We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pousada on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pousada Caicara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Caicara
Ranked #4 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best pousada on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We loved our stay here! The staff were friendly - Nubia the manager is lovely. The rooms were simple but pleasant. We had a sea-view balcony. (If there are mosquitoes in the evening, just ask for spray).

Breakfast was lovely. The pousada is directly on the beach less than 10 minutes walk of the ferry terminal.

Free tea/coffee and home-made cake (the chocolate cake is gorgeous as is the home-made passion fruit yoghurt).

We would definitely stay here again.

The Island is a great safe place to relax and unwind. I definitely felt the holiday vibe.

Within walking distance of Rua da Praia.

Try Cafe De Mar for a lovely evening beach BBQ (only two houses up from the Pousada). Great food and great value. Lovely cocktails and fresh juices.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room. Try the chocolate cake and passion fruit yoghurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelling007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    79
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
156
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a wonderful location, right on the beach. Clean and friendly, although not all the receptionists speak English - wait for Nubia in the afternoon if you want to ask a question - all are very friendly and make you feel most welcome. The breakfast is good and the afternoon a treat. You will have to walk on the beach to reach but this adds to the charm. The garden is lovely to sit and watch the paddleboarding action and it is only a short walk to the shops. On the beach only a few minutes away is a delightful restaurant - not too far to stagger back.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the most beautiful view and we did not find it noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our travel itinerary was changed at the last moment by the travel company from Pousada Naturalia
to Caicara. However we were pleased as the Caicara is right on the sea front and within a short walk to a few lovely beaches. Breakfast is good and afternoon tea/coffee and cakes is free.
The staff is friendly, the owner and Nubia (the receptionist) are fluent in English. Beach towels are provided. The place is comfortable and clean. Try to get a room at the front with sea view. The air conditioning is noisy (This is an issue we found in all the places we stayed in Brazil) so don't forget your ear plugs. I suggest you use an official 'Carettero' to carry your luggage as there are no cars or paved roads in this beautiful island and the pousada is approx 500 meters from the Ferry jetties. We could not find an ATM cash dispenser in the island and restaurants in the more remote parts of the island don't take Credit Cards as they say they can't get a signal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
215 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The pousada is set in a lovely location fronting the beach with a pleasant garden with seating area. The hotel is approximately 5 minutes from the ferry jetties. Most of the staff is friendly and some speak English. Nice breakfast; I particularly enjoyed the afternoon cakes and coffee. Towels were provided for the beach. The room was reasonable although a little dark due to a tree outside the balcony; I would advise that you book a beach view if available. The air conditioning and fan were rather noisy.

Room Tip: Choose a beach view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a lovely stay in caicara. It is very clean, The rooms have plenty of space and the location is perfect.
If I ever find myself in Ilha grande I'll be back here for sure.
Breakfast was also very yummy & they waited for you if you were up a little late in the mornings which is unusual.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty_Rutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

On the whole we were pleased with Pousada Caicara. Its location, breakfasts and outdoor space seemed second to none. The room, though basic, was clean and had a TV. The downside, however, was that the room wasn't overly warm and they were having a drainage problem (apparently common on the island) during our stay which resulted in an unpleasant smell hanging around occasionally. The little balcony was great for lazy afternoons, perhaps after snacking on some of the afternoon tea the Pousada offered.

Room Tip: Try and get a front-facing balcony for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnb164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here in Oct 2012 for 3 nights. Perfect location, right on the sand, close to the restaurants and bars and far enough to be a little quieter!

The room was very big and comfortable with a nice bathroom and balcony. It all seemed very new and very clean. Breakfast is served downstairs looking out on the sand with an amazing spread of different breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, cakes, fruit, juices, coffee and lots of different types of tea! Yum!

The staff were very friendly, and every time we came into the guesthouse there was free fresh coffee, tea and cake for us to eat!

Out the front there are sun loungers in the garden facing the beach where you can just relax!

It turned out to be cheaper than hostels in the area, and way better value even compared to some dorms! Wish I could stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrishEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#5 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.8 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#9 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Caicara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Caicara

Property: Pousada Caicara
Address: Estrada Para Ilha Grande Playa de Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 64224-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Caicara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Caicara Hotel Angra Dos Reis
Pousada Caicara Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing