We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly, but the best part was the location. We were probably 50 yards from the beach! The pousada is near a lot of restaurants and has a breakfast every morning. Everything was great except the Wifi was a little spotty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdubos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Wow! What a great location! It takes no effort to go to the beach or any of the restaurants in Ilha Grande. Pousada Recreio da Praia was only a few feet from everything! The pousada has nice sized rooms with well working air conditioners which helped a New Yorker like myself adapt to being in South America. Wifi didn't work very often, but the beatiful views of Ilha Grande made up for it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_W_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The location was just a few feet from the beach and in a very calm area on Ilha Grande. They have an early curfew, but nearby stores stay open late. Staff was always available and willing to help. They were able to accommodate up to three people per room in many cases.

Breakfast options were vast and was within walking distance of many other restaurants throughout the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbonifacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a very cute pousada right on the beach and just one block from the town square. It is in the heart of Ilha Grande where all the shops, restaurant, and bars are. They have s small pool, wifi, and breakfast in the morning with fresh fruit. Front desk was very nice; some didn't speak English, but that's the adventure of it all!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This pousada's location was so convenient; it was not too far from the dock and it was right across the street from the water. The rooms were nice, clean and cozy but the beds were a bit stiff. After a long day of activities, once you laid on the bed the stiffness was easily forgotten. The pool area was nice but the pool was foggy, which is not good. Overall, as the first pousada of my trip, it was a good start.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaDB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is located right on the beach, allowing you to leave your room and already be where you want to be :) Centrally located to the main roads and boat pier as well. The rooms are a tad small but clean, with nice bathrooms. The breakfast here was great, and it was a great place to start my Brazilian adventure. My only complaint is that it is located by a popular restaurant, and on one night their music could be clearly heard late into the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nf81727n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Pousada Recreio de Praia is wonderfully situated by the beach and the pier. Its rooms are quite comfortable and spacious for three people. The pousada has a recreational space for its visitors to play billiards as well as other games. There is also a pool inside the pousada, but it was rather small and honestly, during my stay, most of my friends and I walked on the streets and hanged out on the beach. Breakfast was great for the most part. I enjoyed having fresh fruits like papaya and watermelon everyday during my stay and there was always an assortment of breads to choose from. The service of the staff was excellent. When I found out that we were supposed to leave our key at the front reception desk, I was very surprised, but when my professors explained that the key has the name of the pousada and the room number, I understood why we had to leave it in the front desk. After the first day, I started getting used to leaving my key at the front desk when I was about to leave the pousada. It is a little inconvenient, but the staff members were very accommodating and polite. Also, there is free wifi in the rooms, but because we had a large group, Internet was very slow for the most part. Overall, I enjoyed my visit here because of its beautiful views of the beach and mountainsand its close proximity to many restaurants and shops on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada dos Meros
Pousada dos Meros
#4 of 17 in Ilha Grande
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Recreio da Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Recreio da Praia

Address: Rua da Praia s/n - Vila Do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £78 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Recreio da Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Recreio da Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Recreio Da Praia Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing