We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem on Ilha Grande!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Manaca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Manaca Inn
Ranked #7 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem on Ilha Grande!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Pousada Manaca Inn. The location was great as we were able to walk there easily from the ferry (about a 5 min walk). The room was very tidy and had a balcony facing the water. It was nice to have A/C during humid days. There are several restaurants close by that are very good. My husband hasn't stopped raving about the complimentary breakfast or Laura, who manages the Pousada when the owner is away. Laura provided directions to all the beaches we could hike to on the island. A really great stay on a beautiful island. Make sure you check out Lopes Mendez beach!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    64
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
153
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
316 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

That's because there are no cars on Ilha Grande. This Pousada is a very cozy place to stay while you explore the Ilha. Owned by a very friendly French gentleman with 38 years of island experience the Pousada is directly on Praia Abraão. It is a quick R$30 carteira legal ride from the dock in the village for your luggage as you walk behind the cart. Rooms are clean, neat, and cool, the girls will do your laundry on site and you get an actual real life sized bar of soap. Now that's a first and gets extra marks. Merci beaucoup Monsieur Gerard and staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Pros and cons:
Pros:
Gerard, the owner, is a gem. Very helpful and kind.
The breakfast is amazing.
The location is great
Cons:
Extremely expensive for what you get.
Didn't sleep through the night once because the bed is so insanely uncomfortable. New mattresses would fix that immediately.
Worst WiFi connection. Just get used to the fact that they basically don't have wifi
Very average rooms, small, plain.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank photographeronthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The owner and staff are fantastic - very friendly, willing to help and provide recommendations and super responsive. Location is good - beachfront and a little ways from the main area so it's a bit quieter. Rooms are small and just OK...but they have fans and air conditioning, and a mini-fridge. The electricity went out two of the nights we were there - but I think that's a whole island thing....and the owner came by and gave us a candle, which was really nice!
We had garden view - which is fine, but you should try to get ocean view if you can!

Room Tip: Get ocean view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pousada Manaca for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year's Eve. From the very beginning, Gerrard (owner) was very helpful. During the booking process, he was very responsive over email and communicated well in English. He even arranged a car for us from the airport which was very convenient. In fact, our luggage was lost in transit (eventually sent to the Pousada) and having Gerrard's help made this unfortunate situation a bit easier to deal with.

We had a great time chatting with Laurent (Gerrard's son who was on vacation at the time) and got some great suggestions from both of them about things to do and places to eat on the island.

They sold big bottles of water for cheaper than anywhere else on the island it seems and the buffet breakfast was the best we had in Brazil. There weren't a large number of items (they had all the necessities) but the quality of the items was excellent. As vegetarians, we were satisfied and appreciated the made to order eggs. The fresh cut fruit salad was the best!

The rooms were clean and spacious with a great view (sea view room). We had to switch rooms (busy time plus late booking) and we liked the garden view room better but enjoyed the view from the sea view room.

Location was good. 10 minute walk to main dock.

The only small negative point is that the wifi only works in the common areas and is very slow in the evening but chances are that you are not there for the Internet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ravoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great place to stay. Located on the beach front, the rooms are clean, the owner is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. The breakfast is great. We had a garden view room which was fine for us but for a little extra you can get a sea view room... Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saij77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The pousada is in a good location on the beach not far from the ferry port. There are a couple of bars/restaurants next door which serve good food and the road into town is nearby. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. The receptionist did not speak English and this made checking in quite a lengthy affair but we got there in the end. The breakfast is good - fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrchimp_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.3 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#5 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Manaca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Manaca Inn

Property: Pousada Manaca Inn
Address: Praia do Abraao, 333, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Manaca is located at "Praia do Canto" in Abraao, the main village on Ilha Grande, 15 min. walk from the ferry pier. At Pousada Manaca the emphasis is on location, excellent personal service and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Manaca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Manaca Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Manaca Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing