We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, Uncomfortable and Not Worth the Money”
Review of Pousada D'Pillel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada D'Pillel
Ranked #23 of 94 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Noisy, Uncomfortable and Not Worth the Money”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Not one to necessarily leave bad reviews but this is an exception. Unfortunately, we had a very bad stay here. There was an air-con unit in the room which didn't work, and the fan kept cutting out which led to a very uncomfortable night's sleep. This was only made worse by a group of people chanting and banging incredibly loudly at night which went on for 3 hours before the hotel staff did anything. Although the rooms were cleaned daily, they weren't done properly. The bathroom was still dirty and had cockroaches in. One of my worst nights sleep ever.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    48
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

As a family of 3, we enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean but especially with a kid on the floor, it was pretty cramped. It had a balcony with a hammock and the bathroom was small but perfectly functional.

There's a fridge and a DVD player with a collection of DVDs to borrow. Drinks are sold by the owner at cheaper prices than the supermarkets so that was great value. There's a table tennis table and plenty of books in one of the 2 communal areas.

Breakfast is self service and perfectly fine - cold meats, cheese, bread and fresh fruit served until 10am.

The place is 3-5 mins walk from the beach and although we have a Portuguese speaker in our family, I always felt that English would be enough to work out all basic problems.

It has WiFi although the service wasn't always fantastic, but it did a job of keeping connected to the football results.

All-in-all, it was a lovely stay on an island which is becoming more touristy. I'm glad we got to go there whilst there are still no cars on the island!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnymacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We ended up here after being approached at the pier by one guy, Felipe working with different pousadas. We visited multiple pousadas, hotels and definitely, this one was the best one even without the sea view we had seen on others.
The room is quite simple and small but very clean. The common places are nice with the garden, seating area, and breakfast place. You can borrow all different kind of games, snorkels and masks.
The owner, Roger is very welcoming but very busy so can be difficult to catch him.
Overall, we highly recommend this place outside the busiest streets but close to beach (5min walk) and main restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ema92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

On the description everything looks nice but the staff forgot to tell you when you book that you can end up in another building 300m away from the main one which is absolutely not nice at all.
After 70 steps you end up in a room in the "ghetto" part of the island.
No air conditioning, a ceilling fan which makes a sound that makes you feel it will fall down the next second, and sheets that smells Naphthalene.

Forgot about wifi which is only avaiable at the main building close to the reception. And the so "special" breackfast is the same that you can find everywhere else on the island

Room Tip: Be sure to be at the main building and not in the annexe 300m away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and found the room to be excellent value. Our room was very clean, and comfortable, if a little on the small side. We had a really nice balcony with hammock. The shower was fine. The room also had some lovely 'extras'; a fridge (which got drinks really cold) and a DVD player. There's a decent collection of DVDs which are free to borrow - as you'd expect not all in English but we found plenty to watch. Breakfast is self service and adequate - nice fresh fruits and bread (my only suggestion would be to have covers on the food as there were quite a lot of flies on the food, especially later on by 10am).

The pousada is a few minutes walk from the beach - but this wasn't a problem as the village is so small everything is within very easy reach.

We booked through bookings.com in the end as we got no response via email and we struggled with language on the phone - so we figured no one spoke English or Spanish. But actually there was a really nice guy (Roger I think, sorry!) who spoke good English and was very helpful and knowledgable with information about walks/beaches/boats etc.

Tip - try to avoid the few rooms on the ground floor as they have a veranda which opens out onto communal area so not as private as the balconies.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here, it is a small family-run pousada with a very friendly atmosphere. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. There is a lovely garden complete with hammocks, where breakfast is served, and the family were very welcoming. There were nice little touches such as coffee every afternoon and DVDs and board games available for guests to use. It is not a 5 star hotel as other reviews have mentioned, so it depends what you expect, but for me it was a charming guesthouse and great value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgTaistealGoMinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We met a lot of nice people, nice breakfest, nice ping pong table. Great staff and Roger is a gem, very helpfull and gave us excellent advices for trips in the island. Pousada is simple but very convenient and great price! U can't go wrong. Internet connection in the island is not good but who cares about internet when u see this paradise!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
1413.4 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
309 reviews
1413.4 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
170 reviews
1413.6 mi away
Pousada Albatroz
Pousada Albatroz
#10 of 82 in Ilha Grande
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1413.4 mi away
Pousada Pedacinho de Ceu
Pousada Pedacinho de Ceu
#10 of 94 in Ilha Grande
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Abraao Pousada
Porto Abraao Pousada
#22 of 94 in Ilha Grande
75 reviews
1413.5 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 94 in Ilha Grande
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada D'Pillel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada D'Pillel

Property: Pousada D'Pillel
Address: Rua do Bicao 51, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada D'Pillel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada D'Pillel Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing