We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baia do Joao Pousada
Ranked #65 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This place is a gem! The view to the beach and to the ocean is so beautiful! The room was simple but clean, the patio with a nice hammock was really big. The location was perfect at least for us, it's on a peaceful spot on the hill but within easy walking distance to the town. The closest restaurants start only after a few minutes walk and the Rua las Pedras is about a 25 min walk along the pretty walkway right by the water. The beach is right in front of the hotel, you only need to take some steps down the hill. And the hotel pool area is also really nice, with a great view overlooking the beach and the ocean. The lounging chairs on the pool were super comfy.
The owner Ricardo was very attentive and friendly. He also helped organize the transportations for us in advance, which was helpful as we don't speak Portuguese.
Me and my husband had great time and we can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

This is not a hotel-boutique, and not your place, if you are looking for sofistication. It is a simple, clean, confortable and familiar inn. Very well located, in a peaceful region, silent nights, but it´s not too far from the buzy Rua das Pedras, wich ones can reach into a 30 minute walk. And its worthy each cent I payed for.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jotamarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Do not belive what you see on those pictures YOU will not get those.
The logo in the reception says "If we dont have it you dont need this" and they mean it.
First, it is not a hotel, it is a wrothen house with the mold all over the rooms and full of mascitos and insects. The word of comfort and enjoyment does not exist in this lacation and for service you need to go to Hilton (per the owner Ricardo).
We payed $150 per nigth for the " special rooms" and our special view from the porch was a view of the chimhey of the neigboring building.
After 3 slepplees night we decided to move to the nearby hotel and we paid the same rate and got normal and typical accamodation.
I do not recomend this place to anybody for any price

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIAGERENTE, Gerente at Baia do Joao Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Thank you for your feedback which we have acknowledged.
We regret not to have been able to offer an up-grade as we did with the other couple that accompanied you. However, we would like to strongly stress that throughout all these years hundreds are the American travellers that vouch for our services and installations! You certainly do not represent the majority.
We have paid attention to your comments but we feel these are unfair and untrue. We pride ourselves in being a good Pousada providing good level of service however we do not provide four star hotel service which you demanded. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

After several hectic days in Rio & BA, it was a welcome relief to arrive at Baia do Joao, and be welcomed with a warm handshake and smile from Ricardo.
After an incredibly comfortable night's sleep, we stepped out onto the balcony to be greeted by beautifuyl sunshine and the most spectacular view of the Joao Fernades Beach. So taken was I with the setting, I chose this place to propose my girlfriend...who thankfully accepted. We look forward to returning here for many years to come to spend time with the Maria and Ricardo at their wonderful pousada.
Thankyou for such an incredible experience

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashford27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed 10 days in this lovely pousada in Buzios, wow what an experience. The view out to the bay is breathtaking, whilst enjoying an evening drink. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and all have a relaxing hammock to rock you to sleep for your late afternoon nap before heading to Buzios for an evening of fun, culture and good food. The owner of Baia do Joao was the perfect host, he approached us and introduced himself, giving us the low down on where to go and what to see, nothing was too much from the owner and his team....

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcolleran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I have stayed in Baia do Joao pousada last week with my girlfriend, it was very difficult to pick within too many options in Buzios. I have received excellent service and care, specially from their owners. They were exceptional, very attentive and charming!. The pousada has a unique ocean view like no other in buzios, specially from their ocean rooms, direct to Baia do Joao, most beautiful beach in Buzios. Walking distance to Buzios town and restaurants, make this Pousada a great product for their value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lgallott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

View is fantastic overlooking the beach and seashore. Recommend a room with a sea view. Pousada is small and peaceful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.1 mi away
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
#34 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
#37 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
282 reviews
1 mi away
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#43 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#32 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
#18 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia do Joao Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia do Joao Pousada

Address: Rua das Palmeiras 32 | Joao Fernandes Beach, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £76 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baia do Joao Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a highly privileged position less than 100 yards above the "Joao Fernandes Beach", with a fine panoramic view of the area. Offers one of the best accommodations in town, benefit from a full direct ocean view and balcony-terrace. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Baia do Joao Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia De Joao Pousada Buzios
Baia Do Joao Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing