We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean”
Review of Pousada Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Casablanca
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Located a 30 second walk from the beach in the heart of the town. Staff could not be more helpful. Excellent breakfast. Room slightly on the small side but beautifully clean and superbly laid out. Highly recommended. Island does suffer regular power cuts. This guest house does have a generator but not for running the AC.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a magical visit to Ilha Grande.
The location is incredible, straight off the ferry pier, a dog leg to the right and you're there. No need for help with your bags and you have all the amenities close by.

The Pousada is run by the very friendly and very helpful Maria who speaks, english, french and portuguese.
The rooms are simple but having a balcony is great, the air conditioning is great and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms and the Pousada itself is incredibly clean and well maintained.
No hair dryers, beach towels or toiletries but there is a fridge and you can also rent a safe.
The breakfast is good and wifi is in the breakfast area but can be unreliable.

Maria can also sign a flyer that gets you a 10% discount with a local group who run ferries and trips around the island. Lopez Mendez beach is the best we've ever been to and well worth the visit.

We didn't leave until 1pm and Maria's team offered a secure bag room plus the use of a shower room so we could go swimming before we left.

We would stay here again and have recommended it to friends. Ilha Grande was a highlight of our trip to Brazil!

Tip - head to the restaurants to the left of the pier, grab a table on the beach front, wiggle your toes in the sand while watching the sun go down and enjoying a drink with your partner or friends!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view. you might also get better availability during the week, rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMacL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at Pousada Casablanca during summer this year. The rooms were small but lovely, and we had a nice balcony with a beautiful view of the water. I would definitely recommend the breakfast - a nice selection of foods. The staff were lovely - when we were there, they had quite limited English ability, but certainly enough to get by.

The wifi signal was pretty poor (and only available in the downstairs area), but in all other respects we really enjoyed our stay here.

Tip: If you're staying during summer, don't, under any circumstances, open the doors or window during the night. There isn't any protective flyscreen, and my friend got bitten by an enormous mosquito that made her entire forehead swell up. I would wear mosquito repellent to bed and leave the fan on!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in August and had a great time! The rooms are not too big but very clean and cosy! The receptionist is nice and helpful and the breakfast is small but with everything you need (juice, cake, fruit, bread....) Wifi is not working too good but who needs Wifi on Ilha Grande (there are inet-cafes around!) ;). Location is good, in a little shopping street, when we were there it was off-season, so very silent, may be different in high season!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoDatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely hotel with lovely people running it. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable. Breakfast was good. The location is perfect, right in the center of everything and you can't beat the price. They were also incredibly sweet. It was my daughter's 11th birthday and the restaurant we went to didn't have a cake. The next day, she got a cake for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Posada Casablanca was a great choice for us. It's just a couple of streets away from the pier and easy to locate. The rooms are clean and comfortable, not spacious (it's a quaint island posada after all). The breakfast is tasty - fresh fruits, juices, coffee, toast, cold cereal. The wifi is spotty. We loved our stay there, and it was very affordably priced.

Room Tip: Stay in the upstairs rooms. The downstairs rooms don't have as good a view and are less private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaintrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had a great visit and we were really happy to have chosen this hotel after seeing the choices first hand, on the island. The roof patio had a great view of the bay but could have been better prepared for guests. Food was good. Coffee great. Comfortable beds and friendly hosts. We were able to get three rooms i the same area so the kids felt safe being in their own room!

Room Tip: Best Wifi access is closer to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebmanRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
488 reviews
40.7 mi away
Portal dos Borbas
Portal dos Borbas
#13 of 17 in Ilha Grande
86 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casablanca

Address: Rua da Praia 719 | Jardins Buganville, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Price Range: £64 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Abraao, the main town of Ilha Grande, seventy meters from the beach, the inn Casablanca offers a touch of sophistication, with a charming terrace in front, wireless internet, included breakfast and a staff ready to meet any requests of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casablanca Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing