We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience to carry with you”
Review of Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilha Grande
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Lodge
Utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience to carry with you”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The secret? I guess it's getting real personal attention from someone who has the passion not to just run a lodge, but to really make it his way of life. Dinho can smoke a joint with you if you want, but at the same time works very hard and has his cellphone always within reach. The well being of his guests is clearly more important to him than his own.
It results in diverse guests who all have a great time together, great and much food, good nature adventures, jungle inspired rooms and no worries :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floris_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for four nights at the Jungle Lodge.

We had a fantastic time and were very well looked after by Dino and Gil.

It is hike (literally) up the hill and I would suggest a rucksack may be better than a wheeled case which is what we had!

There are some amazing beaches on Ilha Grande and we enjoyed the walk to Lopez Mendez beach which is a breathtaking location. We also had a cracking day out on a boat trip courtesy of Dino where we ate on a floating restaurant and saw turtles.

We ate at the Lodge in the evenings which was always tasty and far preferable to heading down the hill and back in the dark! Meals were different every night.

The most enjoyable part of our stay was meeting some of the other guests and enjoying the jungle view from a hammock over a cold beer.

I would say the only negative for me was the bed wasn't very comfy and sagged rather a lot in the middle, I am a big lad though.

If you fancy something difference and an adventure in the Jungle this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was really fantastic. Unfortunately the owner Dinho was away for most of the time we stayed so we didn't get the offer of dinner as other reviews mention, but his friend Gil looked after us and made delicious breakfasts every morning. He also took us out in town to watch him play in a band and offered to go with him on a fishing trip! The accommodation is basic, we stayed in the room away from the main lodge down the hill with just a bed and simple furniture and a small bathroom. Everything was clean and I would certainly recommend staying there as a couple as it was quieter than in the main house, so long as you don't mind sharing a room with the occasional bird or insect! Only problem was that my partner is over 6ft tall and the bed was too small for him with the mosquito net. The location is out of town, 30 minutes walk (15 mins uphill) from the boat jetties although this didn't bother us. It was well worth it for the views and the hospitality.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

An absolutely amazing place to stay - make sure you use the outdoor shower.
Amazingly we had booked this place with very little idea about it or where it was, was one of the few places that had a vacancy when we needed it. We did not realise we had to hike up the hill to get there - not fun with my wife's 20kg+ suitcase (not backpack). Thankfully on the day we left they got one of the neighbours to help.
Nice walk to and from the main town. and loads of amazing experiences to be had on Ilha Grande

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

When coming to the Ilha Grande we spontaniously decided to have a look if there is something available at the Jungle Lodge. We were lucky and without reserving we could stay there!
Every night, you are asked if you want to have dinner with the owner and other guests! It was such good food and the best Caipirinha ever!

We had our private room and were more than happy staying there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had the best experience at the jungle lodge. Not only was the breakfast perfect and the scenery beautiful, Dino was the perfect hist for this cosy lodge. Don't miss climbing the pirot peak, it's gives an incredible view on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Ilha Grande is a fantastic island, with beautiful beaches to explore, lots of activities and great food. Jungle Lodge was one of the highlights of our 6 month trip. A pleasant but somewhat tiring (particularly with your luggage/backpacks...) 10 minute hike up a fairly rough hill west of town, we nevertheless really enjoyed being able to get away from the tourist hordes that accompany such splendour.

Dinho, the owner, may just be the best host in South America. Super friendly, energetic and flat out funny, he makes sure you have the best time you possibly can. Great personalized advice for what to do based on how long you stay and what you're looking to do, including tour company/dive company/restaurant recommendations, and hand drawn hiking maps for exploring the island. Do yourself a favour and spend at LEAST an hour just hanging out at the lodge and listening to his stories about the Pantanal, or his Ilha Grande adventures.

The accommodation itself is a little rustic- a couple bare bones bathrooms (but flush toilets, so certainly passable), and more or less open-air rooms with mosquito nets above the main floor of the house. You're not here for 5 start bedrooms though, you're here to enjoy the best view on the island, get away from the 18 year old frat boys whooping it up down the hill, and enjoy the tranquility of a truly stunning island.

Not to be missed are the incredibly affordable (wayyy cheaper than the restaurants in town) and unbelievably (also way better than any food we tried in town) delicious home-cooked meals (breakfast and dinner). Breakfast always had fresh fruit that had been grown right on site (unbelievable the difference fresh fruit makes), and dinner was custom made for us and our picky vegetarian needs, without complaint.

Overall one of the highlights of our entire 6 months, and I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: The detached room just a little down the hill from the main house is your best bet, particularly for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhogan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.0 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ilha Grande
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantica Jungle Lodge
Atlantica Jungle Lodge
#2 of 82 in Ilha Grande
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Manaca Inn
Pousada Manaca Inn
#5 of 93 in Ilha Grande
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aratinga Inn
Aratinga Inn
#1 of 93 in Ilha Grande
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lodge

Property: Jungle Lodge
Address: Caminho de Palmas 4 | Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering comfort and tranquility, our Jungle Lodge, is an excellent way to get away from it all. A 15 minute walk from Abraao village, the Lodge is perched on a rainforest covered cliff with majestic views of the Brazilian Coast and the Angra Bay. The large garden offers the perfect environment to relax in a hammock, enjoy a barbeque at night or build a campfire and share stories. The Lodge comes with a complete kitchen, living room with TV, DVD, music system and internet. The Lodge is available for rent in its entirety or by double room with breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Lodge Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing