We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with an amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
“Small hotel with an amazing view”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We chose this hotel for a romantic weekend and we were so happy with our choice that we ended up returning the following weekend! The staff was super nice and friendly. The view (both from the room and from the pool & restaurant) is simply breathtaking. The hotel overlooks Joao Fernandez beach, which is 3 blocks away downhill (it is a little workout climbing back...) and is not far away from downtown Buzios (a 10-15 walk). The breakfast was included and was really good. Overall, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: The highest rooms have the best ocean views, but the stairs make you work out a little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lea11113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    197
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
118
445
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The location, the view, the impeccable cleanliness makes this small hotel a gem in Buzios. Perfect for a romantic getaway.

The terrace with the pool and the view on the ocean is an amazing place where to have breakfast.

Staff is very helpful and friendly and can help organizing activities.

Breakfast could be improved, but other than that it is an excellent romantic choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had planned a longer stay in Rio but on the advice of a Brazillian work colleague we opted for Buzios and chose this location on the basis on TripAdvisor reviews.
Arriving early in the morning at Rio from Colombia our private transfer was waiting for us - this was arranged by e mail through the hotel (USD205 / R$400) and worked really well. The trip took about 2.5 hrs for the 180km trip.
The hotel is arranged on numerous levels and we had a smallish room just down from the main dining room, but it was perfect. Beds comfortable, aircon worked well and lovely view over the bay. The sheets and towels were 'tired' and needed to be replaced. The bathroom, whilst rustic, needed some work and some attention to maintenance / mould was required.
The staff were all very helpful and we managed well with our few words of Spanish! The day started with breakfast up at the pool deck which was absolutely fine for a small hotel like this one. We had lunch and drinks around the pool a few times and everything was delicious...the food service was a bit slow but we were not in a rush! The hotel has a shuttle to the beach and town, but we didn't use it and found it easy to get to where we wanted to go by foot. A word of advice - don't expect to find cash machines here and bring either enough local currency or USD. It is easy to change money in the town but the hotel will not change it (but usual credit cards are not a problem).
Down at the beach is a fantastic experience and not too commercial at all. We got 'free' beach chairs and an umbrella with the deal that we would have luch at the local restaurant - we did this and the food quality was out of this world.
We ate dinner once in the hotel dining room ( a Saturday night) where a fixed menu is offered - the meal was very good but we later found out that the starters, main course and desserts were all individually charged.
For those prepared to take the trip out here, it is absolutely worth it and this area is a gem (although we were told that in the summer holidays in Dec / Jan it is very crowded). Our car driver picked us up bang on time and dropped us at our hotel in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel is beautiful, nestled among the trees and located on hill in front of Joao Fernandes beach. The hotel is a little pricey, but all the good ones are pricey there, so it is not a big problem.
I stayed one night at the standard room, and one at the master suite.
The master suite is very big, comfortable, well equiped and it has an amazing view of the ocean. The standard room is good but not like the master suite is. The good thing is all the rooms have ocean view.
I recomend it for everyone who wants a romantic and relaxing experience at buzios, you probably will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardo602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great place - dont hesitate to book this. get a buggy for about £40 a day and you can get around easily.
Have a bus to center of town from hotel (5 minute drive away) 3 times out and 3 times back for free, otherwise taxi is 15 Real.
Pool is lovely and relaxing after a day out.
Go to Rockafish Bar too for lunch and reserve a bed - AMAZING FOOD and go for the starters!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc37s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed at La Pedrera in August 2011. It was off season, but the hotel was still reasonably full.

We stayed 2 nights in the Master Suite, and loved it. The apartment is well decorated, the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom very spacious and well designed. We had a nice view from the ocean. The common areas of the hotel are also very nice, with a beautiful swimming pool. breakfast was very nice as well, with a variety of options. I didn't try the SPA, but my girlfriend likes it.

The only issue I would say was that hotel is on the top of the hill, so you need a car or the shuttle service to go to the beach. We didn't care about it, as we had a car.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caio_Grynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flims, Switzerland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel has a great location on the hill. It's perfect if you like to walk, also up- and downhill. The decorations are bali style and during the day there is everywhere background music, like at a spa. Staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms and the bed quality is a good standard and quiet. Parking was free. At the moment, there is some constructions ongoing for a new pool area. But it's no problem for the guests. It's a nice boutique hotel, just right for a midsize budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.7 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
669 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#25 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#15 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa

Property: La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua Praia de Joao Fernandes 4 Cuadra C | lote 52-53, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#20 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#29 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pedrera Buzios
La Pedrera Hotel Buzios
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing