We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure why this place is number 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Vila Pitanga
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
new york
1 review
“Not sure why this place is number 1”
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I chose this place b/c it was rated number 1 for hotels in buzios on trip advisor, but I have no idea why that would b the case. While I thought the owner, Denise, was incredibly friendly and helpful and the grounds of the place were charming, I can't say much more about it that's positive. Our room was tiny and had ants crawling around the bathroom. I was told you couldn't flush toilet paper due to inadequate plumbing in Buzios. By the third time I forgot and was fishing toilet paper out of the toilet, I was fed up. The pool was dirty. But the rooms were clean and the restaurant, which was only open for breakfast was adequate. The rooms smelled a bit musty and moldy, probably b/c the humidity leaves everything damp at all times, but it was just unpleasant. It felt a bit like staying in a hostel and if I were 21 and on that kind of a vacation, it would have been fine, but for a romantic trip with your partner in your 30s, it's not the right place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlf2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    186
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
119
411
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed for 7 nights at Vila Pitanga. We went to buzios for a Wedding and we were willing to spend a few nights but we felt so fine at this posada that we extended our stay for four more nights. Vila Pitanga is a bright pousada with the exact amount of amenities you need in a place like buzios: very good breakfast, AA, fan, wifi, and pool. The bathrooms are realy nice, decorate with venecian mosaics. The dinning and living areas are decorate with very nice taste. Denise is the owner and she is at the disposal of everything you need. She´s very kind and polite. She will suggest things to do. Apart from this there is something special in the posada, that cannot be express by words, my girlfriend says is Good Feng Shui.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

The Pousada is very cozy, we had a great time.
Thank you, Denise, Leyla and all the staff, for everithing, specially the friendliness.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marola11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed at Vila Pitanga for 6 nights and had a really pleasant time. The service is great, breakfast is delicious, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. What i liked most about it was the personalized service you get, you almost feel at home, oh, and also Ella, Denise's dog. Denise is great and very friendly and willing to help.
Really worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rindang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The best thing about Vila Pitanga is Denise and her staff. They are gracious and kind, and Denise is down-to-earth and a very helpful hostess. She truly understands what a visitor to her part of the world needs, probably because she herself has travelled quite a lot. From the first greeting to the goodbye, we felt that Denise really took care of us and cared about our experience, not just at the Pousada but also in "her" town so we got good recommendations as to where to eat, what to see, which beach might suit us, etc. As a bonus, the 10 rooms that make up Vila Pitanga were also well taken care of, clean, sufficient and comfortable. My wife and I travel a lot, mostly for business and mostly frequenting 5-star establishments like Grand Hyatt in Jakarta, Sofitel in Seoul, W in San Francisco, Sheraton in Bangkok, Intercontinental in Tokyo, and the like so over the years we’ve gotten quite “selective” in our tastes and expectations. Well, Vila Pitanga didn’t disappoint a bit and although not as “fancy” as most places we might stay, Denise made the entire experience such a pleasant one that we would definitely stay here again whenever we return to Buzios.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawk-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We usually don't write reviews but this Pousada lived up to all great reviews we read on Tripadvisor. Me and my wife stayed here for four days at the end of our trip to Brazil and Argentina. We found that place to be a hidden gem. |Denise, the owner, was really friendly and helpful. She arranged everything we had asked for. Even though our room was rather basic, it was nicely arranged and spotlessly clean, just prefect for us. It was located at the first floor so we had a nice view of the garden and swimming pool. Breakfasts were delicious and served with relaxing Brazilian music in the background. We would highly recommend this place as a soothing, friendly and safe place, probably the best in Buzios. And last but not least, the Vila Pitanga has a great central location within walking distance to the main street Rua das Pedras (you can walk safely even at night – not very common in Brazil!). However, to move freely between numerous beaches you definitely need some kind of transport. Buggy seems to be the best option. Do be aware when renting buggy – the one we had was really not roadworthy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed for four nights at Vila Pitanga and can confirm all the great things people have written about Denise and her great Pousada. Clean, simple rooms, beautiful garden, great service with authentic smiles from down to earth Brazilians. I think all the rest has been said in the many positive reviews already posted.

Tip: We had some trouble with the ATM machines, which apparently happens sometimes, Denise was great to help me find one that would work for me. In any case, I recommend you get your cash before you need it, so you don't have to run around like I did at the last minute. A lot of places in Brazil and Argentina are cash only, so it's a good idea to raise your daily withdrawal limit and let your bank know in advance that you will be traveling. Also, have more than one ATM card and credit card with cash advance in case you do hit your daily limits.

Thanks again Denise. Hope to have a chance to visit Buzios again soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanfrantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.0 mi away
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#38 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buzios Centro Hotel
Buzios Centro Hotel
#35 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#21 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada Barlavento
Pousada Barlavento
#49 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barla Inn
Barla Inn
#56 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Vila Pitanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vila Pitanga

Property: Pousada Vila Pitanga
Address: Rua G4, number 6, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Vila Pitanga 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Pitanga is located in the exclusive area of Ferradura , with it`s beautiful bay. You are perfectly located close to the hustle and bustle of the centre, where you can enjoy a fabulous nightlife. Rooms are light, comfortable, modern and airy with beautiful views. All with TV, air-conditioning, fan and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Vila Pitanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Vila Pitanga Buzios
Pousada Vila Pitanga Hotel Buzios
Pousada Vila Pitanga Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing