We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barla Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barla Inn
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Good simple accommodation and friendly staff. Well located nothing to complain nor to get crazy about... we could have enjoyed wifi in the room but only available near reception. It s globally ok for the price we paid.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cdvvdn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    80
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
84
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The location was excellent - not too far from the main drag of restaurants and bars (5 mins walk) but not too close for the noise etc. It was across the road from a beach (not the best beach to go to but nice all the same). There was a free minibus that would take you and collect you from a number of lovely beaches around Buzios at various times throughout the day. The breakfast was good - a nice selection of bread rolls, melon, cheese and ham and fresh juices as well as tea and coffee - all very fresh and plentiful. Showers were nice and hot and it was nice to have pool on site.

We had pre-arranged and had email confirmation of a pick up from the airport. However, when we arrived there was noone to pick us up. We tried calling the hotel but the man on the desk did not speak English. The options were a 200brl taxi or a bus 7 hours later (6am from Rio). When we arrived there was no apology and no forthcoming compensation/explanation - very annoying. This was rectified after we asked to see the manager (we were not charged for the night). Staff were friendly enough but were not concerned with giving any local information etc. One of the receptionists did speak some English but he wasnt always around. Air conditioning was good but very noisy so pack your earplugs! Overall this was not a value for money Pousada - overpriced to say the least.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool/breakfast area as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesEdwards9114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in room 04 at the Barla Inn. It could be termed a guest house, with some aspects being three-star quality and others two-star (two and a half stars, perhaps?).
To start with, the location is excellent if you do not like to climb up and down the hills of the Buzios peninsula to get a meal. It is located about 300 yards from the centre of Buzios, i.e., the approximately 8 blocks of shops and restaurants that make up the commercial area. The beach is round the corner, a 2 minute walk away. And it is in a residential neighbourhood, with wall-enclosed mansions which have direct exits to the beach. This means that it is not a crowded tourist beach because there are no hotels other than Barla Inn. From this beach (called praia do Canto) you can view the Armaçao beach and the tourist and fishing boats in the distance.
The Inn is a Pousada, which means that it does not have hotel services like restaurant or room service. In fact, you cannot even get a cup of coffee outside breakfast hours. But it does have a bar and you can get a cold drink.
The Inn has a two-storey main building with four rooms on the upper floor. We chose the standard room on this upper floor, for U$S 92 a night. It was rather small, with a window looking on to the swimming pool and the four other buildings housing guest rooms, plus a nice view of the neighbouring hills. The bathroom also had a window looking out.
The room itself was OK. The queen sized bed was two twins pushed and locked together but the mattresses were firm and comfortable. Instead of night tables, there was a thick wood board behind the bed, on which one bed lamp was placed.
There was a minifridge, a 14" TV mounted on the wall (yes, it was very difficult to see much on it), a safety box jutting out of the wall (but you had to pay an extra 2 US dollars per day to get the lock and use it) and a wooden cabinet four feet high for storing clothes. And that was it: no chair, no table, no dressing table, no closet. Just enough for a short stay.
As it was not really that hot we did not use the air conditioning. The bathroom was adequate, large, with a beautiful wood sink board. The water is cold, but there was an electric shower (which died when the power went down on our last night: we had to shower with cold water). The weather seems to be very damp, and you could tell from the mold on the ceiling and in the soap holder in the shower.
Breakfast was very good, providing smoothies (pineapple, goiaba) instead of artificial juices, plus freshly baked cake, fresh cheese, ham and cheese slices, a bar of goiaba jam, and the usual local fruits: melon, watermelon, papaya. On the last three mornings, when most of the rooms were taken, there were also scrambled eggs. That was more than we expected.
As to the staff, most contact was with the reception staff: three people doing 8-hour shifts. They would greet guests, do the check-in, hand in and receive keys, book tours, handle minor repairs, serve beverages, and in general see to anything you might need. The three we met really were efficient and most welcoming. As an example, when we arrived we noticed that the sink was clogged, so we let the man at reception know. The following day, when we returned, he had forgotten to let the maintenance people know about it, so he came up himself with a set of tools, unscrewed the whole drainage pipe, took it away, cleaned it, returned and fastened it back in place. I wonder if you get such efficient service at many a 4-star hotel.
I would like to return to the miniature TV set in the room. There were only 2 or 3 channels available, but I noticed that the channels varied, sometimes by the hour. The thing is that there is a large TV set in the lobby and it is here that the three channels are picked. The receptionist has the remote for the cable TV in the lobby, and according to request chooses the three channels that will be viewed in all the rooms. For example, one night I was watching a movie in English with subtitles in Portuguese when all of a sudden the image disappeared and was replaced by Tom & Jerry cartoons. And I never saw the end of the film. Probably somebody had asked for a programme for children.
But the really exceptional plus that Barla Inn offers is its free minivan to the beaches in the peninsula. The minivan does not run on Tuesdays, but on the other days there are two alternate itineraries: one day it is Joao Fernandes and Brava beaches and the other day it is Geriba and Ferradura beaches. One day we took the van to Geriba at 10.20 , and at 1.30 we went to Ferradura, where we stayed until 3.30 and then went back to the beach round the corner of Barla Inn. You can do the same for the other two beaches, or you can choose to stay only at one beach per day. And the van runs every hour: to the beach and back. That saves a lot of waiting time and money (there are public buses but you have to walk to the interconnecting road and pay for the ride).
To sum up, we had a very pleasant stay because the location was splendid, the basic traveller needs (good bathroom and mattress) were met adequately, the breakfast was very good, the hospitality of the staff at reception was noteworthy, and the minor inconveniences did not deter from the enjoyment of the vacation.
One extra note to travellers: in July, the sun sets at 5 p.m.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3 rooms that are on the same level as the swimming pool because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argentine-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

This is a quirky inn in Buzios with an idiosyncratic style that takes you by surprise at first as it is unlike any place we have stayed. The staff are so friendly and try and speak a version of English but are so helpful. The inn is 50 m from the lovely sea and Buzios itself is well worth a visit. The breakfasts at the inn were simple delicious, home made hot steaming fresh cakes and loads of fresh fruit. The rooms are basic but clean and large. With so much in Buzios really expensive this is a real find recommened to us by some Brazillian friends who had stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.1 mi away
Pousada Barlavento
Pousada Barlavento
#48 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#38 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buzios Centro Hotel
Buzios Centro Hotel
#43 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pousada L'Escale
Pousada L'Escale
#42 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Vila Pitanga
Pousada Vila Pitanga
#25 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Tartaruga
Pousada Tartaruga
#68 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barla Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barla Inn

Property: Barla Inn
Address: Rua Maria Joaquina | 405 Praia Do Canto, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barla Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Barla Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barla Hotel Buzios
Barla Inn Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing