We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“slowness of the staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada do Corsario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada do Corsario
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“slowness of the staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was in Pousada Corsario with my husband one month ago.The location is very good,about 15 min.to the center of Buzios,near beaches :Dos Ossos, Azeda and Joao Fernandes. These beaches are small but quiet. We were there with the group(25 people) and the staff wasn't prepared for this at all. They knew about our reservation for months. Check-in lasted 2 hours. They should prepare everything(the list, keys,forms) before our arrival. The staff worked very slowly. You should be carefull with the woman from reception. When we asked luggage boy how much is the taxi to Geriba beach,he said that about 20-30US$,a few hours later the woman said that 50US$. Finally we went there for 2 reales per person by minibus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zurusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    95
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
84
109
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Family of 6 from Surrey. Loads of staff but very very poor service. Ideal location to relax, walk distance to town. A bit pricy. Hot pool is a good option for rainy days ........................................................................................

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Traveller051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I went to Pousada Corsario with my girlfiend for a weekend in August 2011, during winter in Brazil a.k.a. low season. Despite the fact that we had booked our stay with a huge discount cupon, the staff treated us just like anyone else, they were very hospitable! The place is beautiful inside with a garden, a small waterfall and lots of birds that make the atmosphere really great. The location is perfect as well, right in front of Praia dos Ossos, where you can take a boat taxi to other beaches around or you can take the van that passes really close to it to go anywhere in the city. It's a walkable distance to the city center and Rua das Pedras - on the way you'll find nice restaurants, stores and clubs you might wanna check. But the real best thing about Pousada Corsario is the staff! Not only they were always very kind and helpful, but also they went out of their way to help me find my wallet that I had lost in a tour they booked for me! I was already desperate when the Pousada's bellman made some phone calls and told me, to my relief, they had found it! I recommend Pousada Corsario to everyone and I will certainly stay there again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

It is a small hotel situated on the beach of the Atlantic ocean. It's very calm and beautiful place. The rooms are very comfortable. People from reception are very friendly, they helped me to send my carnaval costume from Buzios to Russia. We have a breakfast, I like it very much. And now I miss about watermelon's juice from Pousada Corsario. I recommended this hotel to tourists :))))

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronikaTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

I stayed here with a couple of friends and we returned very satisfied with our decision. The location is ideal if you want to rest, but if you want to have a good time there is also nightlife located near to the hotel. We stayed in a room with a good view and the rooms were always clean. I would highly recommend it to fellow travellers who wish to visit Buzios in the future... Greetings

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheMove84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

We stayed here for 3 days and were a party of 4. We booked 1 deluxe suite and a standard room.

-The deluxe suite was supposed to have a view but had none. While the pousada is on playa dos ossos, most of the rooms have no view, unlike 90% of pousadas in buzios.

-The shower and toilet in one of our rooms did not flush well, and after a 3 minute shower the water would back up and leave the entire bathroom puddled.

-The safe deposit boxes were old and rusty, and in one of our rooms it had to be replaced twice. They brought in a replacement the first night, but again this one did not work the second time we tried to open it.

-The place is also supposed to have internet access, as advertised, but this did not work in our room and we had to have one of the bell-boys come into our room for an hour and do some major tech work with the faulty router they had.

-The sauna was only open from 5PM-8PM every day. It didnt even have a functioning light bulb inside, making it very erie inside.

-The lady who was at the reception upon check in and check out (Marina), seemed more concerned with selling us on restaurants, tours and transportation arrangements than anything else. We had just arrived from Rio and were checking in when she asked us how much we had paid for our private transfer, and then offered her hook up which according to her was $20 reals cheaper. The way she approached this innapropriate and cheap. The same with restaurants - the couple of times we asked for recommendations she gave us a card with her name on the back (for us to hand at the restaurant) to this overpriced place called David's. She also tried to sell us on a schooner tour which seemed outrageously priced. Yet she was of no help in solving any of the problems I mentioned before. The rest of the time the front desk was manned by one of the bell boys, who while attentive visibly lacked training and pay.

Overall, the place lacks management and upkeep to let you relax like an upscale place should, which is the main point of buzios.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank misterop2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

Me and my boyfriend spend the new year's holiday in this wonderfull place! Absolutelly everything is fine: room, breakfast, location, facilities and infrastructure (pool, sauna, kids entertainment, etc)... Specially, we would like to say that the staff is perfect! Everybody is kind, very efficient and help you in whatever you need! Ossos beach is the best place to stay in Buzios: near everything but out of the crowded and noisy places of the center! The pousada also offered us a very nice dinner and party in the new year's eve in the Yatch Club of Buzios which is located in the same Ossos beach! If you are thinking in Buzios, stay in Pousada do Corsário!

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — internet facilities
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flavinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
La Chimere
#3 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
City Center
Pousada Byblos
Pousada Byblos
#37 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#21 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#9 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Pousada L'Escale
#46 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Corsario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Corsario

Property: Pousada do Corsario
Address: Rua Agripino de Souza 50 | Praia dos Ossos, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#25 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#28 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Corsario 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Com localizacao privilegiada, em frente a Praia dos Ossos e a 5 minutos da Rua das Pedras, A pousada Corsario, convida voce a descobrir os encantos que envolvem o clima magico de Buzios, o balneario mais famoso do mundo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada do Corsario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Corsario Buzios
Pousada Do Corsario Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing