We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property & views - problems with insects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I will start off with the positive, this is a beautiful property, with a beautiful design and setting that is perfect for a romantic getaway. Nice pool overlooking the beach, nice common areas and good service.

The room was comfortable with a beautiful view of the ocean. The HUGE problem we had, the room had plenty of cockroaches, when we first got it, we found one and thought well, we have the forest around us so is normal... after having to kill like 4 in a short period of time, we did not think it was normal. We called the reception desk and they told us it was normal due to vegetation, for us it was not normal... if this a problem, you make sure you fumigate properly and daily. They sent someone to spray the room and left the spray killer with us, which we used to spray some more.

We didn't feel comfortable leaving the door open and in fact, slept with the mosquito net just in case. Although the place was beautiful this was a huge disappointment and stress for us.

If they fix this place, we will probably think about it. Otherwise, there are beautiful places around there as well that may not have this problem.

Room Tip: Suite # 11 is the one we stayed besides the cockroaches, there are a lot of stairs to climb to the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 4 days at La Pedrera and found it delightful. The hotel is well situated, against the hill in walking distance to the beach and village, The interiors are airy, colorful and well designed with an easy flow from the indoors to the outdoor patios where you can relax on loungers and enjoy the view and the sparkling pools.

The hotel is neat and clean , with fantastic attentive, friendly staff and great food. Our bedroom was private and quiet , ideal for an afternoon nap.

We had a wonderful time at La Pedrera and I can recommend it with confidence.

Karien and Robert, Cape Town, South Africa

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPedrera, Gerente at La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hi!
Thank you very much for posting your comment on Trip Advisor!!
We are really happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in la Pedrera, we hope to have you back soon!
Thank you for your help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My hubby and I just spent 7 nights at La Pedrera and we loved it!

Our standard room was right at the top of the posada. Very clean, with an incredible view and large balcony. Yes, there were quite a few stairs to get there, but it truly wasn't anything to complain about, even after a few caipirinhas .

The staff was extremely helpful and answered our many questions about Buzios and the surrounding area. We especially liked Carol at the front desk, who went out of her way to make us comfortable. We only had one incident during our stay. One morning we woke up at 8.30 to a maintenance man hammering in the room next door. My hubby called the reception desk and the receptionist dealt with it immediately.

As for the food, the breakfast buffet had ample amounts of cakes, fruit, cheese and meats for any picky diet. Every morning they also had fresh orange juice and one other kind of mixed fresh juice. We had dinner included in the package we bought, so we ate all our dinners there as well (except for Sunday night when the restaurant closes). The food was once again buffet style. Everything fresh and a fairly large variety. Three or four salads, one pasta, one meat and either fish or chicken. If your stay doesn't include dinners the hotel offers the buffet for $55 reais. The staff in the restaurant are all very friendly, we especially liked Edson.

There are two pools in the hotel. One just off the dinning room with an incredible view and a smaller one towards the back. There is also a steam sauna and a hot tub, but I didn't find the water very hot. There are two or three little sitting rooms with comfy furniture. The hotel also offers a variety of books and dvds (not the most up to date collection, but many in English) for rainy days. For those concerned about wifi, it is free, but didn't work in our room (not a problem as we wanted to escape from our smart phones and laptops). The best connection seemed to be in the dinning room or around the reception desk.

One morning, we took an hour long yoga class offered for free and valiantly taught in Portuguese, Spanish and English. We didn't try any of the spa packages, but on our last day we had to check out at noon and our transfer to Rio didn't arrive until 15.00. The staff offered to watch our bags so we could use the pool for a few hours and then shower off in the spa. From what I saw of the spa, everything was impeccably clean and they had a hot tub with very hot water.

We found La Pedrera to be a very relaxing place. Perfect for our romantic vacation and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatalinaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very good value for money, quiet location up the hill with beautiful vuesw on beach rooms are
Large and clean, staff is friendly
If you come by car install the hotel on your preferred gps,
Close to brava beach too

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This is a really excellent hotel, particularly for the price. It is in a good location, only a 15 minute walk into town and a 10 minute walk to the beach (we didn't have a car and didn't need one with a good shuttle service run by the hotel at night and the easy walk during the day). The rooms are lovely, the view is spectacular and the hot tub overlooking the sea in the evenings is delicious - and breakfast is very good and with the beautiful view to look at. I would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very tranquil location in the hillside, with stunning views of the sea. The swimming pool and terrace area was peaceful and well maintained (although the jacuzzi only operates at certain times of the day). Good bar with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. The room was quite high up and therefore benefited from great views. The room itself was clean and had all the necessary mod cons. Walking distance from a couple of lovely beaches (and the hotel give you beach towels). Overall, excellent value for money and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PazJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely peaceful hotel within walking distance of Buzios if you don't mind a slight incline on the way back though there is a free shuttle from the hotel to the center of Buzios. Terrace/bar area has amazing view and you could quite happily just laze there for the day. We had an upper storey room with great view but when it gets windy it tends to howl up there!
The staff were welcoming and helpful with very good English
The room was adequate, a couple of minor details;for some reason the mosquito nets didn't cover the whole bed and it would be nice to have cushions for the chairs on the balcony otherwise it was comfortable.
Breakfast was good with range of fruits, juices,meats, breads and coffee, enough to get you going for the day.
Would definitely go back and hopefully next time test out the spa facilites

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keevaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.7 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#30 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
999 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#21 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Praia de Joao Fernandes 4 Cuadra C | Lote 52-53, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#21 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £97 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pedrera Buzios
La Pedrera Hotel Buzios
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing