We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Pousada Byblos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Byblos
Ranked #46 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Uncomfortable bed. Wifi wasn't available and there was no discount for the inconvenient. Near to Rua das Pedras, it is a good place for someone who loves night activities and commerce, anyway you could find something equivalent and cheaper.
Beautiful views, but if you want to enjoy the beach this is not the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mischie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

Location was very good, centrally located, close to Rua das Pedras. Friendly staff apart from Joelson who has no customer service skills. Rooms are expensive based on what they offer and compared to others in the area. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The best of Byblos is the staff. They were charming and incredibly helpful with us and our baby boys during our stay at La Pousada Byblos.
We are really thankful with all of them (Paulinho, Aramis, Felipe, all of them!).
The pousada itself is a very romantic place, the food is very good if you booked your stay with half board.
The location is great if you want to be close to the center of Buzios, but not so good if you want to go to any of the beaches (the closest beach is not nice to go to).
The only thing I would like to suggest is to improve the infrastructure and update the decoration of the rooms because it a little bit expensive (the cheaper room is 500 reales per night, that would be 200 USD aprox).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbkiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is one of the best "posadas" in Buzios. It is located at walking distance of the center of rua das pedras shopping and also from beautiful beaches like Azeida and Brava. The personel are nice, there is a small swimming pool where you can enjoy a caipirinha prepared right there.
The bad: internet broke and it took 3 days to repair (it seems like they didn't care much). We were expecting a room like the ones that appear in the web site but we were informed that those were "luxury class rooms" and ours was just regular. Our room was relatively small and there was no much space to put you clothes (we kept them in the suitcases)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The staff at the Pousada Byblos made our stay very memorable!

We arrived at the hotel on a very rainy day, and although our travel agency had promised us an upgrade when we got to the hotel, no one had been advised of that. Despite of that, the staff at the Byblos gave us a room with a sea view. The first night there was a lot of noise, as we were right next to the door where all guests come in late at night, so the next day we asked to be moved and they did that straight away. We got such a lovely room with an impacable sea view and the rest of our stay was very nice.

The waiters, waitresses, bartenders, receptionists, housekeeping all made sure that our stay was good and they are all very kind. The breakfast is nice and quite, and the pool was very good as well. They make the best juices and do their utmost to ensure that there guests are satisfied at all times.

If there is one thing that we could suggest to the hotel, it would be that they get more staff that speak english and that their menus are in english. I speak spanish, so I didn´t have difficulties communicating with them, however my boyfriend doesn´t speak spanish, so he couldn´t communicate with them at all. We have suggested the hotel to make menus in english - even I had difficulties understanding it.

Another thing is that, there was noise in the early morning from young people partying, shouting and hearing loud music in their cars at 6-7 am! Although we´re young and lively, we wanted to be able to sleep until at least 8-9 am.....just be aware of that, if you get a sea view room :)

All in all a very very nice stay and the best attentive staff (especially in the reception - Joel and another very nice guy), and this is taking into account that I have been in the hotel industry for five years around the world!

Thank you Pousada Byblos :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at byblos as part of our honeymoon around Brazil (15-18th October 2011). We were a bit skeptical after having read some of the reviews here but we were delighted with the place. We received great customer service from the time we checked in to when we checked out. Joelson and the team at Byblos are realy friendly and personable. The place has a very homely feel and we loved our room which overlooked the sea and was located on the main street, very close to all the bars, shops and restaurants. I cant understand some of the other reviews as it seemed every time we needed something the staff were more than happy to help. We were very happy with our stay at Byblos and we cant wait to retun one day. Thankyou Joelson and everyone at Byblos x

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

When we got to the hotel it looked nice, but as soon as we got our "luxury" sea view room we were totally disappointed. The view was completely obstructed with thick telephone cables and the bed was really hard. That night we slept terrible and at the beginning of the second night my husband was having back problems and our neighbors were shouting and we could hear EVERYTHING (the walls in this place are like paper too), so we told them that we wanted another room. Their most luxurious rooms upstairs were all under construction, so they put us in a lower room, a "garden" room that looks out to the parking lot, not the garden. We soon realized that OUR FIRST ROOM DIDN'T HAVE A MATTRESS!!!! This lower cost room did and that's how we found out the difference. We slept there and decided to leave the hotel the next day as soon as we found out that the hotel manager wasn't going to give us back a refund for sleeping in a lower cost bedroom and for charging us the full refund of many hundred dollars a night for already sleeping in a room with only the boxer and no mattress!!!! We had a huge fight with the hotel manager when they didn't want to let us go and still charged us for 4 nights (even though we were there 2 nights & then left). The manager didn't care that our expensive room did not have a mattress and we had slept in the boxer. That did it and we decided to cut our stay short at this place. DON'T STAY AT BYBLOS UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR VACATION TO BE A NIGHTMARE!!!!

Room Tip: Best room might be the most expensive, but they are all under construction in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mduhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#29 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,002 reviews
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
750 reviews
Brava Club Pousada
#59 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chez Pitu Praia Hotel
#26 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
434 reviews
Pousadas Unicornio
#28 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
522 reviews
City Center
Auberge de la Langouste
Auberge de la Langouste
#39 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Byblos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Byblos

Address: Rua Alto do Humaita, 14, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#36 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £89 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Byblos 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pousada Byblos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Byblos Buzios
Pousada Byblos Hotel Buzios
Pousada Byblos Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing