We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had planned a longer stay in Rio but on the advice of a Brazillian work colleague we opted for Buzios and chose this location on the basis on TripAdvisor reviews.
Arriving early in the morning at Rio from Colombia our private transfer was waiting for us - this was arranged by e mail through the hotel (USD205 / R$400) and worked really well. The trip took about 2.5 hrs for the 180km trip.
The hotel is arranged on numerous levels and we had a smallish room just down from the main dining room, but it was perfect. Beds comfortable, aircon worked well and lovely view over the bay. The sheets and towels were 'tired' and needed to be replaced. The bathroom, whilst rustic, needed some work and some attention to maintenance / mould was required.
The staff were all very helpful and we managed well with our few words of Spanish! The day started with breakfast up at the pool deck which was absolutely fine for a small hotel like this one. We had lunch and drinks around the pool a few times and everything was delicious...the food service was a bit slow but we were not in a rush! The hotel has a shuttle to the beach and town, but we didn't use it and found it easy to get to where we wanted to go by foot. A word of advice - don't expect to find cash machines here and bring either enough local currency or USD. It is easy to change money in the town but the hotel will not change it (but usual credit cards are not a problem).
Down at the beach is a fantastic experience and not too commercial at all. We got 'free' beach chairs and an umbrella with the deal that we would have luch at the local restaurant - we did this and the food quality was out of this world.
We ate dinner once in the hotel dining room ( a Saturday night) where a fixed menu is offered - the meal was very good but we later found out that the starters, main course and desserts were all individually charged.
For those prepared to take the trip out here, it is absolutely worth it and this area is a gem (although we were told that in the summer holidays in Dec / Jan it is very crowded). Our car driver picked us up bang on time and dropped us at our hotel in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    198
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
120
448
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel is beautiful, nestled among the trees and located on hill in front of Joao Fernandes beach. The hotel is a little pricey, but all the good ones are pricey there, so it is not a big problem.
I stayed one night at the standard room, and one at the master suite.
The master suite is very big, comfortable, well equiped and it has an amazing view of the ocean. The standard room is good but not like the master suite is. The good thing is all the rooms have ocean view.
I recomend it for everyone who wants a romantic and relaxing experience at buzios, you probably will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardo602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great place - dont hesitate to book this. get a buggy for about £40 a day and you can get around easily.
Have a bus to center of town from hotel (5 minute drive away) 3 times out and 3 times back for free, otherwise taxi is 15 Real.
Pool is lovely and relaxing after a day out.
Go to Rockafish Bar too for lunch and reserve a bed - AMAZING FOOD and go for the starters!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc37s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at La Pedrera in August 2011. It was off season, but the hotel was still reasonably full.

We stayed 2 nights in the Master Suite, and loved it. The apartment is well decorated, the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom very spacious and well designed. We had a nice view from the ocean. The common areas of the hotel are also very nice, with a beautiful swimming pool. breakfast was very nice as well, with a variety of options. I didn't try the SPA, but my girlfriend likes it.

The only issue I would say was that hotel is on the top of the hill, so you need a car or the shuttle service to go to the beach. We didn't care about it, as we had a car.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caio_Grynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flims, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel has a great location on the hill. It's perfect if you like to walk, also up- and downhill. The decorations are bali style and during the day there is everywhere background music, like at a spa. Staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms and the bed quality is a good standard and quiet. Parking was free. At the moment, there is some constructions ongoing for a new pool area. But it's no problem for the guests. It's a nice boutique hotel, just right for a midsize budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This small hotel is really nice and quite...perfect for honeymooners or couple with small kids or anyone. It is located in the top of a hill so you have a wonderful view from the terrace. The rooms are very cozy and comfotables, the decoration is really nice. There is a spa, I didn´t use it but there it is. You have a beautiful view from the swimming pool.
The breakfast is very good. There are 2 small restaurants...I only ate in one and it was ok. We loved this hotel and the people is very nice in there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulianau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I got a 2-day stay at La Pedrera as a birthday gift and was ready to enjoy my first day of relaxation there when - surprise! - my boyfriend and I found out we were not the only guests in the room. In 1 hour we had to kill not 1, not 2, but 6 giant cockroaches that were walking all over the room and bathroom. When calling the reception to explain what was going on, all we got was a rather apathetic response, with the receptionist telling us that the maid (!) was going to show us some other rooms. We were taken aback by how unapologetic she was and thought that at the very least she should be the one showing us the other rooms. Anyway, off we went to see them, thinking it couldn't get much worse. To our complete shock, the room shown to us was half the size of the one we were staying at (and which was already paid for), obviously belonging to a different (much lower) category. When calling the receptionist to confront her about this, she said that the maid could show us other rooms (again, no apology). It turned out that the LAST room shown was of the same category as ours. After telling the maid that we would move to this one, I went to the reception to complain about how the situation was handled and all I got was the receptionist throwing her hands in the air saying that it was not her intention to mislead us... and that was it. After moving all of our things to the other room and waiting a good half hour till it was clean, our first day was completely ruined. Did I mention that we had to kill 2 more cockroaches in this new room? We didn't leave altogether at this point because the stay was a gift and we were willing ourselves to have a good time no matter what. On our last day there, I was asked to sign a receipt for a bottle of champagne they had put in our room as a gift (or to pay for our services as bug exterminators?)... the thing is, we never realized the champagne was meant as a gift, because it just appeared there without an apology letter or even a note. Even so, it is quite insulting to try to make up for a complete lack of basic sanitary conditions and extremely poor service with cheap champagne. Long story short: do not go to La Pedrera unless you get a kick out of sleeping next to cockroaches and being treated like crap. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nhamnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizVeron, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest

We begin to answer our customer´s opinions and couldn´t left you behind. We are so sorry that the stay at La Pedrera Hotel wasn´t as you like. But as you know our hotel is around of the nature, with a little forest. We have a good pest control and cleaning service, but sometimes the nature could send us a unwelcome visitors.

Probably our receptionist couldn´t said nothing because the language difference, and if wasn’t it we are really so sorry.

We always offer to our guest a champagne bottle or other free service, with a apologize letter. Never mind that we try to compensate what happen with a courtesy, because it wasn´t the intention, just would like to offer something to make you feel better for change the room.

How you can see in others customer´s opinions about Búzios we are rounded by nature and everyone know that is not so easy to be control of all it.

We guarantee that we are so critical in our cleaning service and we would like so much to receive you in other time, to give the treatment that you deserve, and have a chance to make better your opinion about our hotel and staff.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.7 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#4 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
941 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
676 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#23 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa

Property: La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Praia de Joao Fernandes 4 Cuadra C | lote 52-53, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#20 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#29 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pedrera Buzios
La Pedrera Hotel Buzios
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing