We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice and Priceless View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baia do Joao Pousada
Ranked #65 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Nice and Priceless View”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little hotel with the most amazing view of water, beach and hills. Clean, comfy room with TV, big shower, large patio and a good bed. Super friendly staff, tasty breakfast, good food, drinks, pool, parking... Highly recommended!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mischa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    41
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
107
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here for a weekend in early January. A friend and I shared a room on the top floor and another friend and her husband stayed on the ground level. It was a really lovely little place with amazing views. It's totally worth paying up a bit for the top floor. Our friends' room downstairs was fine, but ours had a balcony with a really spectacular view that made the trip. We're New Yorkers and pretty picky, and we were all really happy with the place.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElanaT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDJINSTITUCIONAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in our simplicity and traditional feel, true to the real Buzios style. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The rooms are NOT AS ADVERTISED!!!

We've were in Buzios for 4th of July. After reviewing the review from the airline pilot that stayed there for 8 nights in January, I figured that it was a good place to stay, what a mistake.
First of all... I learned with tripadvisor and booking.com that if the place doesn't have a 90% and above rating it's probably not to "American standards". This place certainly wasn't.
Yes, the lobby and the pool have a nice view, but that's about it. Unless you're looking to sleep out there. The rooms are NOT AS ADVERTISED!!!

Hotel room was infested with insects -ants, cockroaches, and other bugs. Room was in the basement of hotel and smelled moldy. We were offered a different room that was worse than the first, even the attendant agreed. We returned to the lobby and requested a refund from the prepayment made. After 2 hours of dealing with the hotel owners, expedia.com, and booking.com, hotel finally agreed to refund the full amount. After closer review, they only refunded one night. I'm currently disputing this through my credit card. They lied about the full refund, only returned one night.

**It's also true, that in order to get that view of the pool, the pousada is on top of a hill, if you're not in shape, I'd suggest looking elsewhere. I've ran marathons and it's not for the faint at heart. It's also a 30 minute walk from the center of town, and although Buzios was pretty safe, you'll be walking away from everything and through dark streets to get here.

We ended up staying right down the street at Rio Buzios, it was 2X as much, but WELL WORTH IT.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ezra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDJINSTITUCIONAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret not to have been able to satisfied your request of changing to an see view room because we were booked-out. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at this Pousada for 8 nights in January. I am an airline pilot so I travel for a living. This is one of my favorite places that I have ever stayed. A beautiful Pousada with an incredible view, meticulously maintained, and very friendly staff and owners. The owner Ricardo is a great host and makes you feel like you are part of his family. The breakfast is great, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. On a scale of 1-10 I would rate this place as an 11. We will definitely return, this will be our only place to stay in Buzios for years to come.

Room Tip: Bring comfortable walking shoes if you don't bring a car. It is not far from the beach but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatha1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Like most others, we enjoyed our our week. Buzios is a great place, and like other such resorts, there is a wide range of accomodations from quite basic to uber luxe. This hotel is moderately priced for Buzios, you get a great view of the bay from atop a hill, a nice sized pool, a very warm, personable staff, especially Ricardo the owner who speakes English and Spanish and Italian if you don't speak Portugeuse. The rooms are a bit small, basic, but did you come to Buzios for sun, beach and milieu, or to spend time in room? Similarly, there is a breakfest, but not a 20' buffet with 30 selections. All in all we recommend the place highly, but note 2 caveats. It is up on a hill, reached from another hill so be prepared for some uphill walking. Secondly, taxi service is not reliable, but that is not the fault of the hotel. Enjoy Buzios.

Room Tip: Spend a little more, get the sea view rooms on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagofoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We found this place ourselves and went personally to book as we were loving Buzios so much that we changed our plans and needed two extra nights! As we were travelling with a teenager we needed a bit of space for us all. In the previous hotel we were cramped but here we had basically joining rooms and were much more comfortable. The staff, were friendly and helpful. Breakfast simple but good enough. Loved the location and its fabulous views. It has a real guest house feel about the place and a lovely touch is the chess board out in the lobby area. Great pool with awesome views. Clean and well cared for. The only wierd thing was the locking of the doors all through the day. We always had to ring the bell to get the door opened. Maybe they should give guests that key too. Loved the place though and Buzious itself is not to be missed if you are staying in Rio take the time and go there!

Room Tip: All the front rooms have good seaviews. However we had a garden room with private terrace and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballenabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed 10 nights at the hotel in April 2012 in one of the Seaview rooms were more than happy with the overall experience. Like every hotel there are positives and negatives but we felt the good things greatly outweighed any of the bad. In terms of the good things the views from the seaview room are amazing! You have a little balcony over looking the bay and beach and also the downstairs pool which is good to interchange with the beach. The rooms are clean and neat, although not sleek or modern they are comfortable and have all you really need. The Air Con is new, quiet and works well, the pillows weren't overly comfortable but the linen was clean and changed daily during our stay as were the towels when the room was cleaned. You have wifi in the room and throughout the lobby/entrance area although the connection is not the strongest from some parts of the room but it works absolutely fine. We were able to Skype home whenever we needed to. There is also a flatscreen TV in the room with hundreds of cable channels, lots of english movies too, and a minfridge with cheap beers, water etc.
Breakfast was always fresh and nice. Its not a buffet, instead you get your own service of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, assortment of breads and jams plus ham and cheese. There is a homely feel to the place as if you are staying at someone's house, in fact I think a lot of the guests actually knew the owner.
It's close to Praia João Fernandes (150m) and the walk although challenging is the little bit of exercise you need after spending the day doing nothing but laying on the beach. The hotel provides beach towels when needed. Its only a 15 -20 mins walk to the centre of town too.
Staff were lovely and attentive and helped us when we asked for anything. The only slightly uncomfortable thing is that they lock the door every time you leave so you always need to annoy one of the staff to be able to get back into the hotel. But at least it means its secure. The staff understand/speak Spanish and the owner speaks fluent English.
The only bad thing was a slight odour coming from the plumbing in the shower, but we think this is common issue in Brazil as we had a similar problem in our hotel in Rio.
All in all we would definitely recommend staying here and would consider this place again when we come back to Buzios, we will definitely be back we loved Buzios! Its very close to what we condsidered to be the best beach in Buzios and was very good value for money. We paid around $150 AUD (300 Real) a night. Recommended.

Room Tip: Def go for the seaview room. Fitness centre/spas werent terrible, they just didnt have either
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTandKZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.1 mi away
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
#36 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
#41 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ville La Plage
Hotel Ville La Plage
#28 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
#29 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia do Joao Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia do Joao Pousada

Property: Baia do Joao Pousada
Address: Rua das Palmeiras 32 | Joao Fernandes Beach, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baia do Joao Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a highly privileged position less than 100 yards above the "Joao Fernandes Beach", with a fine panoramic view of the area. Offers one of the best accommodations in town, benefit from a full direct ocean view and balcony-terrace. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Baia do Joao Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia De Joao Pousada Buzios
Baia Do Joao Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing