We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the beach”
Review of Vila D'este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila D'este
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just a beautiful experience. The hotel sits on the side of the hill overlooking the beach. 2 pools one a little more private and heated both looking out to sea. Just great watching the sun set.
Quaint little adobe style cabins in a lush garden setting, very comfy beds. Good English speaking reception staff but lack of communication in the restaurant, although their courtesy and friendliness and willingness to please made up for it. Breakfast excellent, lunch and dinner good. Wine list needs to be improved for a hotel of this calibre. On several occasions they had ran out of wines we had chosen which for a small list was frustrating.Definately the best hotel we had stayed in in South America so far.
You wont be unhappy staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

I´ve been to Vila D´Este with my boyfriend and than with my family and had a great time both times. Very good location, walking distance from night life, restuarants and shops. Service was flawless and rooms are cute and clean. Pools are very nice and have a great view from the bay. The restaurant and breakfast are also very good, served in a nice area, also with a view. Overall a great place to stay. Would come back many other times.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool are more comfortable and great view, although more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is definitely one of Buzios' best hotels. Great service, staff that speak English, attention to detail, an incredible view across Armação dos Búzios, two pools, one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in my life - what's not to like?

We stayed in a room that was close to the front of the house. The bed was enormous and very cosy, and the room had a private garden area that we were grateful for, although it wasn't a particularly enticing place to sit. Of course, the comfortable, generously sized common areas made up for that.

The pools are great - there are two - one cold water pool with deckchairs near the bar, and another underneath the bar/restaurant with its own steam room. Actually, you could swim from the steam room into the outdoor heated pool - that's a great feature. The pool has views too. I spent many delicious hours there - a real highlight.

Overall, there's just a feeling of calm there. At night there's candlelight, soft music, a breeze blowing through the place. It's just a home away from home. It's romantic, private, subdued and they really pay attention to the details - very impressed.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, splash out on a room with a sea view. They are at the very front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was not the easiest place to find but once we finally got there, it was heavenly. When you get to the front, the hotel name is clearly displayed but I was initially confused because there is a large imposing wooden gate that hides the place. You just need to get buzzed in and someone will come help you with your luggage. It's quite a climb to the hotel from the back to access the downtown area, so if you have some bad knees, I would caution you about this.

The entire place smells wonderful. The staff tries to be really helpful. The rooms were nice as well, although we had quite a few ants that ended up on our things (we had to zip up our luggage at all times because they got into our clothes when we weren't looking). L'Occitane products can be found in the bathroom which is a nice touch! The wifi is not really accessible in the rooms and are only "ok" in the common areas. There is a business center where there are computers for your use (e.g. printing out boarding passes).

The only thing I was really disappointed about was the breakfast. For the prices we paid to stay at this hotel, I thought the breakfast spread was sub par. I was hoping for some more hot items besides the watery scrambled eggs, burnt bacon, and mozerella/tomatoes. The view from the dining area and jacuzzi is to really something to look at. Very picturesque.

Overall, I would stay here again! Buzios is a really nice beach town, very chill and relaxing!

Room Tip: We stayed in #8 and #7 which had 2 twin beds in each room. #8 even had a common area with a day bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

You arrive at imposing wooden gates and after a short wait someone arrives to let you in / carry your bags. Reception is small but there is a bigger sitting area and beyond a small pool and WOW ....... a view down into Buzios and beyond!!! What a place! The staff are wonderful, helpful and attentive - nothing is too much trouble. We dined at D'este our first night and dinner was excellent. Breakfasts though were to die for though and a seat with a panoramic view a must. Even the coffee was good!
Only 15 rooms here but at times getting a sun lounger became quite competitive with some folk laying out towels to confirm their booking post breakfast.
We were at D'este for several days and the elevator music became repetitive and eventually just annoying. If you can't play decent music, then how about peace and quiet?
The 69 steps to the road below Into Buzious was fine on the way out but coming home after dinner, they were steep!
The bedrooms were small, really small, but I don't think an upgrade to a front facing or suite is necessary. The room we had was spotlessly clean and had everything that we required, just that we couldn't always do the same thing at the same time (like get dressed in case you were wondering!) as space was very limited.
All things said, we would definitely come back here because the staff tried and succeeded in pleasing and the views were just fabulous. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our stay at Vila D'este was truly remarkable. We stayed in room 2, it didn't have an ocean view but was so serene and private that I'd highly recommend it. The service was also wonderful and the restaurant delicious. The ambiance and scents still linger for me.

Room Tip: Room 2 was large, private and very romantic! It was towards the back of the hotel, lovely for afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank workingmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Loved our stay at the Vila D'este! We were surprised by the Buzios area, it was sensational and very pretty and quaint! The hotel was fabulous and we had the luxury suite with our own spa on the balcony, with gorgeous views over the water! The room was huge, and very well designed, and the service of the staff was perfect! The meals were of a very high standard, and the atmosphere was very pleasant! A boutique hotel, with a WOW factor! Highly recommend, and even thought it was a 3 hour drive from Rio, we were happy we came!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and have the best room in the house! We loved it, and felt it enhanced our stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
973 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#11 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#29 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#15 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
230 reviews
1 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#21 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila D'este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila D'este

Address: Alto Do Humaita, 11, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £120 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila D'este 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila d’este is an exclusive beautiful Italian-style property which enjoys gorgeous views of the ocean. It is full of charm and elegant touches, both in the public areas and in the rooms. Beautiful handcrafts pieces carefully placed around, creating magic scenaries.Only 15 individually decorated rooms’ guarantees a calm and relaxing stay. The Sunset Bar & Restaurant Egeo offers delicious Brazilian breakfast and Mediterranean cuisine with fine wines, as well as stunning sea views – perfect for an evening meal as the sun goes down. A romantic touch is given by candle lightening. Two ocean front swimming pools at different levels, one of them heated and beautifully shell shaped, with hidromassage area and connected with an ocean view steam. The fancy solarium is the perfect place to read a book while taking a traditional capirinha drink.Relax & massage lounge, that’s surrounded by tropical gardens, ready to offer several massage styles. Business Center with two computers available 24 hours with internet free.A delightful Master Ocean Front Suite with private Jacuzzi and fine décor; ideal choice for honeymooners. Vila d’este is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and shops of Buzios’ Rua das Pedras Main Street and the best beaches in the surrounding area are also within easy reach. One of Vila d´este highlights is its staff and service. Brazilian warm hospitality is a must here. A word to define Vila d´este would be LOVE. Love can be appreciated in every single detail and attitude, creating a smooth atmosphere. Facilities:Restaurant • bar & pool bar • lounge • sundeck • pool • heated pool • steam • massage lounge • free internet business center & wireless area • laundry service • local information & tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vila D'este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila d`Este Hotel Buzios
Vila d Este Buzios
Vila D'Este Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing