We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place!”
Review of Pousada D'Pillel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada D'Pillel
Ranked #29 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

what a lovley place, perfect location, just off the beach in the main town. the owner was so nice, he spoke perfect english, when i arrived he showed me around, was very helpful with everything i needed and was just a genuinley lovley guy. room was great clean and comfy, wifi fast, breakfast great and set in a really nice jungle setting,even though it rained my entire 2day stay, i loved the island and loved this pousada and would definatley come back! thanks for an awsome stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Hotel was perfectly located beside the beach and restaurants. The owner and all the staff were extremely friendly and always offering advice on different activities on the island. My girlfriend was sick and the owner took us to the doctor and translated for us. The rooms were nice with private balcony and hammock and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Ilha Grande is only a little place, at least where most people stay in the port. This B&B (Pousada) had a really friendly feel to it, and all the staff were really helpful, especially Roger and Sandra.
It can be a little noisy in the mornings, but for a few nights it was great. You get a free snorkel and goggles for your stay, guidance on the best tours and treks on the island, and the rooms are cleaned with fresh towels every day. Its a few minutes walk from the port and right in the thick of it. Each room has a hammock, and there is a lovely little garden at the back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0seph0d0n0ghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It was an overall great experience, the owner is a sweet old woman who greeted us with biscuits on arrival. The backyard breakfast area opened up to the forest, we even had monkeys visit! They were harmless and not very intrusive, definitely adds to the experience of visiting an island off the grid. Rooms were clean and well tended to, there was no English speaking staff only Portuguese and Spanish.

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement are closest to the breakfast/backyard area, depending on the other travelers i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeganCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I loved this place.

Firstly, the manager Roger is so welcoming, friendly and professional and willing to help you plan to make the most of this beautiful island.
The rooms are great! Really big and comfy with tv, fan and air con.
Clean!
The breakfast was probably the best I've had in brazil. Loved it!
Wifi worked as good as you'd expect on an island so was ok.
Free hire of snorkels!
Cake and coffee at night - bonus!
I loved it and think everyone else will too.

Keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chambers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Nothing to complain about. Excellent value option with nice rooms, great breakfast, great location and very friendly, helpful service. Complementary coffee, snorkel/masks to borrow, baggage storage and shower for use even after check out. Very convenient for boats and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwood1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Great value for money! It´s just beautiful! The owner built an amazing garden in the yard, so ypu can see birds and monkeys all time!!! Good breakfast with 4 kinds of fruits!!! The room is ok! Small but with ceiling fan, TV, DVD, great bathroom and a balcony with a hammock!!! The location is good, next to everything!The owner lend snorkels and DVDs and Books to the guests!!1 There´s a ping-pong table and the the staff is very friendly and helped us all time to go to all placess!!! Very good!

The place is very simple with no luxury...but it´s awesome!

Room Tip: Book the upper rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAFAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0 mi away
Portal dos Borbas
Portal dos Borbas
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
88 reviews
0 mi away
Horizonte Dos Borbas
Horizonte Dos Borbas
#17 of 96 in Ilha Grande
60 reviews
0 mi away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#11 of 96 in Ilha Grande
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pousada Armacao dos Anjos
Pousada Armacao dos Anjos
#14 of 96 in Ilha Grande
94 reviews
0 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
316 reviews
0 mi away
Pousada Albatroz
Pousada Albatroz
#9 of 89 in Ilha Grande
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada D'Pillel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada D'Pillel

Address: Rua do Bicao 51, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £52 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pousada D'Pillel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada D'Pillel Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing