We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Vila Do Mar
Ranked #52 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2008

My friend and I stayed at Vila do Mar for two nights after being in Rio for 5 days. Buzios was a relaxing dream after dealing with Rio, and this inn is the perfect place to stay. The room was adorably appointed, with great art, nice linens, and comfortable furniture. The view to the ocean from room 3 is lovely.

The inn's grounds are idyllic. The swimming pool and deck are small, but very quaint and ideal for a post-beach evening swim. The breakfast every morning is one of the best parts about the hotel... wonderful fresh tropical fruits, coffee cake, breads, cheeses and meats, fresh-squeezed juices. It was scrumptious.

Early March was a perfect time to be on the beach in Buzios, though it seemed that the town was shutting down a bit. All of the restaurants were open, but the inn staff could not find a yoga class for me (and I would have loved if they tried a little harder). The nightlife was a little sleepy in early march, but that was fine with us.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndiForker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2007

This is a charming, clean hotel located just off the Buzios' Centre square. Some will be reminded of Swiss Family Robinson by the manner in which trees, foliage and rooms are designed. Mario, the Argentine proprietor, also runs the annual Buzios film festival. Look for the programs and pictures that dot the common rooms. The staff is EXTREMELY attentive. the breakfast was one of the better ones we had while in Brazil. We also had a great view of the water from our room.

Yes, we had a great time at the Pousada Vila Do MAr

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hankchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2006

I stayed at this hotel two summers ago. The rooms are the lobby are average, maybe there are too much plants. The people at the front desk is not kind, the pool is too little to enjoy it and almost outside the hotel. The location is fine but it is too expensive if this is the only point in favour.
You rather check on some other hotel, for example, Pousada Villegaingnon.

  • Stayed: January 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patoinesmoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2006

We stayed 11 nights at Vila do Mar and were very satisfied. We considered a number of other places and were happy to have chosen a location in the city. If you end up in Ferradua or Joao Fernandes you'll need to rent a car and will not have as many restaurants to choose from. Vila do Mar is perfect for families! Kids are welcome unlike at other more fancy places and you don't need two interconnected rooms as the apartment will accommodate a family up to five. We have three children and they enjoyed it as much as we did. The pool is small but most Buzios pousada/hotel pools are. Vila do Mar's atmosphere is wonderful and the restaurant is excellent - it's well hidden from the street but worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ncsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2006

For the price compared to other similar pousadas in Buzios, I thought the Vila do Mar was fantastic. Stayed for three days having come from the UK for a week and I was glad to have done my research and found this little gem!

The location is brilliant, right next to the main street but very quiet and seems very secluded when you go inside the gates. The rooms are gorgeous with a sort of treehouse feeling with low ceilings and steps up to the rooms. Even my standard room had a sitting area and balcony. Not five star by any stretch of the imagination but for a romantic weekend, privacy and location I thought the Vila do Mar was great.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
221
Reviewed 18 August 2005

There are definitely fancier places to stay in Buzios, but this spot can't be beat if you're looking for close proximity to Rua das Petras with its various restaurants and bars. Rooms are simple and a bit on dark, but definitely satisfactory and the pousada has a nice "jungley" feel to it.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2005

I have stayed at this pousada twice in the past and have had a great experience both times. It's a great pousada for people that want to be near the night life of Buzios as it is located basically at the end of the pedestrian street 'Rua das Pedras'. This is the commercial street with lots of shops, restaurants, bars etc. The pousada is on the street that ends at the pier.

The pousada is nice and clean but nothing out of this world. I highly suggest couples to request rooms 1, 3 or 5 as they are nice rooms with a great view out over the harbor. These rooms have a living area with a bar separated from the bedroom. Nice queen size bed in the bedroom with A/C window unit. Breakfast is included and is nice as they generally will prepare what you would like (within the typical scope of a Brazilian breakfast). Not a really big place so maybe not a place for a group.

One thing to keep in mind, though, is that as this hotel is in the middle of all the nightlife, don't be surprised if the sound of the nightlife continues late into the night and early morning hours. If you are looking for a nice quiet holiday, this may not be the pousada for you. However, in the bedroom with the window A/C unit on, the sound emanating from the streets really isn't too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JohnnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
City Center
El Parador Pousada
El Parador Pousada
#48 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
335 reviews
Casa da Pedra
#75 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
92 reviews
Perola Buzios Hotel
#16 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Tao Bar & Pousada
Tao Bar & Pousada
#89 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
105 reviews
City Center
Hotel Doce Mar
Hotel Doce Mar
#60 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
114 reviews
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Vila Do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vila Do Mar

Address: Travessa dos Pescaodres 88 | Centro Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £59 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Vila Do Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Pousada Vila Do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Vila Do Mar Hotel Buzios
Pousada Vila Do Mar Buzios
Pousada Vila Do Mar Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing