We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Pedra Mar
Nearby Hotels
Hospedagem Acorde(Ilha Grande)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Praia da Crena Inn(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Casablanca(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sagu Mini Resort(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Asalem(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada dos Meros(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Naturalia(Ilha Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
228
5
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteprivate jettyroof terracecourse dinnerbreakfast and dinnerwonderful hoststhree roomsevery eveningboat tripsmall bayfishing villagesouth africansculinary experiencebest places we have ever stayedalready planning a trip backluxurious touchesquiet cove
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite at Vila Pedra Mar and it did not disappoint. Our room was huge and absolutely beautiful with stunning sea views.
Sarie, Jo, Karien and Riann are fabulous hosts and Riann really is a talented chef as we looked forward to dinner every evening to see what he had prepared for us.
Sarie arranged a boat trip which took us around the island for a day to swim on some of the many beaches the island has to offer. There are also various trails through the jungle next to the Vila you can walk though which lead to smaller beaches which are just as beautiful. There are also a few restaurants nearby along the beaches where you can get lunch. This really is a fantastic place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.
This is such a unique place to stay and we were made to feel very welcome.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hasan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

76 out of 76 reviews read: "excellent". We found that hard to believe, but boy did Vila Pedra Mar deliver!! Great location, the kindest hosts, and more than we could have wished for in terms of service and care. We had initially planned to stay 4 nights, ended up staying one day extra, and wished we could have stayed longer -- even though the weather wasn't terrific. On our only real sunny day we made an excursion to Praia Aventureiro, a gorgeous little beach, very quiet, about an hour away by boat. On the way back we were so lucky to come across a school of dolphins, who swam with us for a while. On the less sunny days we simply relaxed, did some swimming and snorkling right off the vila's private jetty, and hiked to the Grutta do Acaia (check it out! Best on a sunny day, but even otherwise well worth the one-hour hike!) and to Praia Grande (aka Aracatiba, also about an hour). On the latter hike we had the chance to feed a bunch of monkeys, so cute!
All in all, the perfect beach/nature/romance/bed&breakfast/five-star destination all in one, which we'd gladly recommend to anyone and without any reservation!


Note: I marked both fitness center and swimming pool excellent -- in reality the vila has neither, but who needs a fitness center when you have beautiful forest trails and beaches at your doorstep and who needs a pool when you're surrounded by the clearest waters you'll ever see.


Note as well: the daily 3-course diners (included in the room rate) were actually quite delicious, and a welcome change from having to worry every night about where and what to eat.

Room Tip: if you can get the honeymoon suite -- a bit more pricy but very spacious and with 2 private balconies overlooking the bay!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The food is truly fantastic and the hosts are a family who work together. The son makes an amazing dinner which is included. The daughter-in-law cooks the breakfast and has clear experience in the service industry, coupled with a delightful personality. Truly an outstanding culinary experience. The beds and linens are perfect. It is very isolated and to go anywhere on a boat costs money. The transfer to and from the island is also pricey so be aware of these extra costs. One caution--if you drive pay close attention to any fees related to parking. The host gave me incorrect information, and even when we showed him the sign he insisted we were reading it incorrectly, so we paid five times the parking we were told (couple hundred bucks). We contacted them about this in hopes they would assist but they did not respond.

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon sweet if you can!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissAnnieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Vila Pedra Mar as part of our honeymoon at the start of October. We were looking for somewhere special and boy did this place deliver. An absolutely amazing place in every way, shape and form.

Set into the hills of the rainforest overlooking a beautiful bay (Sarrie - one of the owners - explained to us how the Vila took two years to build due to various delays with local authorities), Vila Pedra Mar fits perfectly into its natural surroundings. As an example, we slept each night (it was October, so relatively cool) with the main balcony doors open so that we could listen to the ocean lapping against the shore combined with the natural sounds of the rainforest throughout the night. It was so relaxing - just what we needed after our wedding - and both myself and wife have never slept better.

But it's probably the detail and thought that has gone into the place that's most impressive. Our room - the honeymoon suite - was designed so that you could look out onto the ocean as you showered, which was really special. As a further example, Sarrie was explaining to us that she sourced the sheets personally from the US because she could not find higher quality ones elsewhere. These efforts clearly paid off - the bed was so comfortable.

The food was also of a very high standard. You will find that most places on the island will serve deep fried fish, meat and, well, anything else that can be deep fried. So Riann's cooking is a very welcome change from this. Three-course meals every evening of some of the best home cooking you could ever experience and huge and very tasty breakfasts. Not a place you'll go hungry. Or stay thin if you hang about too long ;-)

A word of caution - if you're looking for a resort style place with gyms, pools etc this is not for you. But if you're looking for incredibly warm hospitality, peacefulness, tranquility, stunning natural beauty and beautifully decorated, detail-oriented rooms, you will love this place. We certainly did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySmith38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We visited Pedra Mar as part of our honeymoon, it was the luxury dessert island part of the trip and it did not disappoint. The rooms are fantastic with amazing views, the food was excellant and the care taken over us was excellant too!

We loved our time on Ilha Grande, its an amazing place to visit!

One point to note is do plan your arrival and departure in advance as it is an island and connections run at set times, the owners will help you with this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews