We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 5 days with Hugo and his familiy in the Tagomago Beach Lodge and absolutely loved it! The place has small clean rooms with a fridge and a hammock and a beautiful view over the bay. Our hosts took care of everything, offered fantastic breakfast and recommended what to do, where to eat etc. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mgeismann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed there for four nights at the end of our trip to unwind and it was a perfect choice. The pousada is as close as one can get to the beach, trails and the main part of town without it feeling like you're on top of all the main attractions.

The hosts made themselves available to us at all hours and gave us an informative overview of the island, the hikes and the beaches when we arrived. They even helped with transportation back to the international airport in Rio and set up boat tours. Hugo and his mom went out of their way to make sure each guest had everything they needed to figure out their day but gave everyone enough space to figure things out as well. (And their puppy Jimmy is adorable!)

This pousada is a charming getaway for a couple or solo travelers who want some peace and quiet but not for those looking for a loud hostel experience. Had plenty of hot water in our shower, the AC worked great and loved waking up to the sound of the waves and sitting on our balcony in the morning.

The restaurant Lua de Mar that's just down the beach from this pousada has the best seafood moqueca that we had on our trip (ended up having it twice while we were on the island). Do not miss it.

Hugo and Claudia, thanks for all the memories and your generous hospitality! Please let us know when you're in NY!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaiHariu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is the perfect option for anybody going to Ihla Grande. It is a quiet location on the beach (slightly up the hill for brilliant views from the hammock on your balcony!), but only 5 mins from the islands only town and 2 mins from the best cafe and restaurant.

What really made this place special were the family who run it. They speak perfect English and gave us great recommendations for what to do on the island. They couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We extended our stay by 2 days we loved it so much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This wonderful pousada has it all: overlooking the beach while being a few steps away into tranquility, clean comfortable amenities with an excellent fresh breakfast, and welcoming English-speaking staff with plenty of adventure tips, including hikes to nearby beaches and trails through the jungle.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank AntoineHuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our friendly hosts Claudia and Hugo greeted us warmly upon our arrival and provided very useful guidance in navigating the island's various outdoor activity and dining options. They also speak perfect English which is a big plus in Brasil. The pousada location is down at the far end of the beach away from the more busy and commercial part of Vila Abraao. The breakfast provided was adequate and the room was cleaned on a daily basis. One downside was the lack of hot water in the showers, however, we hardly noticed as a cool shower was normally on the cards given the island's warm tropical climate.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view suite and lay back on a hammock and enjoy beautiful views of Abraao's port, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Baseball_lover1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great service. Very pleasant people and extremely helpful! Weather wasn't great while we were there but they lent us rain gear. Good directions on where to eat in the town as well. Had a great time and would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a great stay here. The location was stunningly beautiful:a great view over the bay.
Excellent breakfast, freshly made each morning.
Staff was really helpful in advising things to do on the island.
All in all, one of the best pousadas we had during our 3-week trip in Brazil!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sjoerd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.5 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#11 of 17 in Ilha Grande
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge

Address: Rua da Praia No 121 | Praia do Canto, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Tagomago)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £73 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful island "Ilha Grande", 140 km / 90 miles south of Rio de Janeiro. The main village, "Abraao", can be reached by bus and ferry in just 4 hours from Rio. Located at the end of the Abraao beach, distant of the commercial establishments to some 500 mts. TAGOMAGO was build in wood, on the slopes overlooking the bay in 2005, and is surrounded by tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing