We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to our honeymoon!”
Review of Vila D'este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vila D'este
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at Vila d'este at the end of our 2 week South American honeymoon. The grounds are absolutely stunning, and the food was delicious. Breakfast every morning was fantastic with a great variety of foods. We also had dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant which was one of our nicest night's during our trip. The restaurant is small and romantic with one of the best dinners we've had. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. We especially loved David and Antonella! Antonella made us feel like we were staying with a close friend. She was so sweet and we had such a nice conversation with her upon check out. The hotel's location is also perfect with a very short walk to all the local attractions. The only thing that would have made our trip better was if the wait staff had been a little more attentive. They were great during breakfast, but while we were lounging around the pool they were very hard to find and were often clustered together talking amongst themselves. It would have been nice if they asked us if we needed anything. There were a few times where we wanted to order drinks, but they were no where to be found. One time we had asked for an umbrella and the man left and was gone for a half hour and never came back while we baked in the strong Brazilian sun. I also had wished they had tried to speak a little more English. We tried to communicate in Portuguese, but we don't speak it very well so it was hard to communicate. Also, there seems to be a shortage of chairs in the lounging areas. There was only 2 chairs in the prime area by the pool and one couple completely took over this area and would leave their things there after going back to their room for hours. There was room for more chairs in this area so I was confused why one couple was monopolizing the entire area. These were are only complaints. Other than that it was a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Loved the atmosphere in this small hotel, where staff made me feel very welcome from the first moment.
The small pool was unheated - a bit chilly in July, but ok for a refreshing swim. Beautiful sunset views over the bay from the warm jacuzzi.
The hotel lies high above the bay with direct access to Orla Bardot (ocean promenade) going down several steps through the garden. To get to one of Buzios' many beaches it's best to take a water taxi from the pier (~10 min walk). Car access is from the back of the hotel.

My room did not have Wifi, but the hotel offers free PC access in a small cyber room.

Breakfast buffet in the restaurant offers a good variety of baking good, fruit, etc.
I've had lunch at the hotel once during my stay - Bruschetta took a long time to arrive and the bread was hard, not toasted; Carpaccio was very good; the Fish & Shrimp main course was very tasty, but too little of the ginger sauce for rather dry couscous.
There are many tempting and/or less expensive restaurant alternatives in easy walking distance towards the center of Buzios.

Room Tip: the rooms vary a lot - loved the view over the bay from private balcony of #14 (see photo), although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This hotel is perfectly placed, on the side of a hill overlooking the bay of Buzios. Everything in the village is within walking distance, which is very relaxing.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, if a little haphazard at times. But it is very expensive indeed and for $500 a night I would have expected something a little bit more special.
The towels in our room were quite old - thin and no longer white. And then on our last day we got some really nice white fluffy ones. And if you want the hotel to organise your transfer from Rio, you need to give them 5 days notice.
But the breakfast is great and the view from the terrace is fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our stay in Buzios was fantastic. We started off in Rio for a few days, and then came to Buzious for our honeymoon. First off Buzios is a great town, and a place I would recommend to all travellers who are in Brazil . The staff at Vila d'Este are very friendly, all speak english spanish and Portuguese, and will do anything they can to help make your stay comfortable. There rooms are very nice, with good beds, and are very clean. The location is perfect, as you are about 150 metres from the pier and all the best restaurants, shopping, and nighliife that buzios has to offer. We would definitely recommend this to other travellers and hope to visit again one day soon.
There's a beautiful view of the ocean from their infinity pool that is great for sunsets.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the upgraded rooms, if you can splurge for the master suite you won't be disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILA_DESTE, Gerente at Vila D'este, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments ! They are really important to us.

We hope to receive you very soon!

Best Regards,

Thiago Azeredo
Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I traveled to Brazil for the first time a couple of weeks ago (Dec, 2012). We landed and stayed in Rio for 4 days. While it was great - there was no time for relaxing - there was just too much to see and do. So when we got to the small town of Buzios and then found that our new adventure was complete with the most delightful and quiet hotel we could not have been more grateful and excited.

We had one of the rooms over the pool (12). And it was perfect. The white certainly gives you a calm feeling. It was not the biggest and most luxurious we have seen, but it was super clean (and you know it always will be... being all white there is no alternative). The bathroom and shower left something to be desired, but you aren't there for the bathrooms. The bed was soft and comfortable. There was an awesome fan above the bed that we loved, however, to turn it on you had to give it a good hard tweak. So it was a bit in disrepair. The same can be said for the blue tiled pool. Some of the tiles are falling off. So while from far away it looks just incredible, there are some repairs needed to be made to make it perfect - as it stands it just feels a bit old. Sometimes the pool area filled up quite quickly and there was no room for us to sit out by the pool, but during the week we had it to ourselves - which was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful! Just a note on their child policy: we love kids but were so disappointed in Rio when we couldn't swim because of the massive game of Marco/Polo going on in their pool, so we were actually quite grateful that we were able to enjoy a nice quiet time at this hotel without yelling and screaming (there is a time and place and a honeymoon is not the time and place). I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is perfectly located.

Side Note: The "buggy" company recommended to us by the hotel really left us disappointed. The guy was very nice and spoke English, however the buggy we got had no power steering (not sure if that is normal) and the clutch, gas and brakes had no rubber on them. So driving it was very difficult and when we looked in other buggies they seemed to have both power steering and rubber pedals. I had a huge bruise on my shin from my foot slipping off the clutch at one point (rubber would have prevented that).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

What is homemade hospitality? I'm still not sure because to be honest I thought the service was pretty average- definately not bad- but I won't remember this place for the service. What I will remember is the stunning view and perfect location. The character of this place is immense- I love the door on the street- the staircase up to the hotel- its all very unique and beautiful. We had room 6 which tbh was not great- small and ha a view of a wall- but then again I didn't really care because the character of the place is so good. Maybe the room wasn't great cos the rate was cheap and we got last room. At risk of sounding fussy there were a couple of things which were a little annoying- e.g not having the grape variety on the wine list and the rated pool being surrounded by stones which were v painful to walk across - I just mention because it is so close to being a really great hotel. So in conclusion not perfect. It if I ever return to buzios I will be booking in again.

Room Tip: Don't have room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean180183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

From the moment we arrived at Vila D’est the hospitality and personal touch was very evident. We had spent the past 10 days travelling round Brazil and were looking forward to a relaxing end to our honeymoon in Buzios – and Vila D’est didn’t fail to deliver.

The room we had (11) had a lovely view over the bay, with a very comfortable bed. The room was very clean, had nice dressing gowns and also had pool towels provided, along with very fresh bath/face towels (an important need, sometimes overlooked). Breakfast was served buffet style in the very nicely positioned restaurant with an attention to detail paid to the food.

The staff from cleaners, bar, restaurant and reception we’re very polite, courteous and offered a very good service.

I could not recommend Vila D’est or Buzios highly enough, and if it was a European destination we would certainly be visiting it yearly.

There are 2 pools (one kept warm year round), and the view from the sun lounger is simply beautiful. Although we did not use the spa facility there were various massages on offer.

The positioning of Vila D’est is also a great appeal as it is perfectly positioned in Armação dos Búzios, with the main resort centre is less than 10 mins walk along the sea front away. If you are lucky enough to catch the fishing boats returning with their morning catch you will see sea turtles waiting near the pier to collect the off cuts and plenty of other wild marine life.

Room Tip: The rooms with a superior sea view are well worth the extra. Alternative there are a couple of execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILA_DESTE, Gerente at Vila D'este, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words !

It is very important for us to know that our service achieved expectations.

The best compliment for us is knowing that you will return. You are always welcome.

kind Regards,

Thiago Azeredo
Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#29 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#13 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
581 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
730 reviews
1 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#20 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila D'este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila D'este

Address: Alto Do Humaita, 11, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £136 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila D'este 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila d’este is an exclusive beautiful Italian-style property which enjoys gorgeous views of the ocean. It is full of charm and elegant touches, both in the public areas and in the rooms. Beautiful handcrafts pieces carefully placed around, creating magic scenaries.Only 15 individually decorated rooms’ guarantees a calm and relaxing stay. The Sunset Bar & Restaurant Egeo offers delicious Brazilian breakfast and Mediterranean cuisine with fine wines, as well as stunning sea views – perfect for an evening meal as the sun goes down. A romantic touch is given by candle lightening. Two ocean front swimming pools at different levels, one of them heated and beautifully shell shaped, with hidromassage area and connected with an ocean view steam. The fancy solarium is the perfect place to read a book while taking a traditional capirinha drink.Relax & massage lounge, that’s surrounded by tropical gardens, ready to offer several massage styles. Business Center with two computers available 24 hours with internet free.A delightful Master Ocean Front Suite with private Jacuzzi and fine décor; ideal choice for honeymooners. Vila d’este is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and shops of Buzios’ Rua das Pedras Main Street and the best beaches in the surrounding area are also within easy reach. One of Vila d´este highlights is its staff and service. Brazilian warm hospitality is a must here. A word to define Vila d´este would be LOVE. Love can be appreciated in every single detail and attitude, creating a smooth atmosphere. Facilities:Restaurant • bar & pool bar • lounge • sundeck • pool • heated pool • steam • massage lounge • free internet business center & wireless area • laundry service • local information & tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila D'este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila d`Este Hotel Buzios
Vila d Este Buzios
Vila D'Este Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing