We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming and not meeting expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Start with the positives. Fantastic views of the sea and surrounding area, good location to either walk into Centro or the local beach. Communal facilities also good and staff generally friendly although very few, if any speak communicative english. You can muddle through though and given we speak no Portuguese it's tough to criticise.

Negatives: if you're offered room 1, turn it down. It is not a superior room, in fact it is tiny and tired looking, the only truth about it is that it has a sea view. If booking on booking.com book a 3 bed apartment if you wish something of slightly better quality. We ended up in room 22, considerably better but also R$400 extra for 5 nights. It's decor was still tired and the bathroom felt dirty and could've done with being ripped out and replaced! Also dead mosquito marks all over the ceiling and mould around the shower seal and the bathroom ceiling. It seems the rooms generally need updating and freshening up. The AC was also above the bed and so room at night was either v hot or v cold.

The most disappointing aspect of the whole stay was the welcome and general attitude of the Alice (I assume she is the owner or manager). We'd had a long trip from Iguassu, there was a storm going on and we didn't even get a 'Hello' or a 'How's your trip' basic manners when you work in hospitality. Also on departure she wasn't even bothered to ask how our stay was. She wasn't necessarily rude, but lacks personal skills in abundance.

If it wasn't for the friendliness of the other staff I'd have marked it a 1, Alice really brings the vibe of the whole place down.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Nice spot in hilly Buzios. The room was clean, nice bali beds and sunbeds around the smaller hotel pool, with great view to the bay. Distance to city is a 10min taxi drive and to the first beach a 10min walk (but not the nicest one).
Hotel is offering a small and good menu card served at the pool. For the evening you can pre order a menu, which will be published late afternoon. Food is then pre cooked and ready at the time you wish to eat. After trying this twice, we went then always for dinner into town, because the food was sometimes cold, or flavorless or just low quality. Breakfast was ok, a lot of different choices, but also on this buffet little things were missing (butter, normal marmalade, fruits with flavor, every morning I had to ask for salt for the scrambled eggs...).
Overall I was not satisfied because of the lacy and helpless hotel staff...
For the money I spent ( incl. tripadvisor quality award 2013) , I expected more professionalism in this regard.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I admit that when you first arrive, the property is beautiful and the view from the pool is phenomenal. My husband and I had been looking forward to our stay for months but was immediately turned off and pissed the morning before our arrival. We had booked transfers through the hotel to go from Rio to La Pedrera. Well, the transfer company called Mister Tours never arrived and we were stuck in Rio on Christmas morning trying to straighten out our situation. 2 hours later...Monica from La Pedrera arranged for the bus company, Viacao 1001, to pick us up. It was a very comfortable bus ride but it was long (3-4 hrs). The bus dropped us off at the Buzios bus station as it does not drop off to the hotels. We were stuck again. No cell phone and no sense of direction of how to get to our hotel. We asked locals and they directed us where to walk. There was only one taxi operating in town since it was Xmas day. We were already annoyed with the transfer situation and didn't have much patience to wait for the one taxi operating in town. So we figured let's walk to the hotel. Walking with two luggages weighing 40 pounds each on cobblestone streets and up hills in 90 degree heat with humidity is not the business!! **Another tip: Don't travel on Xmas Eve or Xmas Day in Brazil. Most businesses are closed and even though you booked and paid for a transfer or tour, chances are the company will not show up to pick you up.**

So after walking for a little over an hour (it really isn't that far, but when you're unfamiliar with a place, the journey takes longer to get to), we arrive at La Pedrera. Still annoyed, exhausted and now drenched in sweat, we asked the front desk staff what happened. There seems to be no accountability taken by the hotel on our situation. At this point, there is no sense to argue with them. It was Xmas day and my husband and I were already in a bad mood. I just wanted to proceed with our vacation and enjoy Buzios.

We get to our room which seemed like it was at the very top of the property. Like other reviews mentioned, there is a lot of walking on the property to get to the rooms. The room had a gorgeous view of the sea, but the overall condition of the room seemed dated. The bathroom was definitely showing some wear and tear. We stayed for 5 nights and the housekeeping staff did not replenish the toiletries every day. The a/c is situated above the bed and though it was refreshing, it got cold quick since the air is blowing down to our heads. As a suggestion, the a/c should be moved to another wall in the room.

The breakfast is average and basic. This added bonus to the room price is a lifesaver in the mornings as there are no restaurants in immediate distance to the hotel. The complimentary evening shuttle to town was handy but the pick up/drop off times were not efficient. The shuttle consisted of a guy driving his own sedan shuttling guests between La Pedrera and the next door boutique hotel. Just be early to wait for him so that you can be one of the first guests to be transported to town. Otherwise you'd have to wait as he makes multiple back and forth trips to shuttle guests. His car can only accommodate no more than 5 guests at a time.

My husband and I had made deep tissue massage appts. This was a waste of money as our masseuse's techniques were not the standard of a deep tissue massage. I'd suggest to skip the spa and enjoy the pool if you're seeking relaxation at the hotel. We did like the pool and the enclosed steam room that's attached to one of the pools.

My husband and I noticed that the staff did not appear happy, especially those working at the restaurant. They seemed stressed and overworked. Overall, the service is poor to average and the hotel is showing signs of needing updating. The hotel is overpriced and it lacked the quality and service we were seeking.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Eves E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPedrera, Gerente at La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Madam
First of all we want to thank you for your comments that help us to continue improve every day.
Regarding your problem with the transfer, we also understand your anger and get back to apologize .
We required to the company but they never replied us why they dropped you there in town and not direct in the hotel as usual in these services.
We understand that you have not such contact with the hotel and the complication of December 25 was finished with your good humor and everything had been worse in consequence.
The discomfort is logical and it’s something that rarely happens. Because of it our management offered a discount on the service.
Referring to your apartment, and because of all the previous problematic we accorded a flat top category being that the purchase was in standard.
Concerning the hotel shuttle service is true that it is suffering inconvenient , also happened with the transportation to the city for some serious changes in the laws for carrying passengers recently implemented by the city hall.
We also strive to carry all our guests run out prohibition despite the circulation of the vans.
Referring to the relationship quality price, the Christmas and New Year periods are in high demand and there are some difficulty to work for the holidays so these rates tend to be higher than normal in all hotels in Búzios.
We read all the comments and we strive every day to take the best of them to improve our performance ..
We hope that despite these setbacks , we return to receive you in La Pedrera again offering the best service .

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I will start off with the positive, this is a beautiful property, with a beautiful design and setting that is perfect for a romantic getaway. Nice pool overlooking the beach, nice common areas and good service.

The room was comfortable with a beautiful view of the ocean. The HUGE problem we had, the room had plenty of cockroaches, when we first got it, we found one and thought well, we have the forest around us so is normal... after having to kill like 4 in a short period of time, we did not think it was normal. We called the reception desk and they told us it was normal due to vegetation, for us it was not normal... if this a problem, you make sure you fumigate properly and daily. They sent someone to spray the room and left the spray killer with us, which we used to spray some more.

We didn't feel comfortable leaving the door open and in fact, slept with the mosquito net just in case. Although the place was beautiful this was a huge disappointment and stress for us.

If they fix this place, we will probably think about it. Otherwise, there are beautiful places around there as well that may not have this problem.

Room Tip: Suite # 11 is the one we stayed besides the cockroaches, there are a lot of stairs to climb to the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 4 days at La Pedrera and found it delightful. The hotel is well situated, against the hill in walking distance to the beach and village, The interiors are airy, colorful and well designed with an easy flow from the indoors to the outdoor patios where you can relax on loungers and enjoy the view and the sparkling pools.

The hotel is neat and clean , with fantastic attentive, friendly staff and great food. Our bedroom was private and quiet , ideal for an afternoon nap.

We had a wonderful time at La Pedrera and I can recommend it with confidence.

Karien and Robert, Cape Town, South Africa

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPedrera, Gerente at La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hi!
Thank you very much for posting your comment on Trip Advisor!!
We are really happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in la Pedrera, we hope to have you back soon!
Thank you for your help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My hubby and I just spent 7 nights at La Pedrera and we loved it!

Our standard room was right at the top of the posada. Very clean, with an incredible view and large balcony. Yes, there were quite a few stairs to get there, but it truly wasn't anything to complain about, even after a few caipirinhas .

The staff was extremely helpful and answered our many questions about Buzios and the surrounding area. We especially liked Carol at the front desk, who went out of her way to make us comfortable. We only had one incident during our stay. One morning we woke up at 8.30 to a maintenance man hammering in the room next door. My hubby called the reception desk and the receptionist dealt with it immediately.

As for the food, the breakfast buffet had ample amounts of cakes, fruit, cheese and meats for any picky diet. Every morning they also had fresh orange juice and one other kind of mixed fresh juice. We had dinner included in the package we bought, so we ate all our dinners there as well (except for Sunday night when the restaurant closes). The food was once again buffet style. Everything fresh and a fairly large variety. Three or four salads, one pasta, one meat and either fish or chicken. If your stay doesn't include dinners the hotel offers the buffet for $55 reais. The staff in the restaurant are all very friendly, we especially liked Edson.

There are two pools in the hotel. One just off the dinning room with an incredible view and a smaller one towards the back. There is also a steam sauna and a hot tub, but I didn't find the water very hot. There are two or three little sitting rooms with comfy furniture. The hotel also offers a variety of books and dvds (not the most up to date collection, but many in English) for rainy days. For those concerned about wifi, it is free, but didn't work in our room (not a problem as we wanted to escape from our smart phones and laptops). The best connection seemed to be in the dinning room or around the reception desk.

One morning, we took an hour long yoga class offered for free and valiantly taught in Portuguese, Spanish and English. We didn't try any of the spa packages, but on our last day we had to check out at noon and our transfer to Rio didn't arrive until 15.00. The staff offered to watch our bags so we could use the pool for a few hours and then shower off in the spa. From what I saw of the spa, everything was impeccably clean and they had a hot tub with very hot water.

We found La Pedrera to be a very relaxing place. Perfect for our romantic vacation and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatalinaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very good value for money, quiet location up the hill with beautiful vuesw on beach rooms are
Large and clean, staff is friendly
If you come by car install the hotel on your preferred gps,
Close to brava beach too

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.7 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#19 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#29 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Praia de Joao Fernandes 4 Cuadra C | Lote 52-53, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#21 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £96 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pedrera Buzios
La Pedrera Hotel Buzios
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing