We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Recreio da Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location was just a few feet from the beach and in a very calm area on Ilha Grande. They have an early curfew, but nearby stores stay open late. Staff was always available and willing to help. They were able to accommodate up to three people per room in many cases.

Breakfast options were vast and was within walking distance of many other restaurants throughout the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbonifacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    164
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
167
161
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a very cute pousada right on the beach and just one block from the town square. It is in the heart of Ilha Grande where all the shops, restaurant, and bars are. They have s small pool, wifi, and breakfast in the morning with fresh fruit. Front desk was very nice; some didn't speak English, but that's the adventure of it all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This pousada's location was so convenient; it was not too far from the dock and it was right across the street from the water. The rooms were nice, clean and cozy but the beds were a bit stiff. After a long day of activities, once you laid on the bed the stiffness was easily forgotten. The pool area was nice but the pool was foggy, which is not good. Overall, as the first pousada of my trip, it was a good start.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaDB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is located right on the beach, allowing you to leave your room and already be where you want to be :) Centrally located to the main roads and boat pier as well. The rooms are a tad small but clean, with nice bathrooms. The breakfast here was great, and it was a great place to start my Brazilian adventure. My only complaint is that it is located by a popular restaurant, and on one night their music could be clearly heard late into the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nf81727n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Pousada Recreio de Praia is wonderfully situated by the beach and the pier. Its rooms are quite comfortable and spacious for three people. The pousada has a recreational space for its visitors to play billiards as well as other games. There is also a pool inside the pousada, but it was rather small and honestly, during my stay, most of my friends and I walked on the streets and hanged out on the beach. Breakfast was great for the most part. I enjoyed having fresh fruits like papaya and watermelon everyday during my stay and there was always an assortment of breads to choose from. The service of the staff was excellent. When I found out that we were supposed to leave our key at the front reception desk, I was very surprised, but when my professors explained that the key has the name of the pousada and the room number, I understood why we had to leave it in the front desk. After the first day, I started getting used to leaving my key at the front desk when I was about to leave the pousada. It is a little inconvenient, but the staff members were very accommodating and polite. Also, there is free wifi in the rooms, but because we had a large group, Internet was very slow for the most part. Overall, I enjoyed my visit here because of its beautiful views of the beach and mountainsand its close proximity to many restaurants and shops on the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frigiliana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

A wonderful location. We shall never forget the breakfasts on the terrace gazing out toward the sea 5 metres away and the distant mountains and islands. The room was very small (no space for a chest of drawers and only a very small single wardrobe, but the Bathroom was clean and tidy. Free wifi in rooms and reception, slow speed but ok for emails. Pleasant grounds and a small swimming pool. The reception staff looked either miserable or grumpy, but apart from that everything was really lovely. Would definitely use this place again but maybe ask for a bigger or better room. Ours was a standard downstairs room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frigilianafreddy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
198 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We weren't planning on staying on Ilha Grande. We were on a 2-day sailing trip with friends, and my partner got violently sea sick, so we decided to get off the boat when we got to the island. At about 10:30 PM. The first few pousadas we tried were either closed, or not interested in putting us up for the night, but we got lucky at Pousada da Praia.
The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was very good. Breakfast was decent. There is a small pool area too, but it rained when we were there, so we didn't use it. Staff were friendly.
Luckily, we had paid by card when we checked in, because the next day, due to a power outage, no credit card machine on the island was working. There are also no ATMs, and all we had left was R$57 in cash, just R$3 short to pay for the catamaran back to the mainland. Luckily, the receptionist at the pousada took pity on us, and gave us the missing money. A very nice gesture.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada dos Meros
Pousada dos Meros
#4 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Recreio da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Recreio da Praia

Property: Pousada Recreio da Praia
Address: Rua Da Praia S/N0 - Vila Do Abraao | Vila do Abraão, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Recreio da Praia 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Recreio da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing