We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No respect with customers”
Review of Mata Virgem Hostel

Mata Virgem Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mata Virgem Hostel
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No respect with customers”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I've not stayed at this hostel but tried to. In november 2011 we booked through hostelworld.com 3 nights during carnival week, february 2012 and got an e-mail with the confirmation. In january, 2 months later and 1 month before our trip, they sent us an e-mail stating that during carnival they accept only 5 days package!! I mean... the website accepted our booking, so it should be valid. So far they didn't propose a solution. I think they are quite desorganized and do not respect their customers. Besides that, there's great evalution below mine, which is from a person called "MV" and the hotel owner is called "Mario Vitor". Would definitely not recommend.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    8
    8
    12
See reviews for
8
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights in january 2011.

The hostel is a bit away from the "city centre", if you are carrying a suitcase you will be having trouble dragging it with you up the stairs and along the small trails.

It is still nice enough, but it does not feel like a hostel - more like you get to rent a room at someones house, with their children running around and their private rooms everywhere.
Outside the hostel it smelled a lot like sewage, not too pleasant.
It is not a hostel for backpackers, it was very quiet - so if you're up for meeting fellow travellers I would try somewhere else. Then again, I guess this hostel could be cozy enough for a couple with not too high standards.

We shared a 3-bed room, one bunkbed and one single bed. The room was extremly small, and the bathroom maybe the tiniest I have ever seen! It worked, but just barely.

I would recommend staying at a pousada closer to the beach, or another hostel. This hostel was the only one available when we were booking...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilha Grande hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilha Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Great palce, wonderful breakfast. The bbq is the best!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mv2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
125.5 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
310 reviews
125.6 mi away
Laio's Hostel
Laio's Hostel
#19 of 24 in Vila do Abraao
3 reviews
125.1 mi away
Aquario Hostel
Aquario Hostel
#4 of 24 in Vila do Abraao
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
125.5 mi away
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
#15 of 24 in Vila do Abraao
29 reviews
125.1 mi away
Che Lagarto Hostel Ilha Grande
125.5 mi away
Abraao Hostel
Abraao Hostel
#6 of 24 in Vila do Abraao
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Virgem Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Virgem Hostel

Property: Mata Virgem Hostel
Address: R. da Assembleia 155, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Mata Virgem Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Virgem Hostel Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing