We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Vila D'este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila D'este
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located for those who want to stay close to the action, shopping and sightseeing. the hotel is situated on top of a hill and access to the waterfront Bardot is easy but it is necessary to use a steep stair. This hotel is not recommended for people who have difficulty in walking. The jacuzzi is great with a magnificent view and the restaurant next door, very good. The hotel has several rooms that mimic bungalows, a village. This is a problem when rains. We recommend, but not for handicaped or older people.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    112
    25
    12
    14
See reviews for
44
496
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by Tessa Imagine Latin America and we couldn't have been happier. It was very quiet, romantic and the view was gorgeous. We booked a room with an ocean view on the recommendation of Tessa and it was an amazing view from our balcony! The two pools are nice and we never had to fight for a lounge chair. Breakfast was very good and comes with a great view as well. Our overall experience here was wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean - it's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

First time in Buzios, but I can say that Vila D'Este is one of Buzios' best hotels ... at the hill overlooking the beach, great atmosphere ... lovely time watching the sun set while drinking a caipirinha ;) ... The breakfast is very good, served in a balcony with a view. Definitely we would come back ....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBar_Ragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
409 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just a beautiful experience. The hotel sits on the side of the hill overlooking the beach. 2 pools one a little more private and heated both looking out to sea. Just great watching the sun set.
Quaint little adobe style cabins in a lush garden setting, very comfy beds. Good English speaking reception staff but lack of communication in the restaurant, although their courtesy and friendliness and willingness to please made up for it. Breakfast excellent, lunch and dinner good. Wine list needs to be improved for a hotel of this calibre. On several occasions they had ran out of wines we had chosen which for a small list was frustrating.Definately the best hotel we had stayed in in South America so far.
You wont be unhappy staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I´ve been to Vila D´Este with my boyfriend and than with my family and had a great time both times. Very good location, walking distance from night life, restuarants and shops. Service was flawless and rooms are cute and clean. Pools are very nice and have a great view from the bay. The restaurant and breakfast are also very good, served in a nice area, also with a view. Overall a great place to stay. Would come back many other times.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool are more comfortable and great view, although more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is definitely one of Buzios' best hotels. Great service, staff that speak English, attention to detail, an incredible view across Armação dos Búzios, two pools, one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in my life - what's not to like?

We stayed in a room that was close to the front of the house. The bed was enormous and very cosy, and the room had a private garden area that we were grateful for, although it wasn't a particularly enticing place to sit. Of course, the comfortable, generously sized common areas made up for that.

The pools are great - there are two - one cold water pool with deckchairs near the bar, and another underneath the bar/restaurant with its own steam room. Actually, you could swim from the steam room into the outdoor heated pool - that's a great feature. The pool has views too. I spent many delicious hours there - a real highlight.

Overall, there's just a feeling of calm there. At night there's candlelight, soft music, a breeze blowing through the place. It's just a home away from home. It's romantic, private, subdued and they really pay attention to the details - very impressed.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, splash out on a room with a sea view. They are at the very front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was not the easiest place to find but once we finally got there, it was heavenly. When you get to the front, the hotel name is clearly displayed but I was initially confused because there is a large imposing wooden gate that hides the place. You just need to get buzzed in and someone will come help you with your luggage. It's quite a climb to the hotel from the back to access the downtown area, so if you have some bad knees, I would caution you about this.

The entire place smells wonderful. The staff tries to be really helpful. The rooms were nice as well, although we had quite a few ants that ended up on our things (we had to zip up our luggage at all times because they got into our clothes when we weren't looking). L'Occitane products can be found in the bathroom which is a nice touch! The wifi is not really accessible in the rooms and are only "ok" in the common areas. There is a business center where there are computers for your use (e.g. printing out boarding passes).

The only thing I was really disappointed about was the breakfast. For the prices we paid to stay at this hotel, I thought the breakfast spread was sub par. I was hoping for some more hot items besides the watery scrambled eggs, burnt bacon, and mozerella/tomatoes. The view from the dining area and jacuzzi is to really something to look at. Very picturesque.

Overall, I would stay here again! Buzios is a really nice beach town, very chill and relaxing!

Room Tip: We stayed in #8 and #7 which had 2 twin beds in each room. #8 even had a common area with a day bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.0 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#8 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#12 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
732 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila D'este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila D'este

Property: Vila D'este
Address: Alto Do Humaita, 11, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila D'este 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila d’este is an exclusive beautiful Italian-style property which enjoys gorgeous views of the ocean. It is full of charm and elegant touches, both in the public areas and in the rooms. Beautiful handcrafts pieces carefully placed around, creating magic scenaries.Only 15 individually decorated rooms’ guarantees a calm and relaxing stay. The Sunset Bar & Restaurant Egeo offers delicious Brazilian breakfast and Mediterranean cuisine with fine wines, as well as stunning sea views – perfect for an evening meal as the sun goes down. A romantic touch is given by candle lightening. Two ocean front swimming pools at different levels, one of them heated and beautifully shell shaped, with hidromassage area and connected with an ocean view steam. The fancy solarium is the perfect place to read a book while taking a traditional capirinha drink.Relax & massage lounge, that’s surrounded by tropical gardens, ready to offer several massage styles. Business Center with two computers available 24 hours with internet free.A delightful Master Ocean Front Suite with private Jacuzzi and fine décor; ideal choice for honeymooners. Vila d’este is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and shops of Buzios’ Rua das Pedras Main Street and the best beaches in the surrounding area are also within easy reach. One of Vila d´este highlights is its staff and service. Brazilian warm hospitality is a must here. A word to define Vila d´este would be LOVE. Love can be appreciated in every single detail and attitude, creating a smooth atmosphere. Facilities:Restaurant • bar & pool bar • lounge • sundeck • pool • heated pool • steam • massage lounge • free internet business center & wireless area • laundry service • local information & tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vila D'este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila d`Este Hotel Buzios
Vila d Este Buzios
Vila D'Este Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing