We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overnativa Green Hostel
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights. Lovely family feel hostel. They have a good size living room with plenty of chairs to relax in front of tv. Breakfast was very good with loads to choose from and lots of fresh fruit. Used the laundry and it was back at end of the day dry ironed and really clean!! They have a pool table, computer and WiFi. Currently building a BBQ area. Room was good size with fridge air con, en suite and towels changed daily also included in price!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. Really enjoyed it. Room was comfortable, en-suite. Christina was a great host. Had dinner in the hostel most nights, which was really tasty and cheap. Even got a chocolate cake for my birthday!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights over the brazillian public holiday, everything on the island was booked so when we had issues with the room we couldn't move hostels.
At first the room seemed fine, good bed, fridge, fan, ensuite and balcony. Issue was that the bathroom leaked from the roof everytime upstairs had a shower flooding the whole bathroom and out into the room. The hostel is aware of this problem as they had tried to block the issue with plastic bags, which did not work.
Second issue with the room was ants big biting ants. Being from Australia bugs do not worry us usually, but this was about 100 big ants coming through the wooden walls.
Other things to note: breakfast is good but don't dare ask for more of anything, we asked for one more piece of bread and rejection.
Owner was helpful when he was there, during the busiest holiday he decided to leave the island and his other hostel staff did not speak great English.
Last point is location. On the map it appears close to the beach but there is no direct route, you have to walk around about 6 mins, not too far but so many other hostels right on the beach for the same price.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah1983111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Dark rooms with horrible beds. Very humid but the worst part was all the mice running in the ceeling. Or was it rats.... sounded like a party up there. Have a couple of strong ones before bedtime if you choose this zoo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annepanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm with private bathroom. Spacious room nice and clean but slightly damp feeling.
The guys that run the place are super friendly.
The only let down is the breakfast - not enough for the amount of people staying there and trying to get hold of food is a bit of a mission. As soon as a small amount of food/coffee/juice is put out there is a swarm to get to it.
One of the cheapest places on the island except prices go up at weekend or if there is something going on in rio

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowboxfish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We had planned on staying three nights but ended up staying only one.
While the reception area was nice, we were very disappointed by our room (which cost 140 Brazilean R). The air conditioning smelt badly and the whole night mice running across the roof kept us awake (they were on the outside, not the inside). The owner was very nice and offered us to change rooms the next night but we rather changed the hostel all together.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mannheim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
1.5 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
38 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ilha Hostel
Ilha Hostel
#15 of 94 in Ilha Grande
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
#16 of 31 in Vila do Abraao
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Hostel
Paradise Hostel
#64 of 94 in Ilha Grande
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Surf Hostel
Welcome Surf Hostel
#12 of 94 in Ilha Grande
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camping da Cachoeira
Camping da Cachoeira
#20 of 31 in Vila do Abraao
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overnativa Green Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overnativa Green Hostel

Address: Rua Getulio Vargas, 517, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £27 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Overnativa Green Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overnativa Green Hostel Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing