We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and good rooms”
Review of Pousada Byblos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Byblos
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at byblos as part of our honeymoon around Brazil (15-18th October 2011). We were a bit skeptical after having read some of the reviews here but we were delighted with the place. We received great customer service from the time we checked in to when we checked out. Joelson and the team at Byblos are realy friendly and personable. The place has a very homely feel and we loved our room which overlooked the sea and was located on the main street, very close to all the bars, shops and restaurants. I cant understand some of the other reviews as it seemed every time we needed something the staff were more than happy to help. We were very happy with our stay at Byblos and we cant wait to retun one day. Thankyou Joelson and everyone at Byblos x

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Byblos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

When we got to the hotel it looked nice, but as soon as we got our "luxury" sea view room we were totally disappointed. The view was completely obstructed with thick telephone cables and the bed was really hard. That night we slept terrible and at the beginning of the second night my husband was having back problems and our neighbors were shouting and we could hear EVERYTHING (the walls in this place are like paper too), so we told them that we wanted another room. Their most luxurious rooms upstairs were all under construction, so they put us in a lower room, a "garden" room that looks out to the parking lot, not the garden. We soon realized that OUR FIRST ROOM DIDN'T HAVE A MATTRESS!!!! This lower cost room did and that's how we found out the difference. We slept there and decided to leave the hotel the next day as soon as we found out that the hotel manager wasn't going to give us back a refund for sleeping in a lower cost bedroom and for charging us the full refund of many hundred dollars a night for already sleeping in a room with only the boxer and no mattress!!!! We had a huge fight with the hotel manager when they didn't want to let us go and still charged us for 4 nights (even though we were there 2 nights & then left). The manager didn't care that our expensive room did not have a mattress and we had slept in the boxer. That did it and we decided to cut our stay short at this place. DON'T STAY AT BYBLOS UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR VACATION TO BE A NIGHTMARE!!!!

Room Tip: Best room might be the most expensive, but they are all under construction in this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mduhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We went to Buzios as a family. We stayed in the small bungalows that the hotel has just close to the main hotel. They are really nice, have a small pool and have a small restaurant where we had a lovely breakfast every day.
Just be ware that buzios is VERY hilly, so might not be ideal with small children (we had 2 kids under 3!) or people with reduced mobility (check our ANGRA nearby) We took taxis or speed boats every day to different beaches, but those who are more mobile can take the minibuses that go round the place and are very very cheap.
Brasil IS VERY expensive (a single pizza was 20 euros!) so be prepared to pay just as much as in EU.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in Buzios for the Festival de Cinema, all my team stayed there and we had lots of different problems. They had men working with lots of noise during all the weekend, not all the rooms were ready when we arrive and they suggest to part of the team to go to another hotel because they had an overbook.Besides all that, the worst and traumatic part was that I had an accident in the sauna with a 2nd degree burn, it was pretty bad with a big blister in my leg and great pain. No one in the hotel offer me ANY help, even when I talked to the manager and the owner. They not even paid for the drugstore bill or offer to call a doctor. I had to come back to Rio fast and go to a hospital. DONT STAY THERE. There is a great hotels in Buzios like Perola, Casas Brancas and lots of others.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneOliveira77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

this was our honeymoon and it was unforgetable!!!, we had decided to go to buzios even though we were unable to get a package we booked seperates through sta, after a nightmare of swopped flights then our luggage lost by the air line we were welcomed by the friendly staff at the hotel and shown to a spotless, freshly painted room with a fantastic view.

the locality of the hotel is great, it is just 5 mins walk past all the amazing restaurant to the centre/pier area then past there are the bars. you can take water taxis from the pier to the neighbouring beaches, which we did every other day.

we loved the tranquility of it all but also enjoyed, surf lessons on geriba beach and snorlking in jose fernades beach. you can do as much as little as you like but best of all was eating out with all the amazing food, the options were endless and we never had a bad meal.

yes the hotel is small but it means you get to know all the staff and vice versa. very few staff speak perfect english but we mangaged just fine and they try! we brits need to acknowledge we choose to go to the most fantastic corners of the earth and expect everyone to speak english! even though it was not there responsibility it was them who spent hours and days trying to track down our luggage and emailing people whilst we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shandy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments and suggestion we are already taking care of this important detail to improve our quality service. Hoping to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We went to Buzios to atemd a wedding and stayed in Byblos as recommended by the bride's parents.

I think the hotel is cute..clean...and as some customer said the staff is friendly enough letting us having our privacy.

I also want to comment about the fact that part of the staff doesnt speak english.I agree that they should provide us someone to understand the foreigners but lets remember that once in US if the FOREIGNERS DOESNT speak their language...they wont speak the foreigners language too..no matter in what fancy hotel you are...

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

We are very happy to receive your comments, thank you very much for your kind comments, about your suggestions we are already taking care of this important detail to improve our quality service. Hoping to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This hotel has a great view but the room was small and the bed was extremely hard. I also had a pre-arranged reservation with a good price but upon arrival I was handed a guest registration form to fill out and was charged the usual security deposit to my credit card.
Upon checkout I was told I only had to pay for the mini-bar items and the rest was covered by the deposit. I found out three days later I had been charged the rack rate and the reservation was misteriously "cancelled"...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n87333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

We are already taking care of this important details to improve our quality service. Sorry for any misunderstanding, which you may be sure, are already solved. Hope to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
Vila D'este
#6 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
682 reviews
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#19 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
566 reviews
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#16 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Auberge de la Langouste
Auberge de la Langouste
#37 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
254 reviews
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#9 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
693 reviews
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#33 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Byblos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Byblos

Address: Rua Alto do Humaita, 14, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#35 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £87 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Byblos 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Byblos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Byblos Buzios
Pousada Byblos Hotel Buzios
Pousada Byblos Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing