. Very disappointing as I had planned on visiting here at some point. Where is the integrity in the running of their business?!
American Express is now taking care of the matter for me. Booking.com had also offered to refund me as well & then resolve the matter with the hotel without me.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JKBurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos M, Gerente at Abracadabra Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Abracadabra Pousada completely denies and does not accept the absurd claims made by user JKBurk on the review posted on February 16th.
We are highly offended and would like to clarify the situation. As communicated to all the parties involved, with copies of all the e-mails exchanged, we followed all the right procedures in order to refund the 50% to JKBurk. We would also like to point out the fact that this refund was a kind exception, because according to our Cancellation Policies, which are informed to all our clients upon reservation, by the time of cancellation, the full amount was already non-refundable. Therefore, the serious accusations made by JKBurk are completely unfounded.
Casas Brancas Group, which Abracadabra Pousada is part of, has over 40 years of experience and excellence in the Hotel Industry. We were quick to start the process with the Credit Card administrator in order to refund the 50% in optimal time, all the while reassuring JKBurk that the process for said refund was in motion. JKBurk was aware of the fact that this usually takes around 15 days. The credit card company is entirely responsible for the length of time taken and for the lack of internal communication, which explains why, when JKBurk contacted the credit card company in the user’s country of origin, they had no knowledge of the refund. We received notice from the Credit Card company that the amount has already been returned to JKBurk. We exempt ourselves of any blame.

Sincerely

Abracadabra Pousada Team - Casas Brancas Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Abracadabra. It was a great small hotel, with only around 18 rooms. This meant that there are only very few people in the hotel, which makes it more comfortable and relaxing. The pool area is great with comfortable sun beds and a amazing view, the hotel restaurant is really good and we recommend to eat lunch or dinner there and the staff at the hotel is great. The only thing we disliked about our stay in Buzios was that we did not enjoy the town that much. It is quite touristy and it turned out to be different than we expected. The town is a stop for many big cruise lines which populate the town very much. The hotel though was a great relaxing stay for a couple of days after an adventurous holiday around elsewhere in Brazil. Also we went to see what the neighboring Casa Brancas hotel, we found Abracadabra to have a better pool and seemed like a more quiet place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juulia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
961 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#9 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Chimere
La Chimere
#3 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abracadabra Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abracadabra Pousada

Address: Alto do Humaita, 13 | Centro, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £152 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abracadabra Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abracadabra is a unique and exclusive spot, set in the charming and sophisticated peninsula of Buzios, 180 km from Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is located only five minutes away from the heart of town and it features wonderful scenery, an idyllic terrace, a true manifestation of charm in a paradisiac setting. Our goal is to provide our guests an aesthetic harmony, casualness and true pleasure with a professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Abracadabra Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abracadabra Pousada Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Hotel Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing