We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Brava, puzzled by bad reviews”
Review of Brava Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brava Hotel
Ranked #92 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the Brava, puzzled by bad reviews”
Reviewed 6 April 2008

I booked this hotel for my third trip to Buzios. I did not read the reviews on this site until after I had made my reservation and given my credit card information. After reading the reviews I started to worry. I thought I had made a big mistake. I headed to Brazil and made my way to Buzios and arrived at the Brava only to be completely surprised. Pleasantly surprised.

I liked the Brava and enjoyed my stay. I thought it was worth the money. The photos on the Brava's website were accurate (and I was greatly relieved). Our room was fantastic. We were in a loft so we had a bathtub, a balcony and satelite television with lots of channels to choose from.

The pool was nice and the lobby bar was very cool and comfortable. The service at the bar was extremely friendly but not fast. The design of the hotel is terrific and reminded me a lot of several Ian Schrager hotels I have stayed in.

After returning home I re-read the bad reviews on this website. I think I must have stayed at a different Brava. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return. I would recommend to a friend.

  • Liked — Style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JtCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    8
    15
    36
See reviews for
18
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

This was our third trip to Buzios. Everyother trip was fantastic. I was hoping that this vacation would be of equal quality to my past experiences. I have to say that I wish that we had checked this website prior to booking our hotel. The Brava Hotel gets an "A+" for the website design and the marketing. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we knew we had made a mistake. Unfortunately we were booked to stay at the hotel for six nights. The mildew smell through-out the property (they try to mask over the smell with an equally disgusting insense), the dirty furniture, the moldy draperies, moldy lamp shades, the overall lack of care and maintenance. The breakfast was inedibilble and repetitive - runny strawberry yogurt, unripe fruits, stale breads, process meats. The experience is 100% different from the images on their site. We tried leave the hotel and go back to the Casa Brancas where we had stayed in the past but the hotel would not credit us. We ended up leaving two days early because we just couldn't take it one more day. This is a far cry from the luxury and images described on their website. The Brava Hotel - ruined our vacation. Finally we checked out and went to Rio and stayed at the Copacabana Palace and we were delighted that we left. I am only disappointed that we didn't leave earlier.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYorkFashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Armacao dos Buzios hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2008

I stayed in this hotel in Febraury, and before posting my review I read what others where saying and I agree ,some parts are true.

I´ve been to Brazil many times, and in coastal towns like Buzios, the typical brazilian lodging is the pousada.In my opininon, this is a pousada that tries to pass as a hotel.So, don´t expect to have a hotel like service or accomodationes

.It's a romantic pousada, with a modern design, I'd recommend it , but have in mind that it won´t be like a 4 or 5 star hotel.

The room is spacious, with a confortable bed, the TV doesn´t have much channels, and the view from the superior rooms is great.The bathroom, is normal but doesn´t have a tub.

I strongly recommend tha if you stay in this hotel, you rent a car, cause it's a little bit far from the restaurant area, about 15-20 minutes wlaking distance.Although, if you have energy you can walk, as a matter of fact, me and my girlfriend went walking.

P.S= Don´t drink water from the tap

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dojo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We booked two rooms in the Brava hotel after searching many websites. I guess you always have to have in mind that photoshop may be used in this type of sites. The website is totally misleading as it portrays a beatiful minimalist clean hotel with a beatiful view and an amazing swimming pool.

Once you get there you realize you are not getting what you paid for (this is one of the most expensive hotels in Buzios). The lobby stinks as well as all the common areas and the smell is disguised with incense, which makes it even worse. The swimming pool is very small, the white woden deck is dirty as well as all the pool furniture I would not sit anywhere in a bathing suit. The rooms are dark, which is totally absurd once you see the beaty of Buzios, the windows are polarized in brown and dirty, so is the floor. Everything was dirty and/or rusty. If you though the lobby was smelly this is even worse.

We had to spend the night as we were forced to pay 50% in advance, non refundable. We all slept in our clothes, put t-shirts on the pillows and sheets and had a bad night.

Breakfast was horrible and although they said breakfast was included, we were charged US$10 for a bad cheese omelette.

We were supposed to stay another day but off course by 8am we were ready to flee. They wanted to charge us but we were lucky enough to not give them a credit card when we arrived.

There are beatiful Pousadas in Buzios so please do not stay here. It is not worth ruining an amazing experience in a place like Buzios.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank CRPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

First off, I´d like to say that I am the biggest idiot for not having consulted with TripAdvisor first before staying at this joke of a hotel. After a night staying there, I went on to TripAdvisor to check,
and finally, IT ALL MADE SENSE. The only thing is I had two more nights there so I guess the joke´s on me.

In total, me and my family booked two EXECUTIVES rooms (R500 each) and
one PRESIDENTIAL SUITE (R700) at this dump so we were expecting something pretty nice. Plus, our idiot travel agent said this was the best hotel in Buzios. What a joke. One of the executive rooms they try to pass off was literally like walking into the servant quarters of some cheap hooker hotel. There were huge spiders waiting for us, mold EVERYWHERE and rust, grout, filth all along the bathroom floors and walls. I was so angry because the OTHER exec room was 3 times the size of mine (even though it was dirty too) and they were tryiing to pass that off as the same room type and rate!! The next morning, I woke up nauseous from breathing in all the mold, which worsens because
of the humidity. I complained to the staff - who just stared at me and
shrugged. I totally can understand what one of the other reviewers
meant. As for the Presidential Suite, it was a JOKE!!! It´s exactly the same amenities as a standard room except that the bed is on a loft
(10 steps up). They didn´t even think about putting another phone downstairs so everytime the phone rings, you have to run up to get the
phone. My dad eventually fell. I took photos of their bathroom as well
- oh my god - seriously, it looked like the septic tank accidentially exploded all over their floor or something. It was FILTHY.

I threatened them with photos of my room (because they speak for themselves) on the internet. they relented and put me in a standard room which had less mold but still, not worth the R500 I paid. On top of that, I walked in on them when they were cleaning it beforehand, and there was menustral blood spots all over the bed. I shudder to think that I had to sleep on that but they insisted there was NOTHING ELSE. The whole thing was crazy and I developed serious rage issues at this hellhole. I had to pay for this room and I don´t think there is a chance in hell that I will get the difference back. The deal is EVEN the STAFF KNOWS that this hotel sucks. they just stare at you blankly because they get complaints ALL THE TIME. I overheard so many at the front desk. Plus, besides two of them (who were arrogant), NONE
OF THEM spoke ANY ENGLISH. ZILCH. That is just unbelievable for a 5 Star hotel and for that kind of price we were paying.

Breakfast was a absolute JOKE. I have stayed at hostels that served better food than this. It was processed bread with frosted flakes and
a cup with pink nasty yogurt drink that wasn´t even edible. Oh, you can ask for eggs but OF COURSE, on that day, the car which delivered the eggs broke down so all the paying guests had to eat frosted flakes
instead. Yeah, as if there was no other way to get eggs - like what about from a SUPERMARKET 3 minutes away. By the way, don´t even think about room service - there were two items on the menu - some ham and cheese (probably left over from breakfast) sandwiches.

Also, there was no foreign exchange. You should have seen their face when I asked them to change some USD. It´s like talking to children. They were all really young and it´s obvious they have had no training before. The pool was dirty and service poor. The seats while upholstered in white PLEATHER, were filled with decomposing wood which fell out when we tried to lift one. Staff was arrogant and all hung out at the front desk all the time,instead of trying to take care
of problems which were clearly happening all over the complex. Porn was the only channel you can watch that was English speaking. It´s obvious that when they opened this hotel, they spent a lot of money on MARKETING like the website, logos, room door plaques with that pretty swirly B for Brava- but absolutley pennies on the rest!!! The place is just for SHOW and SUPERFICIAL. Seriously, do not stay here.
ANYTHING looks good if it´s in black and white and on a fancy website.
It was BY FAR the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in, including decent B & B´s and guesthouses. I will definitely upload all the disgusting photos when I get home to prove it. This place needs to be shut down if not for the public health issue (of mold) and the owners should gp BANKRUPT for this joke and for how much money they have ripped off guests already. I heard they are real [----] anyway and it´s obvious they have no morals by CHEATING money from tourists;

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank hl248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

After travelling around Brazil in large 5 star hotels, Brava hotel was a breath of fresh air. The rooms are uniquely designed as are the stunning common areas and pool. The service was great, Edison and Fabio were so helpful and friendly they made our stay truely memorable.

  • Liked — My room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Having read of this hotel in the Wallpaper Rio handbook and subsequently looked at the hotel's website, I arrived in Buzios with much anticipation, having spent three days at the brilliant newly opened Fasano Hotel in Rio.
I booked three nights in a "Presidential Loft" and was required to pay for the entire stay upon checking in.
Upon entering the room, depression set in and I spent the afternoon wondering how I would endure such a place for the next three nights !
I have looked at the photogrpahs displayed by the last reviewer and they sadly are indeed accurate !
I determined to stay the night and then look for something better in Buzios, or return to the wonderful Fasano Hotel.
The dinner in the hotel restaurant was at best, ordinary !
The next morning, I rose early, had an equally ordinary breakfast and packed my bags.
Fortunately, I came across Casa Brancas, which was entirely wonderful ! I immediately transferred and very much enjoyed the rest of a relaxing stay in Buzios !
In common with previous reviewers, the Brava hotel refused to give me any refund.(US$300 per night)............and even subsequently added to my credit card the cost of the 'dinner' !!
If only I had read these reviews before I booked.......................
As for the credibility of Wallpaper handbooks, it is back to Lonely Planet for me !!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Rickity57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.2 mi away
Brava Club Pousada
Brava Club Pousada
#53 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#20 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
#27 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ferradura Private
Hotel Ferradura Private
#18 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#26 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Praia Joao Fernandes
Pousada Praia Joao Fernandes
#62 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brava Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava Hotel

Property: Brava Hotel
Address: Rua 17 0 | Praia Brava, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brava Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brava Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava Hotel Buzios
Brava Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing