We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little place on the beach”
Review of Pousada Caicara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Caicara
Ranked #15 of 98 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This pousada is perfect. Very clean and tidy with friendly staff. It is right on the beach, a 5minute walk along the beach from the pier. Breakfast is good, rooms are clean and well presented. Its amazing to just walk out the front and straight onto beach. Highly recommend this place for anyone staying on Ilha Grande.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thruball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- clean spacious rooms with balcony
- nice breakfast and cake in the afternoon!
- nice lobby
- Just on the beach
- Good atmosphere

Cons
- not much english spoken

Overall, i would highly recommend this place and i would come here again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Esben U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The pousada is new, basic but fine and nicely decorated. The girl at reception.. not welcoming at all gave as a bad first impression, in contrast with the rest, most welcoming staff qe have found in Brazil. She seemed to laugh at guests... The lady in the evening was very nice, but it was the other girl there most of the time. There is no wardrobe and room is small.. Which is fine if you are Brazilian travelling for a couple of days but not if you are doing an extended tour and have lot of things with you...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We'll located on the beach and away from the town which can be noisy. 500m from town along the beach. Very clean and we'll run. Lovely breakfast and afternoon tea. Good bar for cocktails on the beach about 50m along the beach. Try and stay in one of the 3 rooms overlooking the beach with a balcony.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank robinWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We loved our stay here! The staff were friendly - Nubia the manager is lovely. The rooms were simple but pleasant. We had a sea-view balcony. (If there are mosquitoes in the evening, just ask for spray).

Breakfast was lovely. The pousada is directly on the beach less than 10 minutes walk of the ferry terminal.

Free tea/coffee and home-made cake (the chocolate cake is gorgeous as is the home-made passion fruit yoghurt).

We would definitely stay here again.

The Island is a great safe place to relax and unwind. I definitely felt the holiday vibe.

Within walking distance of Rua da Praia.

Try Cafe De Mar for a lovely evening beach BBQ (only two houses up from the Pousada). Great food and great value. Lovely cocktails and fresh juices.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room. Try the chocolate cake and passion fruit yoghurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelling007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a wonderful location, right on the beach. Clean and friendly, although not all the receptionists speak English - wait for Nubia in the afternoon if you want to ask a question - all are very friendly and make you feel most welcome. The breakfast is good and the afternoon a treat. You will have to walk on the beach to reach but this adds to the charm. The garden is lovely to sit and watch the paddleboarding action and it is only a short walk to the shops. On the beach only a few minutes away is a delightful restaurant - not too far to stagger back.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the most beautiful view and we did not find it noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our travel itinerary was changed at the last moment by the travel company from Pousada Naturalia
to Caicara. However we were pleased as the Caicara is right on the sea front and within a short walk to a few lovely beaches. Breakfast is good and afternoon tea/coffee and cakes is free.
The staff is friendly, the owner and Nubia (the receptionist) are fluent in English. Beach towels are provided. The place is comfortable and clean. Try to get a room at the front with sea view. The air conditioning is noisy (This is an issue we found in all the places we stayed in Brazil) so don't forget your ear plugs. I suggest you use an official 'Carettero' to carry your luggage as there are no cars or paved roads in this beautiful island and the pousada is approx 500 meters from the Ferry jetties. We could not find an ATM cash dispenser in the island and restaurants in the more remote parts of the island don't take Credit Cards as they say they can't get a signal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
1.4 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#5 of 98 in Ilha Grande
321 reviews
0 mi away
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
#2 of 98 in Ilha Grande
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aratinga Inn
Aratinga Inn
#1 of 18 in Vila do Abraao
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Caicara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Caicara

Address: Estrada Para Ilha Grande Playa de Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 64224-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £65 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Caicara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Caicara Hotel Angra Dos Reis
Pousada Caicara Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing