We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, good beachfront location, small/OK rooms”
Review of Pousada Manaca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Manaca Inn
Ranked #6 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The owner and staff are fantastic - very friendly, willing to help and provide recommendations and super responsive. Location is good - beachfront and a little ways from the main area so it's a bit quieter. Rooms are small and just OK...but they have fans and air conditioning, and a mini-fridge. The electricity went out two of the nights we were there - but I think that's a whole island thing....and the owner came by and gave us a candle, which was really nice!
We had garden view - which is fine, but you should try to get ocean view if you can!

Room Tip: Get ocean view if you can!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Manaca Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pousada Manaca for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year's Eve. From the very beginning, Gerrard (owner) was very helpful. During the booking process, he was very responsive over email and communicated well in English. He even arranged a car for us from the airport which was very convenient. In fact, our luggage was lost in transit (eventually sent to the Pousada) and having Gerrard's help made this unfortunate situation a bit easier to deal with.

We had a great time chatting with Laurent (Gerrard's son who was on vacation at the time) and got some great suggestions from both of them about things to do and places to eat on the island.

They sold big bottles of water for cheaper than anywhere else on the island it seems and the buffet breakfast was the best we had in Brazil. There weren't a large number of items (they had all the necessities) but the quality of the items was excellent. As vegetarians, we were satisfied and appreciated the made to order eggs. The fresh cut fruit salad was the best!

The rooms were clean and spacious with a great view (sea view room). We had to switch rooms (busy time plus late booking) and we liked the garden view room better but enjoyed the view from the sea view room.

Location was good. 10 minute walk to main dock.

The only small negative point is that the wifi only works in the common areas and is very slow in the evening but chances are that you are not there for the Internet.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ravoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great place to stay. Located on the beach front, the rooms are clean, the owner is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. The breakfast is great. We had a garden view room which was fine for us but for a little extra you can get a sea view room... Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saij77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The pousada is in a good location on the beach not far from the ferry port. There are a couple of bars/restaurants next door which serve good food and the road into town is nearby. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. The receptionist did not speak English and this made checking in quite a lengthy affair but we got there in the end. The breakfast is good - fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrchimp_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Manaca for three nights in early October. Right from our initial e-mail to Gerard the staff were really helpful, recommending the best route to get over to Ilha Grande. We stayed in one of the rooms with sea view, balcony and hammock on the second floor and were happy we paid the extra for this - waking up to the view of the beach with the sound of the waves on the shore each morning was fantastic.

Everyday breakfast was delicious with good coffe and a nice selection of fresh fruit, cakes and bread, and was one of the best we enjoyed on our three week holiday.

Andreas (Gerards 2nd in command) was able to recommend good restauarants to eat at, and also helped us booking a snorkelling tour for the day following our arrival which was a great help. There's also a book swap shelf if you've run out of reading material whilst there which proved very useful for me!

We loved Ilha Grande and would recommend both the island and this Pousada to anyone visiting Brazil.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed 3 days here at this beautiful Pousada, and we didn't want to leave! From planning the last minute trip with Gerard to check out, they were nothing but extremely helpful and friendly. The owner was very quick in replying to all my emails, and offered helpful information. Laura the receptionist, although didn't speak any English, was extremely helpful and hospitable in every aspect. The rooms were nice and clean, and offer a stocked fridge. We listened to the waves as we went to sleep, and laid out on the hammock during the day. The breakfast was the best part of my day, when we would eat it outside and talk with the other travelers. Great location, as it is right on the beach, and off the main streets. Can't wait to come back here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I read some of the references before booked the pousada and I found more and more. The owner Gerard, is a man of good taste and exquisite with details. A very complete breakfast like 5 star hotel, towels and sheets embroidered with the name of the inn, extremely clean everywhere, are just a sample of the good service. Every morning we found a new super coloured tablecloth to have breakfast, (I loved all), fruit salad, different kind of bread, and the cocktel manaca (orange juice and other fresh fruits). Only 5 minutes walking along the beach to the Villa Abrao or 10 along the streets. To take our luggage to go in and out there people who transport the suitcases/backpack. One day 7 rooms are occupied with 8 nationalities! The warm staff, Laura and Marli take care of us. We highly recommend Pousada Manaca and hope to come back soon. (Patricia (Argentina), Britta (Germany) & Sandra (Uruguay)

Room Tip: Front room, first floor with sea view, but from the ones with view to the garden you even can hear t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
35.3 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
545 reviews
35.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
288 reviews
35.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.0 mi away
Aratinga Inn
Aratinga Inn
#1 of 17 in Vila do Abraao
683 reviews
35.4 mi away
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
#2 of 96 in Ilha Grande
304 reviews
35.3 mi away
Pousada Caicara
Pousada Caicara
#5 of 96 in Ilha Grande
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Manaca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Manaca Inn

Address: Praia do Abraao, 333, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Manaca is located at "Praia do Canto" in Abraao, the main village on Ilha Grande, 15 min. walk from the ferry pier. At Pousada Manaca the emphasis is on location, excellent personal service and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Manaca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Manaca Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Manaca Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing