We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Corais e Conchas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corais e Conchas
Ranked #14 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

It is a good choice for relaxing. My husband and I stayed there 3 times. The last one - our aniversary.
The service is great - you can get drinks and thing to eat by the pool.
Is is right by Geriba's beach and there`s transportation to other beaches.
Great for families with kids - there's recreation

Room Tip: the rooms behind the pool smell of mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadassa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I did not choose this hotel - we stayed here because we were in Buzios for a wedding and this was the pousada recommended by the wedding organizers. The location is very good, just a block or two away from beautiful Geribá beach. (The downtown restaurants, however, are more than walking distance.) The reception staff was friendly and accommodating, and upon check-in we were provided with converters, keys to the room safe, TV remotes, and door keys. The courtyard entryway to our little cottage-type room was charming, lots of greenery and flowers. But the room itself was disappointing - bed was not comfortable, pillows awful, swarms of tiny ants all over the bathroom, and everything looking a bit worn and run down. One of the other wedding guests also found the tiny ants all over her bed. I realize that insects are part of the tropics but I prefer not sharing my room with them. Internet service is free, though it was slow and intermittently not available. A hair dryer was provided but would only work in the bathroom outlet about two or three minutes on the high setting before shutting off. The room had a little private patio which we did not use because of mosquitos.

The breakfast buffet was nice - lots of fresh fruit, meat, cheese, breads, pastries, and beverages. We enjoyed eating breakfast in the lovely pool area at umbrella tables. One night we ordered pizzas, which were surprisingly good and reasonably priced. However, you cannot order a glass of wine - the pousada only sells wine by the bottle, which is pricey. Having never been to Brazil before, I do not have any idea how this hotel compares with others in Buzios and other beach resorts. I was told, though, that room and restaurant prices have increased dramatically in Brazil in the last few years.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here for three days and loved it!

Facilities
They have a kids pool, playground, art room, scheduled kids activities throughout the day, etc. It's also really nice for adults too. Beautiful pool (with an adult only area), Turkish bath, jacuzzi and gym.

Rooms
Rooms are a good size and nicely furnished. All rooms have a hammock and balcony which are really nice.

Location
It is a two block walk to Geriba beach, which is wonderful! To get to the downtown/Rua de Pedras area, you have to take a short cab ride (R$20/US$10) which was fine for us. Also, the hotel has beach chairs that you can just grab and take with you.

Staff
The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the staff that worked with the children. Most of the staff spoke at least a little english.

Cons
They provide towels for the beach and the pool and ask you NOT to take your room towels down. What they don't mention is that they CHARGE you for the beach/pool towels. It just shows up on your final bill. I find this a little ridicules considering how much you are paying for these rooms. Also, it's very dishonest not to mention the charges until the very end. This was the only thing about the stay that kept it from being a GREAT stay(5 rating).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It is a nice little place but NOT for the price you pay. But again, we found that prices in Brazil were completely disconnected for reality (and from the quality of service).
The 3 days we were there, the pool was closed, some problem happened. Workers were digging... it made the place not relaxing.
No apology, no discount were offered.
the staff is trying to help but not much else that brazilian is spoken.
The best thing about this place is the location: at a walking distance of Geriba beach, which is by far the best beach in Buzios: big waves, large, long beach, clean water, beautiful setting.
Breakfast buffet was good but basic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubuNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and baby boy (2 yrs old) and everything lived up with my expectations. The only downside of this inn is its location, however near a great beach (Geribá), is quite far from downtown. So, one should rent a car or depend on the shuttle service. Apart from this, Corais e Conchas is a great value, because the facilities are very good and there is a variety of choice to entertain kids, comprising well-maintened toys, swimming pool, movies, drawing/painting, games, etc. Not only it's great for families, but it's very nice for adults, because the hotel has a cozy décor and lots of plants and flowers inside. In spite of the small bedroms, all have balcony with hammocks. The staff is very friendly and the coffebreak is very good, although it's served quite late (it starts at 8h!).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janayna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Corais e conchas is a great option if you care about service. The staff is always ready to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The privacy you get if you book a luxury room with its private little outside terrace is worth the extra cost. The hotel is a natural choice if you have small children. During the high season there's daily entertainment for them.

Room Tip: Standards are good value. I prefer the luxury ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlorCaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Used to travelling to quality resorts in South East Asia I was surprised at the high costs of the small posadas in Buzios, not many of them convinced us and we selected Corais e Conchas because it had by far the best reviews and was one of the few with children facilities in Buzios.

It was an excellent choice, definitely Excellent for Buzios standards. Although the rooms are a bit small and have only showers, they were comfortable and well maintained considering that our children continually entered wet and full of sand.

The pool area and the bar were very relaxing, the lunch and dinner menus very good value, so we spent many evening just relaxing with Capirinhas while the kids run around in the kids area.

The kids area was very good with many toys, some in great and some in not so good conditio, but the kids house and slides was very good, toys room, art room, ping-pong and metegol. Nick, kids entertainer while we were there, was very patient and very active with the kids, my kids loved playing with him and he made an admirable effort.

The posada has some beautiful corners to sit and relax, have a drink or read. The people and service was very good all round and the place is taken good care of and very pleasant.

Geriba Beach is about 300 mts away, which is in my taste the best beach in Buzios. I prefer wide beaches with waves to small secluded and calm beaches, but if secluded is what you want you can walk about 15-20 minutes by Geriba and get to Ferradurinia.

Overall, if you planning to be in Rio and then want to relax a few days in Buzios I would definitely recommend Corais e Conchas, specially with kids.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms behind the reception and the pool and depending on budget I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngutierrez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.8 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#20 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#22 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
596 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
#29 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
528 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#31 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,017 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#12 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corais e Conchas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corais e Conchas

Address: Rua dos Corais 15 | Geribá, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Luxor Corais e Conchas)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#23 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £79 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corais e Conchas 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dear, good afternoon.Please, let me change the picture page of my hotel Corais e Conchas. The current photos of my page do not correspond with the current infrastructure of the hotel. Is causing me problems. I need help urget. Send to you the correct picture. Thanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corais e Conchas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corais e Conchas Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing