We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting and first-class bedding”
Review of Vila Pedra Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Pedra Mar
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The food is truly fantastic and the hosts are a family who work together. The son makes an amazing dinner which is included. The daughter-in-law cooks the breakfast and has clear experience in the service industry, coupled with a delightful personality. Truly an outstanding culinary experience. The beds and linens are perfect. It is very isolated and to go anywhere on a boat costs money. The transfer to and from the island is also pricey so be aware of these extra costs. One caution--if you drive pay close attention to any fees related to parking. The host gave me incorrect information, and even when we showed him the sign he insisted we were reading it incorrectly, so we paid five times the parking we were told (couple hundred bucks). We contacted them about this in hopes they would assist but they did not respond.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon sweet if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissAnnieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Vila Pedra Mar as part of our honeymoon at the start of October. We were looking for somewhere special and boy did this place deliver. An absolutely amazing place in every way, shape and form.

Set into the hills of the rainforest overlooking a beautiful bay (Sarrie - one of the owners - explained to us how the Vila took two years to build due to various delays with local authorities), Vila Pedra Mar fits perfectly into its natural surroundings. As an example, we slept each night (it was October, so relatively cool) with the main balcony doors open so that we could listen to the ocean lapping against the shore combined with the natural sounds of the rainforest throughout the night. It was so relaxing - just what we needed after our wedding - and both myself and wife have never slept better.

But it's probably the detail and thought that has gone into the place that's most impressive. Our room - the honeymoon suite - was designed so that you could look out onto the ocean as you showered, which was really special. As a further example, Sarrie was explaining to us that she sourced the sheets personally from the US because she could not find higher quality ones elsewhere. These efforts clearly paid off - the bed was so comfortable.

The food was also of a very high standard. You will find that most places on the island will serve deep fried fish, meat and, well, anything else that can be deep fried. So Riann's cooking is a very welcome change from this. Three-course meals every evening of some of the best home cooking you could ever experience and huge and very tasty breakfasts. Not a place you'll go hungry. Or stay thin if you hang about too long ;-)

A word of caution - if you're looking for a resort style place with gyms, pools etc this is not for you. But if you're looking for incredibly warm hospitality, peacefulness, tranquility, stunning natural beauty and beautifully decorated, detail-oriented rooms, you will love this place. We certainly did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySmith38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We visited Pedra Mar as part of our honeymoon, it was the luxury dessert island part of the trip and it did not disappoint. The rooms are fantastic with amazing views, the food was excellant and the care taken over us was excellant too!

We loved our time on Ilha Grande, its an amazing place to visit!

One point to note is do plan your arrival and departure in advance as it is an island and connections run at set times, the owners will help you with this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Rather than laying on some beach in the Caribbean or some All inclusive resort in Mexico, we decided that for our Honeymoon we would step outside our comfort zone and reach for the stars.

Brazil has always seemed like a glorified destination, but prior to arriving we did not realize the gem we were about to uncover on Ilha Grande. Imagine lush rain forests, exuberant mountains for as far as you can see. Then imagine beach after beach surrounded by vibrant clear waters. This place is alive with adventure.

Vila Pedra Mar (Vila on the Stones on the Sea) perfectly describes its physical location. This place almost leans over the bay, so that you can hear the waves gently crash over the shore as you fall asleep. I could still hear this sweet sound in my head several days after departing. The accommodations are unmatched by any other pousada on the Island (Sarie will make sure of this). I only saw the Honeymoon Suite, but there is no better room anywhere to spend a honeymoon.

The Cuisine is top notch and we were never left unsatisfied. The pousada concept was nothing we had ever experienced before. This unique family has taken up residence in such a beautiful and almost secret location. I instantly felt admiration for how they have grabbed life by the horns and created their dream on Ilha Grande. Very down to earth, friendly and caring people. They made us feel as part of the family, which was comforting.

Vila Pedra Mar is the best place you can stay on Ilha Grande. If your are reaching for the stars like we were, this place completely fit our expectations. September seemed like the perfect time to visit in every way. (weather, low season, less bugs, less heat). ~Good Vibes~

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Comfortable rooms with great views, warm and friendly hosts, good food, quiet and close to nature. What more could you want? Tough daily decisions include where to walk, swim or boat to, and what to drink at the end of a wondrous day. This place beats a big luxury hotel any day. We needed a break from the world and got it! We were there for a week in April, with perfect weather, and the days just rolled by with no hassles or worries. Jo and Sarie and family will make your stay pure pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Unfortunately we only have 3 nights at Vila Pedra Mar!! We were in the Azure suit which was beautifully decorated and had magical views out over the bay. The vila only has 3 bedrooms which makes it feel very luxurious and exclusive. The owners live in a separate house so you really feel like this is your own house for a few days! Saying that Riann and Karien were there whenever we needed them so it was a perfect level of service and attention.

Riann and Karien the owners gave us a wonderful welcome when we arrived and gave us great advice on how to spend our time on Ilha Grande. On our first day we took up their offer on having their boat take us round to a beautiful beach called Praia Sul where we spent the morning and then we were taken to another little bay to do some snorkelling. Our second day we walked round a sweet little beach which is only 5 mins away from the vila but completely deserted and then carried on for the hour walk through the jungle to Praia Grande and from here we got a taxi boat back to Praia Vermelha where the vila is. A wonderful couple of days in paradise and the sun shone beautifully for our 2 full days there but be warned that June onwards is winter really in Brazil so I think we were just lucky as the days we arrived and left were cloudy.

I also need to mention the food! Riann cooks all the food himself and it was absolutely fantastic. Normally I would avoid all-inclusive type places but the location and food make this experience totally different. The breakfast every morning was fresh, yummy and filling (I will never forget the scrambled eggs and banana bread!) and then the 3-course meal in the evening was just exquisite. He even managed to accommodate the fact that I don’t eat any seafood, which was difficult on an island where everything they eat is pretty much from the sea!

I would strongly recommend this B&B (luxury hotel really) to anyone and we were so glad we made this splurge after travelling around South America for 5 weeks. We are already planning our return trip to Brazil and Vila Pedra Mar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank I_luv_travelling2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Vila Pedra Mar is listed under B & B, the reason for this is that it has just 3 rooms! But what rooms!! Three fantastic luxury rooms With everything you need included some very high quality bamboo linen which were so soft and delicious that you did not want to get out of bed! It is located in a small Fishing village away from the main tourist destination in Ilha Grande which is very good. The surroundings are beatiful with nice small beaches very close. It is like paradice. It is more like a 5 star hotel than a B & B. The price is in the upper part, but it is worth every penny. You get what you pay for and more. The hosts, Sarie, Jo, Karien and Riann is just some fantastic people. I stayed there in February with my whife and daughter. It was like coming to visit some very good friends that you had not seen for a long time. You felt like a part of the Family! The food was included in the price and was delicious. We stayed for 6 Nights and got fantastic food every day. It was prepared and served in a way that you sort of felt it was made just for you. Everyday something different. Sarie and Jo was very helpful in every matter. Excursions, were to go, what to visit or just answering any questions we had. We have some very good memories from Vila Pedra Mar and hope that we will ge the opportunity to og back some times. Forgot, to mention that the Vila has a private jetty with several sun beds and snorkling Equipment. You can snorkle right outside the jetty and most likely you will get Company from some very quite turtles! Vila Pedra Mar is highly reccomended, everything, and than I mean everything is just fantastic. You do not want to leave, it is pretty close to heaven on Earth!!.

Room Tip: All Three rooms are very Nice, but the honeymoon suite is just great With two private terraces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrodoNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilha Grande
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
293 reviews
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
555 reviews
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
274 reviews
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#3 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
975 reviews
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Pedra Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Pedra Mar

Address: Rua da Praia S/N | Praia Vermelha, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £182 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Pedra Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Pedra Mar is an exclusive island villa that combines the beauty of Ilha Grande with luxurious accommodation. The Vila has three luxuriously appointed suites complete with exquisite linens and towels. All the suites are private with seperate entrances and just 3 meters from the sea. The Vila is situated in a secluded and pristine part of Ilha Grande, surrounded by virgin Atlantic rainforest and fronting on 80 meters of private seafront with beautiful views of the bay and the village. It has a private jetty for swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing and docking. Vila Pedra Mar prides itself in providing personal attention and service and provides guests with 3 course gourmet dinners that are included in the price.The Vila has a private motor launch for guests to enjoy sightseeing and visiting some of the beautiful lagoons and beaches of Ilha Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vila Pedra Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Pedra Mar Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing