We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but I expected more for the price”
Review of Bon Bini Pousada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bon Bini Pousada
Reviewed 28 January 2010

My huband and I and our 5 year old daughter stayed at the Bon Bini Pousada for 3 days in January. I chose this pousada based on reviews from Trip Advisor. We booked a triple room and the price was R$480/night for a triple. Before the Bon Bini, we stayed at Pousada de Azeda at the other end of Buzios.

We arrived by car and the parking is at the bottom of a large flight of stairs. There was no one to help us with our luggage, so if you have issues walking or carrying your bags, I would not recommend staying here. The pousada is a couple of blocks from Geriba beach, which is huge and gorgeous, shallow with hard packed sand. It is a short drive to the Buzios town centre, and if you drive you need to pay for parking everywhere (we paid R$4 each time) basically for some guy to watch your car! Be warned that traffic is Buzios is chaotic at all times of the day, so if you can walk you will save a lot of time and frustration.

The woman on reception did not speak English or Spanish (we could speak basic Portuguese) when we arrived and seemed very confused, even though I had a printed copy of our reservation. At the check-in, there is also a list on display of prices for replacing the bedding or towels if they were ruined or stolen, which I found kind of cheesy.

We had Room #1, which had a high ceiling and a large bed and twin bed. There was a minifridge and a bathroom with shower (no tub). There was a small tv.The room had a balcony overlooking the pool which was quite nice. It was very spacious, clean and simply decorated, which was fine.

The central point of the pousada is the lovely pool, which is not that deep so my daughter could swim in it. We spent a lot of time in the pool. There is an airy open lounge area, where breakfast is also served, which had a larger tv. There were some signs that it was also a restaurant, which is mentioned on the web site as well, but while we were there I did not see anyone dining there at all other than breakfast.

The breakfast buffet is nice and there is a large selection of fruit, cheese, cold meats, buns and cakes. One day they had a dulce de leche cake that was amazing!

Overall, I'm on the fence about the Bon Bini. It was fine but for the price I expected better service and a litte bit more for my money. For example, we got a triple room but they only gave us 2 towels, there was no hairdryer in the room. I felt like there was never any staff around and no one was really friendly or welcoming to us. Whenever the non-English-and-Spanish-speaking receptionist was working, she seemed to flee whenever she saw us coming!

Perhaps I would have had a different view if we had not gone to the Pousada da Azeda first, because the staff there was so welcoming and friendly, that we had the bar set high for us. It was a drag driving into town, but Geriba is a fantastic beach so I guess it's really a trade-off of what you want for your stay. If you want to do your own thing, service doesn't matter that much, and you have a car, it is fine. But if I went again, I would pay R$20 more per night and stay directly on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LolaCat_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Bon Bini Pousada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

This was wonderful. The breakfast will blow your mind! Fresh fruits, coffee, pastries, all kinds of goodies, There is a sauna that was nice to use in the evening after a day at the beach. The beach is very close walk and is the best one of the area. There are cobblestone streets and great views from the rooms upstairs (the larger rooms). The balconies are nice to sit outside and enjoy the pool and view of the bay. The rooms are very clean and the shower was one of the best i had in South America. It was very luxurious for a reasonable price. I would HIGHLY recommend this. The staff could not have been nicer and our stay was one i would repeat in a heartbeat. There is a GREAT restaurant before you get to the beach on the right. It is small and on the corner but the food is fabulous!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Stayed at this inn for our honeymoon in Buzios and were very, very pleased. The Bon Bini is like a bed and breakfast and it has a very warm atomosphere. The owner was extremely friendly and accommodating and answered every question I had over email while booking the reservation. The inn has only 12 rooms and we were the only ones there for most of the time-it's the off season. Stil, we had a full, fresh, amazing breakfast every morning and full service-at the pool, etc.
our room to our surprise had a loft with 2 extra beds-really spacious.
Overall, don't be fooled by the seemingly nice photos and reviews of larger resort places-many of them that we saw are falling into disprepair-my impression is that they are owned by argentines who are absentee landlords. the owner of the bon bini is very much present and at your disposal. this is the place for you if you like quiet, amazing included breakfast, and serene, well-decorated, clean environment.
tips: there is a large hill up and down to get to the main road of buzios that goes downtown. the beach is really close however-still a short walk. we would recommend eating at the Quiosque Mineiro restaurant up the street-amazing food, less expensive than anywhere on Rua das Pedras/centro.
the hotel will arrange a transfer to and from rio-hotel to hotel or rental to hotel-whatever. just email them in advance and she will set it up for you.
the pictures on the website are VERY true to life..in other words it is very clean, updated, fresh decor, spacious rooms, GREAT mattress-which can be hard to find here.
Well worth the money and I am picky!
wouldn't recommend for disable or elderly-no elevator and lots of steps.
has wireless internet

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Bon Bini Pousada at Geriba beach is a hidden Gem. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were in top shape, comfortable and extremely clean. The beach is very close to walk to - only 200mt ! the pool was extremely clean and offers a great view as well. Breakfast was well selected and a great way to start a day on the beach or at the pool. The owners were always present to give us ideas of places and restaurants to go to in the Centre of Buzios. Luckily, English and Spanish were very well spoken at Bon Bini Pousada which we found to be a challenge for the rest of Buzios ! we were told that reservations would be recommended way ahead of the busy Jan/Feb season. Looking forward to visit Bon Bini Pousada again !

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank YYZToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This is a gorgeous place... it's a 5 minute walk from the lively Geriba beach and the pool is lovely. The rooms are really nice and clean, and a good size. well stocked mini bar. The staff are friendly and very accommodating and helpful; english spoken very well. We only had 2 nights here but I would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Felipe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.6 mi away
Pousada Marbella
Pousada Marbella
#65 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Solar de Geriba
Pousada Solar de Geriba
#37 of 368 in Armacao dos Buzios
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirante de Geriba
Mirante de Geriba
#32 of 368 in Armacao dos Buzios
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa Baoba
Villa Baoba
#18 of 368 in Armacao dos Buzios
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Praia da Ferradurinha Guest House
Praia da Ferradurinha Guest Hous...
#58 of 368 in Armacao dos Buzios
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Sable D'or
Pousada Sable D'or
#6 of 368 in Armacao dos Buzios
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Bini Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Bini Pousada

Address: Avenida Vieira Camara | Quadra G - Lote 8, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: £47 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bon Bini Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a place where the weather is warm and sunny. We have 12 carefully decorated suites, overlooking the Geribá lagoon. The suites are equipped with: air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet, minibar, queen size bed and private balcony. The Bonbini Pousada offers a very full tested restaurant where you can taste very good homemade food. A place where you will rest and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Bon Bini Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Bini Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing